Page 5 of 14 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 132
  1. #41
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    301
    Posts
    7,542

    Quote Originally Posted by haihane View Post
    done.
    perhaps that did go overboard, even if it was a retaliatory response for initial provocation.
    me bad.
    Understood. No worries. Thank you for your understanding and quick response.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  2. #42
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    32

    Quote Originally Posted by AKBAAR View Post
    am good to go boys, Microcode BA dated jun-2017

    Enjoy !

    Select Microcode for CPU Skylake (LGA1151)

    10 Version 10 Date 22-04-2015
    16 Version 16 Date 13-05-2015
    1A Version 1A Date 28-05-2015
    1C Version 1C Date 02-06-2015
    1E Version 1E Date 10-06-2015
    20 Version 20 Date 18-06-2015
    24 Version 24 Date 01-07-2015
    2E Version 2E Date 21-07-2015
    30 Version 30 Date 29-07-2015
    32 Version 32 Date 04-08-2015
    34 Version 34 Date 08-08-2015
    3A Version 3A Date 23-08-2015
    4A Version 4A Date 18-09-2015
    4C Version 4C Date 01-10-2015
    50 Version 50 Date 12-10-2015
    56 Version 56 Date 24-10-2015
    5C Version 5C Date 06-11-2015
    6A Version 6A Date 14-12-2015
    74 Version 74 Date 05-01-2016 - Last for non-K overclocking
    76 Version 76 Date 07-01-2016
    7C Version 7C Date 31-01-2016
    82 Version 82 Date 21-02-2016
    84 Version 84 Date 01-03-2016
    88 Version 88 Date 16-03-2016
    8A Version 8A Date 06-04-2016
    9E Version 9E Date 22-06-2016
    A0 Version A0 Date 27-06-2016
    A2 Version A2 Date 27-07-2016
    A6 Version A6 Date 21-08-2016
    B2 Version B2 Date 01-02-2017
    BA Version BA Date 09-04-2017


    BA dated 4/9/2017 from the above. Where did you see BA as being dated 6/2017?

  3. #43
    mutaz1912mkk
    Guest
    Intel responded to our questions with the following:
    “We have already identified this issue and addressed it with a fix that started rolling out in April 2017. As always, we recommend checking to make sure your BIOS is up to date, but the chance of encountering this issue is low, as it requires a complex number of concurrent micro-architectural conditions to reproduce.”

    http://www.tomshardware.com/news/hyp...e-x,34876.html

  4. #44
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    32

    Thanks for the update. Bottom line **seems** to be that we can **infer** that version BA has the fix but it's dated 4/2017 and not 6/2017.

  5. #45
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    32

    Quote Originally Posted by Daytrader View Post
    That only works for some cpu's and ones with sidestepping 3 and either model 78 or 94, most aint that.
    processors must
    be either model 78 or 94, and stepping 3, for the intel-microcode fix
    to work:
    Any reputable sources? Intel would be sufficient.

  6. #46
    ROG Enthusiast Array Leoplate25 PC Specs
    Leoplate25 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus Hero XI WiFi
    Processori5-9600k
    Memory (part number)CMU16GX4M2C3000C15
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1070 Ti SC
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 840 240gb
    Storage #2Samsung EVO 860 1tb
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i v2
    CaseThermaltake Versa H34
    Power SupplyBitFenix Whisper M 750w
    Keyboard ASUS Cerberus
    Mouse ASUS Cerberus
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Leoplate25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Intel replied this to me earlier today:

    "Intel: The unexpected behavior related to Hyper-Threading Technology is for the systems with Linux* Debian* OS only. Regards. RS"

  7. #47
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    @Exogorth

    I'm not sure about that. My understanding - from reading all the same online stuff about this bug that's available to everyone else - is that it can corrupt data inside processor L2/L3 cache. This bad data might by passed to RAM, written to storage (NVRAM/HDD), passed along to other processing hardware, etc. So yes it's possible it could wreck the running OS or running softwares (games) or cause faults in other hardware (especially GPUs) ... but the conditions needed to manifest this bug are so very specific that it's very difficult to reproduce on demand without very specific system tools, and the effects of bad data are basically entirely unpredictable, you could not notice a briefly-seen texture in your fps game that had a colour value off by a few bits, you could just as easily overwrite critical things in memory or SSD/HDD with an address value that's off by a few bits, you have a few stray bytes of bad data stored on your system and waiting to be opened/executed and these could cause a typo in a text document as easily as a critical BSoD fault in a driver library.

    @Voidburn

    www.win-raid.com is a fairly reputable source. I've executed stuff from the site before without issue. In fact, those people who complain win-raid stuff broke their systems are typically responsible for breaking their systems themselves. Override your firmware and driver components at your own risk, lol.

    That being said, I fully agree that strange/unnecessary executables (especially those downloaded from ".ru" types of sites) must be treated as hostile invaders until proven otherwise, lol.


    @AKBAAR
    Quote Originally Posted by Daytrader View Post
    That only works for some cpu's and ones with sidestepping 3 and either model 78 or 94, most aint that.
    processors must be either model 78 or 94, and stepping 3, for the intel-microcode fix to work:
    +1 what @Daytrader said: your workaround appears to work on your system (congrats!) ... but it won't work on every system affected by this bug. Not everyone runs an i7-6700K Version BA part like yours.

  8. #48
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    Three threads about the same bug, all with overlapping content that's forked off in different directions.

    Can we merge them into a single thread, or link to one and lock the others?

  9. #49
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    ASUS is hardly perfect but there's little need to malign them over this bug.

    They will get around to deploying the fix (in BIOS). After Intel has actually implemented the fix.

    Intel built the bug, discovered the bug, documented the bug, reported the bug. Intel is the only company in any reasonable position to correct it. Intel is actually liable for damages and suffers dismal advertising (in this time of AMD's re-ascendance!) until the bug is corrected. ASUS engineers assuredly know lots of juicy secret stuff about Intel's tech (they might even know a few things that Intel doesn't!) ... but ASUS engineers do not at all know how to build an Intel CPU as well as Intel engineers do. We all have to wait for Intel to figure it out. Angry demands are thus best directed towards Intel, not ASUS, lol.

  10. #50
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array mdzcpa PC Specs
    mdzcpa PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Hero XI
    Processor9900k @ 5.1Ghz All Core 1.315v AVX -2
    Memory (part number)Gskill GTZ 4133 C17 32GB (4x8GB)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 2080 TI OC
    Sound CardOn Board
    MonitorROG PG348Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro M.2 512GB for OS & APPS
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro M.2 1TB for GAMES
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360
    CasePhanteks Evolv X
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime 1000W Titanium
    Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB
    Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
    Headset Corsaur VOID Pro
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300 Wide Desk Mat
    OS WIN 10 Pro
    Network RouterLinksys VELOP
    Accessory #1 ROG 751JY Laptop for Moobile Gaming
    Accessory #2 Koolance EXC-800 Chiller
    Accessory #3 25+ years of overclocking

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    80
    Posts
    957

    Quote Originally Posted by no1yak View Post
    Having used Skylake since it came out and now Kabylake, playing games and using Photoshop + lightroom without any problems what so ever I don't see that this is a big problem for the average user. Yes it would be good if is was resolved but, it's not something that everyday users will encounter. So come on guy's don't get your nickers in a twist over something that has been around since Skylake was first introduced and nobody knew anything about until now. As far as I'm concerned Hyper-Threading stays on.
    ^THIS

    Same boat. No issues encountered and I thrash my system daily for both work and play. Of course I'd like it fixed, but I'm not feeling desperate about it. I have a solid back up system as well so should the very odd chance happen, I'm prepared. I'm sure Asus will have it sorted eventually as they would typically address microcode updates.

    Something to consider is that ASUS is a huge board partner with Intel. It was Intel that brought their product release forward by 3-4 months for Skylake X after AMD's recent CPU releases. Intel dictates that and I'm suspecting ASUS doesn't have employees just waiting around for such emergencies. I'm suspecting the team is swamped. I'm not saying lack of BIOS updates is fully excusable, and not frustrating, but it's not out of the realm of understandable given circumstances. AMD has been a huge board partner challenge as well from what I've heard. An Intel HEDT chip hasn't come out in quite while, nor has anything competitive from AMD, so its not like mainstream intel hasn't been getting all the attention for quite some time. So I don't think there's a need to feel so abandoned. That's of course just personal opinion.
    Last edited by mdzcpa; 06-28-2017 at 03:25 AM.

Page 5 of 14 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •