Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array Nicolas.G's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Question How to stop the GL502VSK screen turning off when lid is closed?

    Hey ROG community,
    I am an owner of the GL502VSK and already tried my luck with the Asus support chat and email but no luck:

    I don't like that the laptop deactivates the monitor when I close the lid (I already set everything to "Do Nothing" in Windows power options).
    Since it's also doing that when I'm in the BIOS I believe I need to do something inside the laptop rather than in the OS (but tell me if I'm wrong), maybe disconnecting a cord or something.

    I know this is originally meant to be a "feature" but it is not really helping in my case. I want that the screen is always activated and is not bound to the lid's state (open/closed).

    Thank you very much!

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array haihane PC Specs
    haihane PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair V Formula Z
    ProcessorAMD FX 8350
    Memory (part number)Gskill F3-2400C10-8GTX
    Graphics Card #1ASUS HD 6950
    Storage #1WD Velociraptor 1TB
    Storage #2Corsair Neutron GTX 120GB SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 120XL
    CaseCooler Master Silencio 650
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse Logitech G500
    OS Windows 7 X64
    Network RouterLinksys E2500
    haihane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    106
    Posts
    609

    but why?
    no siggy, saw stuff that made me sad.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array Nicolas.G's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Quote Originally Posted by haihane View Post
    but why?
    The system is changing output settings when it is hooked up to a TV. I normally have the lid closed when it is connected to my TV but sometimes you need to make changes directly through the laptop, so you open the lid and the system goes into mirror mode instead of staying in its prior output setting (TV only). This can cause errors/freezes/shutdowns depending on what software/game you were running in this very moment. I don't want that. I want to have full control over my video settings.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array haihane PC Specs
    haihane PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair V Formula Z
    ProcessorAMD FX 8350
    Memory (part number)Gskill F3-2400C10-8GTX
    Graphics Card #1ASUS HD 6950
    Storage #1WD Velociraptor 1TB
    Storage #2Corsair Neutron GTX 120GB SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 120XL
    CaseCooler Master Silencio 650
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse Logitech G500
    OS Windows 7 X64
    Network RouterLinksys E2500
    haihane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    106
    Posts
    609

    yeah. fair enough.

    i found this while googling your problem: https://www.cnet.com/forums/discussi...whilst-300870/

    looks like a settings in windows power management. haven't verified it myself if it works, but do try and tell if it works.
    no siggy, saw stuff that made me sad.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array Nicolas.G's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Quote Originally Posted by haihane View Post
    yeah. fair enough.

    i found this while googling your problem: https://www.cnet.com/forums/discussi...whilst-300870/

    looks like a settings in windows power management. haven't verified it myself if it works, but do try and tell if it works.
    As I wrote in my original post this didn't work for me. Everything is already set to "Do Nothing". Lid still deactivates/activates screen.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array haihane PC Specs
    haihane PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair V Formula Z
    ProcessorAMD FX 8350
    Memory (part number)Gskill F3-2400C10-8GTX
    Graphics Card #1ASUS HD 6950
    Storage #1WD Velociraptor 1TB
    Storage #2Corsair Neutron GTX 120GB SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 120XL
    CaseCooler Master Silencio 650
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse Logitech G500
    OS Windows 7 X64
    Network RouterLinksys E2500
    haihane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    106
    Posts
    609

    ah ok sorry. didn't read properly.
    no siggy, saw stuff that made me sad.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array davemon50 PC Specs
    davemon50 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY-DH72 (17") and Asus G752VT-DH74 (17")
    MotherboardAsus ROG LGA2011-v3 Rampage V Edition 10, x99 EATX
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6950X Extreme 10-core 25MB Cache 3.0 GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX Red DDR4 DRAM 64GB-4x16 3333 (CMK64GX4M4B3333C16R)
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Graphics Card #2Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Sound CardAsus SupremeFX Hi-Fi Audio DAC
    Monitor(2) Dell UltraSharp U2515H 25-inch monitors
    Storage #1(3) SSD's - Samsung 960 1TB M.2, Intel 535 480G, Intel 510 250G
    Storage #2(3) HDD's - Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB 3.5-in SATA III 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H80
    CaseCorsair Obsidian Series 650D Black, ATX, Mid Tower
    Power SupplyCorsair Digital AXi-Series AX1200i (1200W) 80+ Platinum Rating
    Keyboard Logitech Wireless K360
    Mouse Logitech Wireless MX Anywhere 2
    Headset HyperX Cloud II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
    davemon50's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    45
    Posts
    1,002

    Have you tried making the TV the primary monitor?
    If that works, I believe it should default to the laptop as primary once the TV is disconnected.
    Davemon50

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array Nicolas.G's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Quote Originally Posted by davemon50 View Post
    Have you tried making the TV the primary monitor?
    If that works, I believe it should default to the laptop as primary once the TV is disconnected.
    I did, it still changes back to the laptop once I open the lid even though the TV is still connected.
    The problem is once you close the lid the hardware DEACTIVATES the laptop's monitor so that only the TV is available and nothing else.
    As soon as you open the lid, the laptop's monitor will be activated and it changes back to the laptop's monitor even though I want it to stay TV only.

    Easy fix would be to know what piece of cable/hardware triggers the open/close detection to just get rid of it.....

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array davemon50 PC Specs
    davemon50 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY-DH72 (17") and Asus G752VT-DH74 (17")
    MotherboardAsus ROG LGA2011-v3 Rampage V Edition 10, x99 EATX
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6950X Extreme 10-core 25MB Cache 3.0 GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX Red DDR4 DRAM 64GB-4x16 3333 (CMK64GX4M4B3333C16R)
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Graphics Card #2Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Sound CardAsus SupremeFX Hi-Fi Audio DAC
    Monitor(2) Dell UltraSharp U2515H 25-inch monitors
    Storage #1(3) SSD's - Samsung 960 1TB M.2, Intel 535 480G, Intel 510 250G
    Storage #2(3) HDD's - Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB 3.5-in SATA III 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H80
    CaseCorsair Obsidian Series 650D Black, ATX, Mid Tower
    Power SupplyCorsair Digital AXi-Series AX1200i (1200W) 80+ Platinum Rating
    Keyboard Logitech Wireless K360
    Mouse Logitech Wireless MX Anywhere 2
    Headset HyperX Cloud II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
    davemon50's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    45
    Posts
    1,002

    Quote Originally Posted by Nicolas.G View Post
    ...Easy fix would be to know what piece of cable/hardware triggers the open/close detection to just get rid of it.....
    If it sounds like a bad idea it probably is.
    It sounds like a bad idea.

    I would suggest trying to plug in an actual external computer MONITOR instead of a TV via HDMI, and see if the laptop recognizes the options better. TV's don't always play well with Windows. The other thought that comes to mind is to see if you have any power savings options in the BIOS that should be enabled or disabled. Have you checked for them yet? You mentioned this in your OP.
    Davemon50

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array Nicolas.G's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Quote Originally Posted by davemon50 View Post
    If it sounds like a bad idea it probably is.
    It sounds like a bad idea.

    I would suggest trying to plug in an actual external computer MONITOR instead of a TV via HDMI, and see if the laptop recognizes the options better. TV's don't always play well with Windows. The other thought that comes to mind is to see if you have any power savings options in the BIOS that should be enabled or disabled. Have you checked for them yet? You mentioned this in your OP.
    I really do appreciate your input and ideas, but if this $2000 laptop doesn't get along with my 6 months old Samsung TV in 2017 something is terrible wrong.
    I already checked the BIOS both the normal settings and advanced settings and the only thing that sounded like it could help was "Wake On Lid Open" which was enabled. I tried it on disabled and nothing changed. It probably is to wake up the pc when it is in sleep mode.

    Here's an interesting story about the GL502VS in general:

    Back in autumn I bought the GL502VS with its i7-6700HQ Skylake chip. It did the exact same lid open/close thing but the screen had a weird test image burnt in so I sent it to RMA and they replaced the screen. When it came back it strangely didn't have the lid open/close activating screen "feature" anymore which surprised me, but since I prefered this anyway I was happy with that. They probably wired something differently during the replacement I guess.
    However, this laptop model had an issue with high demanding games such as VR games, the power adapter wasn't strong enough for these so it drained battery even though the power adapter was plugged in. They fixed this in early 2017 with the newer GL502VSK i7-7700HQ Kaby Lake model. The support was kind enough to help me out on this issue so I have the newer model now. No battery drain anymore during VR games, but now I am back here with their screen deactivation feature when the lid is closed.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •