Page 118 of 133 FirstFirst ... 18 68 108 116 117 118 119 120 128 ... LastLast
Results 1,171 to 1,180 of 1329
  1. #1171
    ROG Enthusiast Array Fredy M PC Specs
    Fredy M PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Strix B350 F Gaming
    ProcessorRyzen 5 1600x
    Memory (part number)CMK8GX4M2B3000C15
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix GTX 1080 A8G
    MonitorAOC 22" IPS Panel
    Storage #1Samsung 750 Evo 120GB
    Storage #2WD Blue 1TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D14
    CaseCorsair 230T Orange
    Power SupplySuperflower Leadex II Gold 650W
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Fredy M's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    55

    Quote Originally Posted by CornFlakes View Post
    It's only around 10 MB but AGESA 0.0.7.2 means Zen 2 Support AFAIK. Its 20 because, for what ever reason, they packed the bios 2x into the zip file.
    be careful guys, the second file is labled B350 "I" not "F"...maybe it`s the same file but with a typo or maybe not...
    Last edited by Fredy M; 03-26-2019 at 06:08 PM.

  2. #1172
    ROG Enthusiast Array Whiplash-RoG PC Specs
    Whiplash-RoG PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus RoG STRIX B350-F Gaming
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 5 1600
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX CMK16GX4M2B3000C15
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte RX580 Gaming 4G
    Storage #1Crucial MX500 500GB
    Storage #2WD Caviar Blue 1TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Hyper TX3 Evo
    CaseRaidMax Cobra ATX-502WBG
    Power SupplySeasonic S12II 520W Bronze
    OS Windows 10 Professional x64
    Whiplash-RoG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    50

    Quote Originally Posted by Fredy M View Post
    be careful guys, the second file is labled B350 "I" not "F"...maybe it`s the same file but with a typo or maybe not...
    Not a typo, there is a B350-I board; it's a mini ITX form factor. So probably best to use the F BIOS then.

    https://www.asus.com/Motherboards/RO...B350-I-GAMING/

  3. #1173
    ROG Enthusiast Array Fredy M PC Specs
    Fredy M PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Strix B350 F Gaming
    ProcessorRyzen 5 1600x
    Memory (part number)CMK8GX4M2B3000C15
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix GTX 1080 A8G
    MonitorAOC 22" IPS Panel
    Storage #1Samsung 750 Evo 120GB
    Storage #2WD Blue 1TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D14
    CaseCorsair 230T Orange
    Power SupplySuperflower Leadex II Gold 650W
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Fredy M's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    55

    Quote Originally Posted by Whiplash-RoG View Post
    Not a typo, there is a B350-I board; it's a mini ITX form factor. So probably best to use the F BIOS then.

    https://www.asus.com/Motherboards/RO...B350-I-GAMING/
    yea, I know, I almost flashed that one, had them both on the flash drive...but could they have been so careless, I mean people could **** up their stuff with that file...

  4. #1174
    ROG Member Array Sapphiress PC Specs
    Sapphiress PC Specs
    MotherboardASRock X470 Master SLI/AC
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1700
    Memory (part number)2x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz
    Graphics Card #1AMD Radeon RX 580 8GB
    Monitor3 x HP 22eb IPS LED Monitors
    Storage #11TB Samsung EVO 860 SSD
    Storage #24TB Seagate Barracuda Mechanical HDD
    CPU CoolerDEEPCOOL Captain 240EX
    CaseAZZA GT-1
    Power SupplyCorsair CX600
    Keyboard RAZER Blackwidow Chroma V2
    Mouse RAZER Deathadder Chroma
    Headset RAZER Timat V2 7.1ch DTS
    Mouse Pad Razer Firefly Chroma
    Headset/Speakers Samsung Sound Bar 5.1ch w/ Sennheiser Subs
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Network RouterASUS Nighthawk
    Sapphiress's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    So i flashed the new BIOS update. Even with default settings it's pumping 1.406v through my CPU. So I set the the voltage manually as low as possible, since for some reason we don't have a manual voltage entry. Now, with LLC as close to off as possible it's trying to push 1.45v with a light CPU-Z Bench load. I have a Ryzen 7 1700 and anything over 1.42v is literally killing my CPU. I'm only at 3.0Ghz the bios says btw I haven't changed anything else since the update.

    Normally I sit at 3.85GHz @ 1.375v Click image for larger version. 

Name:	hwinfo.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	100.2 KB 
ID:	79706
    Also a BIOS screenshot. The bios has been restarted with the settings in the picture.(CPU Offset 1.193v+0.00625v)Click image for larger version. 

Name:	JPEG_20190327_030732.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	651.0 KB 
ID:	79707



    Ryzen master seems to drop the voltage when boot up. Just watch what you have open before you lower it because before I tried that, it tried to put almost 1.5v through my cpu just with chrome open.
    Last edited by Sapphiress; 03-27-2019 at 07:37 AM.

  5. #1175
    ROG Enthusiast Array Fredy M PC Specs
    Fredy M PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Strix B350 F Gaming
    ProcessorRyzen 5 1600x
    Memory (part number)CMK8GX4M2B3000C15
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix GTX 1080 A8G
    MonitorAOC 22" IPS Panel
    Storage #1Samsung 750 Evo 120GB
    Storage #2WD Blue 1TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D14
    CaseCorsair 230T Orange
    Power SupplySuperflower Leadex II Gold 650W
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Fredy M's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    55

    Quote Originally Posted by Sapphiress View Post
    So i flashed the new BIOS update. Even with default settings it's pumping 1.406v through my CPU. So I set the the voltage manually as low as possible, since for some reason we don't have a manual voltage entry. Now, with LLC as close to off as possible it's trying to push 1.45v with a light CPU-Z Bench load. I have a Ryzen 7 1700 and anything over 1.42v is literally killing my CPU. I'm only at 3.0Ghz the bios says btw I haven't changed anything else since the update.

    Normally I sit at 3.85GHz @ 1.375v Click image for larger version. 

Name:	hwinfo.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	100.2 KB 
ID:	79706
    Also a BIOS screenshot. The bios has been restarted with the settings in the picture.(CPU Offset 1.193v+0.00625v)Click image for larger version. 

Name:	JPEG_20190327_030732.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	651.0 KB 
ID:	79707



    Ryzen master seems to drop the voltage when boot up. Just watch what you have open before you lower it because before I tried that, it tried to put almost 1.5v through my cpu just with chrome open.
    here`s a screencap of my system running cinebech r20, everything is on auto so in a sustained load the cpu vcore caps at around 1.35-1.37v but when it hits 4.1 Ghz the voltage spikes to 1.55v but only for a split second then it goes back down, and I have been running like that for a year now with no problems. In bios with all auto my cpu vcore is 1.472v, but then again your cpu doesn`t have XFR so thats a bit strange

    You could try to reset the bios, you know jumper or remove the battery and see if it works, or you could try to load optimised defaults and reflash the bios again, but be careful not to flash the B350 "I" one, set everything on auto and see if anything changes

    edit: you could also try to leave the stock value and use a negative offset to go down in voltage ...
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	123.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	576.3 KB 
ID:	79731
    Last edited by Fredy M; 03-27-2019 at 12:21 PM.

  6. #1176
    ROG Member Array Sapphiress PC Specs
    Sapphiress PC Specs
    MotherboardASRock X470 Master SLI/AC
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1700
    Memory (part number)2x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz
    Graphics Card #1AMD Radeon RX 580 8GB
    Monitor3 x HP 22eb IPS LED Monitors
    Storage #11TB Samsung EVO 860 SSD
    Storage #24TB Seagate Barracuda Mechanical HDD
    CPU CoolerDEEPCOOL Captain 240EX
    CaseAZZA GT-1
    Power SupplyCorsair CX600
    Keyboard RAZER Blackwidow Chroma V2
    Mouse RAZER Deathadder Chroma
    Headset RAZER Timat V2 7.1ch DTS
    Mouse Pad Razer Firefly Chroma
    Headset/Speakers Samsung Sound Bar 5.1ch w/ Sennheiser Subs
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Network RouterASUS Nighthawk
    Sapphiress's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Quote Originally Posted by Fredy M View Post
    here`s a screencap of my system running cinebech r20, everything is on auto so in a sustained load the cpu vcore caps at around 1.35-1.37v but when it hits 4.1 Ghz the voltage spikes to 1.55v but only for a split second then it goes back down, and I have been running like that for a year now with no problems. In bios with all auto my cpu vcore is 1.472v, but then again your cpu doesn`t have XFR so thats a bit strange

    You could try to reset the bios, you know jumper or remove the battery and see if it works, or you could try to load optimised defaults and reflash the bios again, but be careful not to flash the B350 "I" one, set everything on auto and see if anything changes

    edit: you could also try to leave the stock value and use a negative offset to go down in voltage ...
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	123.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	576.3 KB 
ID:	79731
    I do have XFR. 3.0Ghz is my base clock XFR will bring it to ~3.750Ghz Even so, staying at 3.750Ghz with XFR turned off(Performance Power Plan) I don't need more than 1.24v to have a nice stable environment. I can boot at 4.0Ghz with 1.40v-1.41v stable. So I don't see why going to 3.7Ghz on auto, would jack up voltages past manufacture OC max spec. Unless the AGESA is somehow reading my CPU as a Ryzen 2k or 3k series and applying the "safe" voltages for one of those. This board has always had voltage issues with vdroop and LLC getting a little excited, but then again I really should be running an X370 board with anything above a Ryzen 5 so it's been great seeing how hard I run the thing.

    I'm going to clear the CMOS and then reflash. to see if it fixes the issue. I haven't even done my Memory timings or anything yet so I don't even know how that works yet.

    I'm not super worried about getting the magic smoke, because hey i'd have an excuse to get a Ryzen 9 3850X. Running above the manufacture voltage spec for really any amount of time causes micro-degradation. So over time, the chip degrades and electrons stop flowing to correct places if they can flow at all. Even if you can cool the chip at high voltages it's still absorbing a tremendous amount of energy. At a microscopic levels the CPU architecture looks like a bunch or pick up sticks stacked on top of each other. If one of those degrades, the electrons can no longer travel down it and weird stuff starts happening. So the lesson is, even though it runs fine above spec, it's damaging the CPU. And I'd really like to use this as a home server CPU when I upgrade.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	cpu gates.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	16.6 KB 
ID:	79735

    Honestly, I forgot that there was a negative offset lol. I've been so treated with manual voltage entry on..... Well every other board I've owned since 1998 that it just slipped my mind that I could subtract voltage. Although, setting the voltage doesn't seem to be doing anything unless I do it with Ryzen Master.

    Worst comes to worst I'll just corrupt the bios and reflash 4207.


    Also, I'd like to say my thanks to the developers giving us the best BIOS they can. Programming in ASM is straight masochism and I don't think i'd survive past line 100. So, thank you!
    Last edited by Sapphiress; 03-27-2019 at 09:09 PM.

  7. #1177
    ROG Enthusiast Array hazium233 PC Specs
    hazium233 PC Specs
    MotherboardStrix B350-F Gaming
    ProcessorR5 1600
    Memory (part number)Ballistix Sport AT 2666 16gb
    hazium233's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    30

    I just picked up this board the weekend before last with a 1600.

    Experience has been mostly positive, except for dealing with the audio drivers and sound. The first time I installed the Realtek driver package, the sound seemed to intermittently cut in Mass Effect Andromeda. Uninstalled and was back on the Microsoft generic. Then I saw mention of the thread in the Maximus Z370/Z390 forum with the UAD Realtek drivers, so gave that a try. Sound seemed fine, but I could not get my microphone to work. Showed as connected, but gave an error when trying to test or use it in Audacity or Teamspeak. Back to MS generic driver and it worked.

    I gave the Realtek_Audio_Driver_WIN10-64_V6.0.1.8496_1114 from the download page a shot, and initially it seemed like it was working ok this time. It did not install the Realtek Audio Control app from the MS store, and I added that a little later. I thought I didn't need Sonic Studio or Radar, so I ended up uninstalling them. Then I noticed intermittent crackling through my headphones. Seemed worse at moderate volume settings, and was reproducible either clicking the windows volume control repeatedly, or playing the same spots in some songs. Uninstalled the Realtek driver but the MS driver was behaving the same way.

    Tested headphones connected to a different device playing the same songs and they were fine. Tested the front panel connector, and it seemed mostly fine. Ended up finding a thread "Maximus Audio Popping" with a registry edit. On my Win 10 1809 machine with the MS HD Audio driver, the key I changed was at

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Contro l\Class\{4d36e96c-e325-11ce-bfc1-08002be10318}\0000\PowerSettings

    IdlePowerState changed from 03 00 00 00 to 00 00 00 00.

    This seemed to fix the crackle.

    Don't know if I will try another driver version, or try to make sure the Realtek stuff is cleared out and try another clean install. Did a clean Windows install last Thursday, so there shouldn't have been too much old trash in the registry.

  8. #1178
    ROG Enthusiast Array hazium233 PC Specs
    hazium233 PC Specs
    MotherboardStrix B350-F Gaming
    ProcessorR5 1600
    Memory (part number)Ballistix Sport AT 2666 16gb
    hazium233's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    30

    Oh and my board came with bios 4011.

    Thoughts on 4207 vs 4011? I like that they updated for Zen 2 (4602), but above post about voltage is somewhat concerning.

  9. #1179
    ROG Member Array Sapphiress PC Specs
    Sapphiress PC Specs
    MotherboardASRock X470 Master SLI/AC
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1700
    Memory (part number)2x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz
    Graphics Card #1AMD Radeon RX 580 8GB
    Monitor3 x HP 22eb IPS LED Monitors
    Storage #11TB Samsung EVO 860 SSD
    Storage #24TB Seagate Barracuda Mechanical HDD
    CPU CoolerDEEPCOOL Captain 240EX
    CaseAZZA GT-1
    Power SupplyCorsair CX600
    Keyboard RAZER Blackwidow Chroma V2
    Mouse RAZER Deathadder Chroma
    Headset RAZER Timat V2 7.1ch DTS
    Mouse Pad Razer Firefly Chroma
    Headset/Speakers Samsung Sound Bar 5.1ch w/ Sennheiser Subs
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Network RouterASUS Nighthawk
    Sapphiress's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Quote Originally Posted by hazium233 View Post
    Oh and my board came with bios 4011.

    Thoughts on 4207 vs 4011? I like that they updated for Zen 2 (4602), but above post about voltage is somewhat concerning.
    4207 was stable with a couple new options. AMD CBS Menu, Etc. Didn't really have any issues with it. There's also an unlocked version of it floating around with a couple extra menus.

  10. #1180
    ROG Enthusiast Array IIINikolaiIII PC Specs
    IIINikolaiIII PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 5 2600
    Memory (part number)16GB Kingston HyperX Predator 3200 CL16
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GTX 1070
    MonitorAsus 24" VG248QZ
    CPU CoolerFractal Design Celsius S36
    CaseFractal Design Define R5
    Power SupplySuperflower 850W Leadex Gold
    Keyboard ROG Strix Flare
    Mouse Razer DeathAdder Elite
    Headset Sennheiser HD599
    OS Windows 10 Pro 1903

    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    25

    Having constant blue screens with new bios. PC won't go 10 minutes without them and doesn't want to restart anymore. Can't even rollback to previous version. Stay away from this ****.

Page 118 of 133 FirstFirst ... 18 68 108 116 117 118 119 120 128 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •