Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 30 of 30
  1. #21
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    Here is a picture of my taskmanager resource monitor during gameplay. There is nothing that takes up much memory active the CPU was at max 20% But as you can see on the picture the disk seem to be spiking, and those spikes seem to be at the same time as the FPS drops. Think this might have anything to do with the problem I suffer from? If so is there anything to do about it I have the M28 drivers installed now, they seem to be the latest.

    /Erik
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos playlag.jpg  


  2. #22
    imMortal Kombatant Array Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage IV Formula
    ProcessorIntel i7 3930K
    Memory (part number)8GB Corsair XMS3 1600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Radeon 7970 3GD5
    Sound CardROG Xonar Phoebus
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster SA300
    Storage #1Corsair Neutron 128GB
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair A50 Pro Air Cooler
    CaseBitFenix Merc Alpha
    Power SupplyThermaltake Litepower 700W
    Keyboard Alienware TactX Keyboard
    Mouse Tesoro Gandiva H1L
    OS Win7 Ultimate x64
    Myk SilentShadow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    5,241

    Quote Originally Posted by erikhell View Post
    I want to start with saying im so glad you are taking youre time to help me with this issue.

    No this started around christmas after a patch update in the game. Since then its been more or less unplayable. FPS drops range often starts when graphics get a little bit more heavy around 2-4 mins into the game. I know many other SW users have this issue since I have read it on other forums. Thats why im curious if anyone have a ASUS G73SW and can run the game fine now, without and fps drops at all? If so I know its not my computer that is faulty but the game update.

    Anyways since im not the best with computers im very glad for any ideas on how this can be fixed..

    /Erik
    Ok have you tried running the game without the patch to see how your FPS are? if you have tried absolutely everything that has been suggested and nothing works, like you said....it's most definitely the update/patch. If the patch turns out to most definitely be the problem, then inform those in the Forums you have been asking in and just tell everyone to uninstall the patch, until the game makers can fix the problem. Stuff like this can and will happen from time to time.

  3. #23
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array fuzon1337's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    878

    I'm not sure, and now I am out of ideas about how to fix this issue
    I can see that you are not alone with this issue, and the patch is the issue.

    And searching on google is a downer, since you only get to the LoL forums (almost) and they complain to the support without any good feedback -.-
    Asus G73SW-91058V 3D
    - Intel Centrino Ultimate-N 6300
    - BIOS 205

  4. #24
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    Yes I guess so. Still so many can still run the game just fine. That makes it confusing. Much thanks for all the help you given me to bad we could not solve it. I read somwhere on this forum of another guy who had trouble with FPS drops and it was his HDD that made it. But if thats the case I guess its strange that it would happen just now by christmas and not before..?

    Well LoL is badly coded and as you say support is a joke so I guess thats the most likly source of error, at least now all of my drivers are up to date..

    /Erik

  5. #25
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array fuzon1337's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    878

    Hehe, I'm glad you got something good out of this experience

    And to answear your question, it could be faulty HDD, that have bloomed lately and that's why you experience the FPS drops now. So you could check if the guy you talking about got his issue fixed.
    But I would stand for the issue with the patch and let us hope for the developers soon will release a new one
    Asus G73SW-91058V 3D
    - Intel Centrino Ultimate-N 6300
    - BIOS 205

  6. #26
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    123

    You have ThrottleStop set up to do basically nothing.

    If you want it to try and control CPU throttling then try checking the two different Clock Modulation boxes and set those to 100.0% and also check the Set Multiplier box and make sure that is set to Turbo.

    Now check the Log File box and go and play a game so you have an accurate record of your CPU's performance. Upload ThrottleStopLog.txt to www.mediafire.com and post a link here or email it directly to the ThrottleStop author. Remember to exit ThrottleStop before uploading or sending the log file so all data can be written to it.

    CPU throttling might not be the source of your problems but it needs to be investigated further. The G73SW has some known throttling issues so you need to have a good look at the log file and know what to look for to figure this out. Provide lots of data while your computer is throttling and dropping the FPS to a crawl.
    Last edited by unclewebb; 01-16-2012 at 01:58 AM.

  7. #27
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    Quote Originally Posted by unclewebb View Post
    You have ThrottleStop set up to do basically nothing.

    If you want it to try and control CPU throttling then try checking the two different Clock Modulation boxes and set those to 100.0% and also check the Set Multiplier box and make sure that is set to Turbo.

    Now check the Log File box and go and play a game so you have an accurate record of your CPU's performance. Upload ThrottleStopLog.txt to www.mediafire.com and post a link here or email it directly to the ThrottleStop author. Remember to exit ThrottleStop before uploading or sending the log file so all data can be written to it.

    CPU throttling might not be the source of your problems but it needs to be investigated further. The G73SW has some known throttling issues so you need to have a good look at the log file and know what to look for to figure this out. Provide lots of data while your computer is throttling and dropping the FPS to a crawl.
    Hi,

    When i changed to the settings in Throttlestop as you wrote It felt like the game was moving along little smoother. But still not good. Anyways I have done what you asked for and here is the logfile hopefully someone out there understands it better then I do.

    http://www.mediafire.com/?hqeofgucp18kj1n

    I hope this works have never used Medafire before.

    I have also attached new images to this post how my Throttlestop 4.0 is setup now.

    I am very greatful that you guys take your time and help me since im pretty much stuck.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos Updatets.jpg  

    Last edited by erikhell; 01-16-2012 at 01:03 PM.

  8. #28
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    123

    Your log file does not show any CPU throttling issues. You can also try logging the GPU speed with the GPU-Z program from TechPowerUp. Have a look in that log file and make sure the MHz numbers are not sagging down while gaming.

    Your temperatures look good. You might want to look into overclocking your GPU to get some more FPS out of your laptop.

    Try running some benchmarks like the 3DMark series so you can compare your results with other users. Laptops are not as powerful as desktop computers so maybe your expectations about how smooth this game should play are not realistic.
    Last edited by unclewebb; 01-17-2012 at 05:52 PM.

  9. #29
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    Thanx all!

    Hi all!

    I am running my GPU on 800-1600-1600 during gameplay it goes up to 60C so I dont think GPU is throttling, I use GPU-Z and Nvidia Inspector. Im fairly convinced that the problem is at Riot who makes the game. So many seem to have same issue on diffrent laptops. I am still glad I got this problem, thanks to it I have found this forum and learned how to update bios, clear PC / Update all drivers, overclock both CPU and GPU and tons of other things about computers which is better then spending time playing a game. Also when you get into it its really fun!

    Thanks all of you who took the time to help me out, this is a great forum!


    Best regards
    /Erik

  10. #30
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Quote Originally Posted by erikhell View Post
    I have tried diffrent drivers but now I use the latest beta driver 290.53.

    I know many others have this issue with G73SW and LoL anyone of you have same computer and play it without problems?

    I have also just reinstalled windows and hardly have any programs installed so cant be that much junk in register..
    I have the same problem... And my computer gets to hot in the back (right side. graphic board)

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •