Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    Z170-WS high CPU temperature

    Hi all,

    I recently upgraded to the Asus Z170-WS board running BIOS 3002 with a i7700K.
    All my other components remained the same from my previous build. Everything works fine except that i find the CPU temperature very high.
    Just on desktop the temp is already in the mid to high thirties. After a bit of gaming the temp will go up to high 70 low 80

    This is all with stock speeds, nothing OC'ed using a Noctua U12S cooler.
    I also tried the Noctua D15s with a 3 fan setup and the temp was only 3 degrees lower with that setup, still high seventies.

    I find low eighties very high as the exact same chip with the exact same components on a MSI motherboard never got over 62 degrees unless stress testing with synthetic benchmarks.

    And yes I reseated the cooler multiple times and by the print of the thermal paste I say it made good contact everytime.

    Anyone else noticed higher temps with the Z170-WS then there were expecting and/or used to?
    Is this a common issue, perhaps problem with the sensor readout? Personally find it hard to believe there's only a 3 degrees difference between the U12S and D15s, it has been a lot more difference in my other builds.
    Last edited by Tuoni; 06-29-2017 at 02:41 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array haihane PC Specs
    haihane PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair V Formula Z
    ProcessorAMD FX 8350
    Memory (part number)Gskill F3-2400C10-8GTX
    Graphics Card #1ASUS HD 6950
    Storage #1WD Velociraptor 1TB
    Storage #2Corsair Neutron GTX 120GB SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 120XL
    CaseCooler Master Silencio 650
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse Logitech G500
    OS Windows 7 X64
    Network RouterLinksys E2500
    haihane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    106
    Posts
    609

    may i know your CPUz vcore value during stress test?

    and probably a screenshot of Hwinfo after the system has been stress tested a while (30 minutes maybe).
    - either intel XTU or prime95 is fine.
    no siggy, saw stuff that made me sad.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    Hi,

    CPUz vcore= 1.232v

    Some screenshots of HWInfo during prime95:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	01.JPG 
Views:	6 
Size:	175.6 KB 
ID:	65666 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	02.JPG 
Views:	1 
Size:	58.7 KB 
ID:	65667 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	03.JPG 
Views:	0 
Size:	63.9 KB 
ID:	65668

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array haihane PC Specs
    haihane PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair V Formula Z
    ProcessorAMD FX 8350
    Memory (part number)Gskill F3-2400C10-8GTX
    Graphics Card #1ASUS HD 6950
    Storage #1WD Velociraptor 1TB
    Storage #2Corsair Neutron GTX 120GB SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 120XL
    CaseCooler Master Silencio 650
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse Logitech G500
    OS Windows 7 X64
    Network RouterLinksys E2500
    haihane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    106
    Posts
    609

    eh,
    i'm not familiar with 7700k's upper default vcore values, but that does indeed look pretty worrisome :/

    i suppose you've done regular maintenance (dust filter cleaning), aye?
    and the case airflow is all good, right?

    if both above have been done, i guess you probably got unlucky on the silicon lottery.
    try Intel XTU to undervolt your CPU? video guide below:


    he did it on his laptop. i took a step further and did it on all my intel PCs.
    no siggy, saw stuff that made me sad.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    It's a new build for a client so dust and/or dirt is not an issue, all brand new components.

    As i said in my first post i strongly suspect the motherboard to be the issue here in some way. With the EXACT SAME chip, as in the same physical chip placed on another motherboard the temp is 15-20 degrees lower.

    So my guess is that either the sensor(s) of the Z170-WS are off or that somehow the Z170-WS feeds the CPU with more juice then it actually needs at regular stock settings. Maybe i will give XTU a look when i have some extra time on my hands.

    I find it kinda weird.
    I've build hundreds of systems over the years with Gigabyte, MSI and Asus motherboards and this Asus Z170-WS is the first build I ever had that "suffers" from these high temps at just stock configuration, no OC whatsoever.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Ghozer PC Specs
    Ghozer PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Prime Z270-A
    Processori7-7700k
    Memory (part number)G.Skill TridentZ RGB DDR4-3200
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix GTX 1070
    Monitor2x HP 23xi
    Storage #12TB Seagate Firecuda SSHD
    CPU CoolerARCTIC Freezer 33 eSports Edition (Black/White)
    CasePhanteks P400S
    Power SupplyCorsair RM750X
    Keyboard Logitech G510 (Soon to be Asus Claymore)
    Mouse Asus Gladius II
    Headset Logitech Wireless
    Mouse Pad Random Alienware
    Headset/Speakers Creative Inspire GD580
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterISP Standard (200mbps connection)

    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    82

    I built a new system with a 7700k recently and i'm having similar issues, already had one CPU changed by Intel, but still got the same problem...

    most tests are ok, and stable, but it creeps up to the mid-high 80s (some times even low 90s) when playing games.....

    I know someone who built the same basic system (but a different brand board) same CPU, same cooler, and are getting no more than 80 under load OC'd also..

    i'm running stock and seeing ~90 every time I play games...

    I'm on a Prime Z270-a

    I have a post on here, but also on reddit...
    https://www.reddit.com/r/intel/comme...d_heat_issues/

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    35C~40C idle and 70C~80C peak/turbo temps (at stock clocks) are a little on the high side but still nothing to worry too much about. 30C~35C idle and 55C~75C peak (in a 20C~25C ambient) would be more ideal.

    Perhaps temps aren't being accurately reported by the hardware (sensors) or firmware (which is really software) or software (like CPUID). Not much can be done about flawed hardware. Firmware and software might be updated.

    You can confirm with your own temp readings. A DMM with a temp probe, a non-contact IR thermometer, even a generic "indoor/outdoor digital thermometer". Not always the greatest accuracy but good enough to measure within a few degrees and confirm hot spots. I've always been of the opinion that external instruments are always more trusty than embedded marketing, lol.

    Just curious:

    Are you using 32xPCIe3 ("PLX chip") bifurcation? Maybe relentlessly cramming the CPU's (16xPCIe3) lanes with so much data is causing it to run hot?
    Maybe try testing with 16xPCIe3 (or less) installed hardware?
    Maybe try disabling the PLX entirely in BIOS (if that's an option)?

    People sometimes complain about hot PLX chips, and hot PLX chips can create hot VRMs and hot VRMs can create hot CPUs, lol. How do your PLX and VRM temps look?
    Last edited by Korth; 06-30-2017 at 03:48 AM.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Ghozer PC Specs
    Ghozer PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Prime Z270-A
    Processori7-7700k
    Memory (part number)G.Skill TridentZ RGB DDR4-3200
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix GTX 1070
    Monitor2x HP 23xi
    Storage #12TB Seagate Firecuda SSHD
    CPU CoolerARCTIC Freezer 33 eSports Edition (Black/White)
    CasePhanteks P400S
    Power SupplyCorsair RM750X
    Keyboard Logitech G510 (Soon to be Asus Claymore)
    Mouse Asus Gladius II
    Headset Logitech Wireless
    Mouse Pad Random Alienware
    Headset/Speakers Creative Inspire GD580
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterISP Standard (200mbps connection)

    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    82

    Im only using 16 lanes, 1x gpu, no ssds or m.3 or anything like..

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    Do you have any BIOS options to disable the PLX? It seems like a longshot but might be indirectly causing CPU overheat, doesn't hurt to try.

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    This build is running 2 GPU's in SLI and two NVME M.2 drives
    You can't disable the PLX chip.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •