Page 13 of 16 FirstFirst ... 3 11 12 13 14 15 ... LastLast
Results 121 to 130 of 152
  1. #121
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    1) Put your card in the slot i cyrcle.
    2) Go in the bios and disable the asmedia usb3.1 controller

    Tell me if it works better.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	187.8 KB 
ID:	71325

  2. #122
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    70

    Quote Originally Posted by boombastik View Post
    1) Put your card in the slot i cyrcle.
    2) Go in the bios and disable the asmedia usb3.1 controller

    Tell me if it works better.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	187.8 KB 
ID:	71325
    Will do it when I arrive at home,
    Thanks

  3. #123
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    70

    I tried disabling the asmedia usb 3.1 controller before sitting the sound card in that slot (because I am already using a slot controlled by the chipset) and it seams to work.

    Will try it for a few days and switching once in a while to see if the issue is really gone!

    Thanks a bunch dude

    Asus, take his tip, because it seams to be working!
    Don't know if its something addressable with driver updates (either the sound card or the usb 3.1 controller) but at least we might have discovered the issue!

    +1 boombastik

    EDIT:

    Worked for a while... and then, a few minutes ago it rebooted again after switching from headphones to speakers.

    Today I'll try sitting the card on the slot boombastik told me to!
    Last edited by AmxdPt; 02-05-2018 at 01:12 PM.

  4. #124
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    70

    Just sitted the sound card on the slot that boombastik told me to sit it (PCIEX1_3).

    Will give it sometime in order to check if it works!

    EDIT:

    Nope, won't work... rebooted twice in a row...

    I was hoping that this one would work but... Hopeless again LOL
    Last edited by AmxdPt; 02-05-2018 at 07:54 PM.

  5. #125
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    In device manager can u tell me this:

    Go into Device Manager, show the properties page of the device, go to the "Details" tab, and select the property "Hardware IDs", and look at the values after "SUBSYS_"

    1) PCI\VEN_13F6&DEV_8788&SUBSYS_85F41043 OK

    2)PCI\VEN_13F6&DEV_8788&SUBSYS_878813F6
    PCI\VEN_13F6&DEV_8788&SUBSYS_434D1043

    the first one is ok if u have something like the 2 you need to rma it.


    Also try in the PCIEX1_2 with closed asmedia 3.1 usb controller and also disable the onboard sound.
    Last edited by boombastik; 02-05-2018 at 08:44 PM.

  6. #126
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    70

    Quote Originally Posted by boombastik View Post
    In device manager can u tell me this:

    Go into Device Manager, show the properties page of the device, go to the "Details" tab, and select the property "Hardware IDs", and look at the values after "SUBSYS_"

    1) PCI\VEN_13F6&DEV_8788&SUBSYS_85F41043 OK

    2)PCI\VEN_13F6&DEV_8788&SUBSYS_878813F6
    PCI\VEN_13F6&DEV_8788&SUBSYS_434D1043

    the first one is ok if u have something like the 2 you need to rma it.


    Also try in the PCIEX1_2 with closed asmedia 3.1 usb controller and also disable the onboard sound.
    So based on your information I'll assume that this is ok:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.JPG 
Views:	28 
Size:	33.9 KB 
ID:	71347

    And to be honest, after having tried the sound card on that pci-e slot, I have covered all of them...
    Tested on all pci-e lanes available and the issue won't go away...
    With both Asmedia USB 3.1 controller and Onboard audio turned off.

    I feel I have tried everything.

    I ran this sound card on an intel based pc for 2 whole years without a single issue...
    I have tested it on my brothers pc (an i7 4770k) and it works flawless too.

    It has to be something on the hardware level but we've still didn't find out what!

    Hence the reason of me insisting with Asus to find out what the hell is going on!

    It throws me off completely that other people that have the same issue don't say anything anymore...
    It is starting to feel that it is me vs Asus at this point lol...
    Last edited by AmxdPt; 02-05-2018 at 09:44 PM.

  7. #127
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    your motherboard has 100% tested with Xonar d2x and guess:
    I find that it use a plx chipset instead of the asmedia one.

  8. #128
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    70

    Quote Originally Posted by boombastik View Post
    your motherboard has 100% tested with Xonar d2x and guess:
    I find that it use a plx chipset instead of the asmedia one.
    So you're telling me that I need to buy a new sound card that is inferior to the one I have (that cost me a lot by the way) because Asus can't fix this stupid issue?

    Do you think that this is a fixable issue? Because I'm starting to give up...

  9. #129
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Heini PC Specs
    Heini PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus SABERTOOTH Z170 MARK 1
    Processori7-6700K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL TridentZ (2 x 16GB) F4-3000C14D
    Graphics Card #1Evga 2080Ti XC Ultra
    Sound CardAsus Essence STX II
    MonitorASUS MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    CaseCooler Master HAF XB EVO
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G3 1000W
    Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 (Brown Cherry MX)
    Mouse Secret (Ducky)
    Headset Sennheiser HD 580
    Mouse Pad EVGA TORQ
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS Win10 Pro 64
    Heini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    50
    Posts
    600

    Quote Originally Posted by AmxdPt View Post
    So you're telling me that I need to buy a new sound card that is inferior to the one I have (that cost me a lot by the way) because Asus can't fix this stupid issue?
    Your SC is great, tis unfortunate that they can't bridge this problem. I have the same SC working great on an Intel build and I'm ready to go for a Ryzen build but won't go any farther until this this problem is resolved or at least explained. Kudos to "boombastik" for trying to help!
    Last edited by Heini; 02-06-2018 at 01:04 AM.

  10. #130
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    70

    Quote Originally Posted by Heini View Post
    Your SC is great, tis unfortunate that they can't bridge this problem. I have the same SC working great on an Intel build and I'm ready to go for a Ryzen build but won't go any farther until this this problem is resolved or at least explained. Kudos to "boombastik" for trying to help!
    It is an awesome Sound Card. Yes, I ran it on my i7 4790k for over 2 years without a single issue.

    Unfortunately I was unaware of this issue before upgrading to Ryzen.

    I'm doing the best I can to contribute to this community (and ofc myself) in order to get this issue fixed.

    It's a piece of premium hardware that deserves a lot more love...

    Once again, thanks boombastik for trying to help

Page 13 of 16 FirstFirst ... 3 11 12 13 14 15 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •