Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 39
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    X299-A Bios.0702 has a serious problem.

    CPU: Intel i7-7820X (Stock)
    M/B: ASUS Prime X299-A(0702)
    RAM: G.SKILL 16GB (4 x 4GB) TridentZ Series DDR4 PC4 -25600 3200MHz (Model F4-3200C16Q-16GTZB)
    SSD: Lite-ON S200 256GB (MLC)
    VGA: Geforce GTX970
    PSU: Cougar GX700 GOLD
    ---------------------------------------------------

    I'm using intel i7-7820X and X299-A.
    There was a problem after installing this released 0702 BIOS.
    Intermittent errors occur on Windows.
    This problem occurred when I ran a game 'Archeage' or when I ran 'Photoshop CC 2017'. (Something that happens when I run the program.)
    The following information will be displayed and Blue Screen will be output.

    Whea_uncorrectable_error (0x00000124)

    This problem did not occur at all with the 0503 Version.
    Last edited by multippp; 08-27-2017 at 12:20 PM.

  2. #2
    ex-ASUS Employee Array Eleiyas PC Specs
    Eleiyas PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS 970 PRO GAMING/AURA
    ProcessorAMD FX 8370
    Memory (part number)Corsair 8GB XMS3 PC3-12800 1600MHz DDR3
    Graphics Card #1XFX AMD Radeon HD 6950 - 2G
    MonitorLG Flatron E2240T 21.5'' 1080p Monitor
    Storage #1Samsung 1TB 7200RPM 32MB
    Storage #2Seagate Barracuda 2TB 7200RPM 64MB 6GB/s
    CPU CoolerAMD Wraith Cooler
    CaseNZXT Lexa S
    Power SupplyCorsair CX600 600W (Bronze)
    Keyboard Logitech Wireless AZERTY
    Mouse Microsoft Wireless
    Headset Evil Witchcraft II Gaming Headset (Black/Red)
    Mouse Pad Wild Wolf Hunter
    Headset/Speakers 4Gamers 2.1 Sound-System
    OS Windows 10 Professional - Creator's
    Network RouterZiggo

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    378

    whea_uncorrectable_error windows 10 BSOD Error can occur when any of device drivers are not compatible with the operating system. This 0x00000124 error is also show for Hardware failure like : Hard drive not responding, your RAM memory not responding or your main board is not working correctly.
    I believe this MB does have a flashback feature, which you should be able to use to get back to the better BIOS (for you)

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    thx

    Quote Originally Posted by Eleiyas View Post
    I believe this MB does have a flashback feature, which you should be able to use to get back to the better BIOS (for you)
    I'm using the 0503 version now. Later versions of 0702 hope to fix this problem.

  4. #4
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    In your situation, the Whea uncorrectable error is possibly being caused by memory instability. There were a few memory changes between these builds to help the weaker kits. It's always wise to learn how to tune some of the memory related parameters so that you can dial stuff like this out. A fix for one type of situation can upset the balance for someone else.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    In your situation, the Whea uncorrectable error is possibly being caused by memory instability. There were a few memory changes between these builds to help the weaker kits. It's always wise to learn how to tune some of the memory related parameters so that you can dial stuff like this out. A fix for one type of situation can upset the balance for someone else.

    I tested it with memtest86, but no errors were found.Click image for larger version. 

Name:	error.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	101.0 KB 
ID:	66891
    Last edited by multippp; 08-26-2017 at 02:04 PM.

  6. #6
    untouched Array Praz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    137
    Posts
    4,038

    Hello

    Memtest is pretty much useless with today's platforms. Better testing would be employing HCI or GSAT to weed out memory issues. I see no problems using Photoshop with 0702 so memory instability is a likely candidate. Test with all default settings including memory speed (no XMP).

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by Praz View Post
    Hello

    Memtest is pretty much useless with today's platforms. Better testing would be employing HCI or GSAT to weed out memory issues. I see no problems using Photoshop with 0702 so memory instability is a likely candidate. Test with all default settings including memory speed (no XMP).

    Hello.

    Thank you for your advice.
    First of all, I did not have any problems with the 0503 version, so I will continue to use the 0503 version.

    And I do not know if this is what ASUS intended, but in version 0702, AVX offset was not applied in the default state. At 0503, Prime95 was running at 3.7GHz, but 0702 was at 4.0GHz.
    Last edited by multippp; 08-26-2017 at 03:39 PM.

  8. #8
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Quote Originally Posted by multippp View Post
    Hello.

    Thank you for your advice.
    First of all, I did not have any problems with the 0503 version, so I will continue to use the 0503 version.

    And I do not know if this is what ASUS intended, but in version 0702, AVX offset was not applied in the default state. At 0503, Prime95 was running at 3.7GHz, but 0702 was at 4.0GHz.
    The settings are there for one to adjust as required for desired operation. In your case, memory is the likely issue, so it's worth learning how to tune it or you'll always be in a situation where some builds dont work well for you.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array lazoli PC Specs
    lazoli PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus X299 E-Gaming
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 7820X
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance RGB LED 32GB (CMR32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1080 Founders Edition
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG287Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Evo
    Storage #2Samsung 960 Evo
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U12S
    CaseCorsair 570X RGB
    Power SupplySeaSonic Platinum PLATINUM-860 SS-860XP2
    Keyboard Asus Claymore Core
    Mouse Asus Gladius II
    Headset Sennheiser Game Zero
    Mouse Pad Asus Sheath
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Accessory #1 Xbox One Controller
    Accessory #2 CableMod Addressable RGB Strip x2
    lazoli's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    The settings are there for one to adjust as required for desired operation. In your case, memory is the likely issue, so it's worth learning how to tune it or you'll always be in a situation where some builds dont work well for you.
    I was going to update bios just to be on the lastest but maybe I shouldn't after reading this? I'm still on the original 0219.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Superbowl PC Specs
    Superbowl PC Specs
    MotherboardPrime X-299A
    Processori7-7820X
    Memory (part number)32 GB Kingston HyperX KHX3000C15D4/8GX
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB
    MonitorLG 4K Monitor
    Storage #1Samsung 512GB 960 Pro Nvme M.2
    Storage #2Western Digital SATA 7200 6 TB
    Power Supply1000W EVGA® SuperNOVA 80 Plus Certified PSU

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    75

    Hi Everyone.

    I have very similar equipment as the OP, and I had the exact same problem with 702. I have the i7-7820X and X299-A and 32 GB Kingston Predator HyperX DDR4- 3000 (4x8GB). I had no problems with BIOS 503. I upgraded to 702, and had constant Whea_uncorrectable_error (0x00000124) that led to the blue screen of death in Windows 10. I was lucky enough to flash back to 503, and everything is very stable once again. I think since "improved Kingston DRAM compatibility issue on intel X-series" was listed on 503 notes that it is definitely a RAM problem most likely for Kingston RAM in 702. I most likely will just stick with 503. It works fine. 702 was a mess for me.

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •