Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    R7 1700X and Ubuntu

    Hey all,

    I've recently upgraded to a Crosshair VI Hero with a R7 1700X.
    I've managed to get Windows 10 installed and working fine, and I'm trying to dual-boot Ubuntu on a second SSD. Unfortunately, when I try, I'm greeted with
    Code:
    MMIO write of 80000140... FAULT at 10eb14
    .

    Apologies if this is the wrong place to ask for assistance, if so, could someone please guide me in the right direction?

    My system specs are as follows:
    R7 1700X
    16GB DDR4 Trident Z 3000MHz (shows as 2133 in BIOS)
    GTX 950 SC

    I've tried to install Ubuntu 16 and 17, both to no avail.

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array HarlemSquirrel PC Specs
    HarlemSquirrel PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1800X
    Memory (part number)16GB Corsair Vengence @ 3200
    Graphics Card #1AMD Saphire Radeon Fury X
    MonitorASUS PB278
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro NVMe
    CPU CoolerPhanteks PH-TC14PE_BL
    CaseNZXT Source 530
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000 P2
    Keyboard WASD V2 w/ Cherry MX Green
    Mouse Tek Syndicate Standard Issue
    OS Arch Linux
    HarlemSquirrel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    I'm running my rig with Arch Linux. Ryzen benefits from the latests kernel. If you want to run with Ubuntu and you can get something installed I recommend installing the latest 4.11 or 4.12 kernel from https://wiki.ubuntu.com/Kernel/MainlineBuilds

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    I've seen Arch and Gentoo running on Ryzen platforms without issue. Shouldn't matter much which Arch/Gentoo distros you get, they all run off the same package managers and (even when they don't) you can manually install your AMD \devs.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by Korth View Post
    I've seen Arch and Gentoo running on Ryzen platforms without issue. Shouldn't matter much which Arch/Gentoo distros you get, they all run off the same package managers and (even when they don't) you can manually install your AMD \devs.
    I'm currently running a Ubuntu only SO on a Ryzen 1700 without problems.
    And instead of dual booting I've got a second SSD for Windows and just plug/unplug the one I need.
    This setup works flawlessly.

    But I haven't had any problems with dual booting in the past, albeit, not with this same PC setup.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    Multiboots involving Win8/Win10 can be a bit tricky, if your system stores the Windows Product Keys in MSDM/SLIC UEFI tables.

    Boot managers in recent linux distros work without issue. But you never know when Microsoft will change (break) something in them (again), lol.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •