Page 39 of 141 FirstFirst ... 29 37 38 39 40 41 49 89 139 ... LastLast
Results 381 to 390 of 1406
  1. #381
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array AniChatt PC Specs
    AniChatt PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ThinkPad X270 i7 7500U
    MotherboardAsus Strix X470-F 4204
    ProcessorR5 1600X 3.90GHz 1.325v
    Memory (part number)FlareX 3200MHz 2x8GB 1.35v
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080
    MonitorLG 29UM69G Ultrawide
    Storage #1M.2 960EVO NVMe 250GB
    Storage #2M.2 MX500 SATA 500GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseNZXT S340 Razer
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime 850W
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB
    Mouse Corsair Harpoon
    OS Windows 10 1909
    AniChatt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    282

    Quote Originally Posted by TheRedMango View Post
    This makes me question all my readings now. Darn you Asus, wish I had stuck with trusty gigabyte. Would be good to here from a representative at least to know these issue are in the process of being fixed.
    Yep I have similar feeling as well. This Ryzen platform has lot of bugs and till date not all of them are fixed. However I am not a Asus guy but Gigabite and MSI also have different types of issues with their b350/x370 lineup. So it is not the asus only having problems. But still it needs many improvements and bug fix.

  2. #382
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array AniChatt PC Specs
    AniChatt PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ThinkPad X270 i7 7500U
    MotherboardAsus Strix X470-F 4204
    ProcessorR5 1600X 3.90GHz 1.325v
    Memory (part number)FlareX 3200MHz 2x8GB 1.35v
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080
    MonitorLG 29UM69G Ultrawide
    Storage #1M.2 960EVO NVMe 250GB
    Storage #2M.2 MX500 SATA 500GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseNZXT S340 Razer
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime 850W
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB
    Mouse Corsair Harpoon
    OS Windows 10 1909
    AniChatt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    282

    Anyone out there using 1001 bios here is a caution!!!!
    NEVER EVER TRY TO MESS WITH CSM COMPATIBILITY MODULE. ALWAYS KEEP IT IN ENABLED MODE.
    Yesterday I am tweaking with some setting and ran into infinite boot loop and eventually figured out that the only way to fix it is the CSM set to enabled unlike as suggested by JJ from Asus in his oc video to turn it off.

    When turned off, with this bios, the mobo even can not go to its self recovery stage by repeated restart with beeps.

  3. #383
    New ROGer Array ll0stt PC Specs
    ll0stt PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG STRIX B350-F GAMING
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 5 1600 @ 3.8GHz
    Memory (part number)GSkill F4-3000C15D-16GVGB
    Graphics Card #1Saphire RX560 4GB
    Sound CardSupremeFX S1220A
    MonitorLG 29UM59-P Ultrawide
    Storage #1Crucial MX300 525GB M.2
    CPU Coolerbe quiet! Dark Rock 3
    CaseRaijintek Thetis Window
    Power SupplySeasonic FOCUS Plus 550 Gold
    Keyboard Alfawise V1
    Mouse A4Tech Bloody V5
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z200
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Accessory #1 TP Link Archer T9E AC1900

    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by AniChatt View Post
    Anyone out there using 1001 bios here is a caution!!!!
    NEVER EVER TRY TO MESS WITH CSM COMPATIBILITY MODULE. ALWAYS KEEP IT IN ENABLED MODE.
    Yesterday I am tweaking with some setting and ran into infinite boot loop and eventually figured out that the only way to fix it is the CSM set to enabled unlike as suggested by JJ from Asus in his oc video to turn it off.

    When turned off, with this bios, the mobo even can not go to its self recovery stage by repeated restart with beeps.
    Negative sir. Running 1001 here with CSM disabled and it works like a charm.
    I can notice a pattern here... every board has a different problem, its like you have to win the lottery to have everything stable.

  4. #384
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array AniChatt PC Specs
    AniChatt PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ThinkPad X270 i7 7500U
    MotherboardAsus Strix X470-F 4204
    ProcessorR5 1600X 3.90GHz 1.325v
    Memory (part number)FlareX 3200MHz 2x8GB 1.35v
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080
    MonitorLG 29UM69G Ultrawide
    Storage #1M.2 960EVO NVMe 250GB
    Storage #2M.2 MX500 SATA 500GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseNZXT S340 Razer
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime 850W
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB
    Mouse Corsair Harpoon
    OS Windows 10 1909
    AniChatt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    282

    Quote Originally Posted by ll0stt View Post
    Negative sir. Running 1001 here with CSM disabled and it works like a charm.
    I can notice a pattern here... every board has a different problem, its like you have to win the lottery to have everything stable.
    Wow that is really strange! Actually same i was thinking too. As I can not hit 3200 on flarex while others can. Is this the mobo or something inside the cpu since this architecture is very different than Intel.
    Just to add, with 0811 bios I was using csm disabled without having any issue

  5. #385
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Update on memory overclocking and BIOS problem

    Hi,

    Some updates:

    The problem of not being able to enter BIOS doesn't happen when my graphics card is connected via HDMI to a 2014 LG TV (when I had problems
    it was connected via display port to a Samsung C24FG70 curved screen monitor, recently bought). I didn't have the time yet to check if connecting my pc to the Samsung monitor via HDMI cable solves the problem, but I suspect I found the cause (honestly, don't know the pros and cons of using display port vs. HDMI, but google is my friend - going to check it out later).

    Regarding my G.Skill Ripjaws F4-3200C16D-16GVK (dual channel & dual rank Samsung d-die), after trying everything to get to post at 3200Mhz and no success, even lowering timings to 18-18-18-18, Geardown mode on/off, 1T/2T command rate, procODT (sometimes complete freezes, sometimes BIOS tried to learn new timings, but after a series of tries it simply POST with stock 2133Mhz), I tried a different aproach - lower timings. And I had sucess - currently it's working at 3066-14-15-15-15-35 - 1000% HCI memtest passed, with no errors, for something like 7 hours of test, using all of the ram and twelve threads; AIDA64 stress test passed (1 hour) RealBench stress test passed for 30 minutes (didn't have the time to keep it running for a while more). This with 1.385V on memory and 1.1125V on SOC. I tried briefly lowering them to 14-14-14-14-30 - posted, but blue screens as soon as it enters Windows. However, I believe that, with minor tweakings, I can lower the timings maintaining overall stability.

    With my stock cooler, CPU temperature is around 72º when fully loaded (Prime95 stress test), so I'm going to keep it @ 3.7 for a while, until the cooler isn't upgraded.

    Not bad!
    Last edited by Nelson Gomes; 11-14-2017 at 06:20 PM.

  6. #386
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Hi!
    That's all I get at this moment from my memory kit - same as yours:

    I never tried to lower the timings under 16-16-16-36 but you succeed at CL15 at 3066Mhz - so I must try.
    Can you try to find what will be your result at Aida64 Cache & Memory Benchmark?
    My result is better at 2933Mhz CL16 - latency is ~ 77,3ns but 47GB/s read and write. At Windows and games - I don't find any difference 2933 to 3066Mhz at all.

  7. #387
    New ROGer Array ll0stt PC Specs
    ll0stt PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG STRIX B350-F GAMING
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 5 1600 @ 3.8GHz
    Memory (part number)GSkill F4-3000C15D-16GVGB
    Graphics Card #1Saphire RX560 4GB
    Sound CardSupremeFX S1220A
    MonitorLG 29UM59-P Ultrawide
    Storage #1Crucial MX300 525GB M.2
    CPU Coolerbe quiet! Dark Rock 3
    CaseRaijintek Thetis Window
    Power SupplySeasonic FOCUS Plus 550 Gold
    Keyboard Alfawise V1
    Mouse A4Tech Bloody V5
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z200
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Accessory #1 TP Link Archer T9E AC1900

    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by AniChatt View Post
    Wow that is really strange! Actually same i was thinking too. As I can not hit 3200 on flarex while others can. Is this the mobo or something inside the cpu since this architecture is very different than Intel.
    Just to add, with 0811 bios I was using csm disabled without having any issue
    And I have Fast Boost enabled with 1sec pause only, too.
    As for RAM, I cannot get it to POST at 3200 no matter what. Gave it 1.2v SOC, 1.45v DRAM, infinite combinations of ProcODT and countless timing adjustments. I even went CL30 with no luck!
    As of now, I am just waiting for the next BIOS release to see how things improve.
    I am just praying so that Asus includes the option to disable Spred Spectrum so I can fully tweak my core clock. PLEASE ASUS!

  8. #388
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Hi,

    Yep, managed CL14, and now stress testing memory in 14-15-15-30 (already tried 14-15-15-32 and no problems in HCI memtest in almost 400%).

    Regarding Aida64, I only have the free version, so some of the values are missing. I'm going to post the last Aida64 report - the total memory bandwidth is around yours (44800 aprox), but if I recall, latency is a tad under 70 - can't confirm this values right now, but going to upload the image later today (don't remember if I saved the png on my pc that is being stress tested, or if I took a photo of my screen with a cellphone that I don't have right now)


    Edit: Just checked the AIDA64 tests: 45080 (aprox) memory bandwidth, 75.5 memory latency (not under 70, as I inicially wrote)
    Last edited by Nelson Gomes; 11-14-2017 at 11:41 PM. Reason: Typo, wrote CL15 instead of CL14

  9. #389
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array AniChatt PC Specs
    AniChatt PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ThinkPad X270 i7 7500U
    MotherboardAsus Strix X470-F 4204
    ProcessorR5 1600X 3.90GHz 1.325v
    Memory (part number)FlareX 3200MHz 2x8GB 1.35v
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080
    MonitorLG 29UM69G Ultrawide
    Storage #1M.2 960EVO NVMe 250GB
    Storage #2M.2 MX500 SATA 500GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseNZXT S340 Razer
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime 850W
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB
    Mouse Corsair Harpoon
    OS Windows 10 1909
    AniChatt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    282

    Ok I am running my kit with default docp of 3066 works fantastic with CL14. However changing to 3200 and typing all specified values manually not improved anything. Voltage beyond 1.38 does not show any improvement. But with 48ohm procodt, 1.38 dram, 1.15 soc provided me best result at 3200 even passes prime test up to 1 to 1.5 hr but there is a worker stop issue afterwards but have not observed any crash. So not stable. Finally I am at 3066, CL14, 1.35 dram, 1.10 soc = 100% stable.
    It seems running ram at 3200 is very tricky not as advertised by asus and after so many bios iterations even G.Skill flagship AMD certified FlareX is not working at default 3200 on this mobo.
    Last edited by AniChatt; 11-15-2017 at 07:14 AM.

  10. #390
    ROG Enthusiast Array DsAMD PC Specs
    DsAMD PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix b350-f gaming
    ProcessorRyzen 3600 @ 4.25 ghz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance 3600 2x8gb
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER XC
    Sound CardN/A
    MonitorSamsung 32" 144hz 1440p
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO Series - 250GB PCIe NVMe - M.2 Internal SSD
    Storage #24TB Toshiba 7200 rpm 6gb/s
    CPU CoolerCooler Master MasterLiquid ML240L RGB
    CasePhanteks Eclipse P400S Silent Edition
    Power SupplyCorsair cx650m
    Keyboard Logitech G915
    Mouse Logitech G602
    Headset Logitech G430
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries Qck Gaming Surface - Medium Thick Cloth
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z333 2.1 Speakers
    OS Win 10 Pro, 1909
    Network RouterTP-Link AC4000

    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    Quote Originally Posted by larnon View Post
    Hello everyone,

    I have newly registered on forums just to voice some of the problems I am facing with this motherboard. I really need to know if its just my motherboard that is bad or it is a general UEFI issue that can be fixed later on. I need to know now so that i can return it before the return window closes.

    I have R5 1600 installed along with Corsair LPX 16 3200 CL16 RAM.
    Windows 10 is fully updated. Fresh installation.
    UEFI version is 0805.( I also tried the one with 0402 or something)

    Everything is at stock. Zero OC.

    Here are the issues;

    1) After a cold boot, sometimes the LAN adapter is not working. The lights don't blink and computer does not see any connection( No adapter ). After a reset it starts to work again. This happened with both of the UEFI versions i tried, but more so with the latest.
    2) After a cold boot, sometimes computer does not boot, only blackscreen and stays there. CPU q-led is lighting red constantly. Need to reset.
    3) One time, again after a cold boot, blackscreen, DRAM q-led is blinking. Need to reset.
    4) Latest version of Memtest86 does not work. Computer resets while the program is retrieving hardware information. (Exactly after it says "Retrieving memory controller information" or something like that). But it works if it is started up as old BIOS version. I tried with different USB drives (2.0 and 3.0) and also just with single stick of memory. Problem still persists.

    Now I did 9 hours of Memtest86 which resulted in 2 passes of zero errors. I also did 3.5 hours of Prime95 custom blend test(12000 MB of RAM). No errors. No crashes. Nothing.

    This is a brand new computer with brand new Windows installation. It's been only a week.
    One time, while shutting down, Windows got stuck in "Getting windows ready. Don't turn off your computer". I have waited an hour and gave up, Needed to reset.
    And one time, while playing Overwatch, the game crashed back to desktop. Which is strange because, I played that game on my 7-years old PC(Phenom II 955, 8GB DDR3) for months and it NEVER crashed before.

    Please someone tell me i am not the only one experiencing these issues. I am so bummed. I have waited 7 years to finally upgrade my PC. Finally able to play some games that i wasn't able to for the last 5 years. I just wanted play games at peace, with no problems

    Update: I just tried to cold boot again. After bios screen, screen went black, no signal. After 10 sec or so, DRAM q-led started to blink again. I had to reset it. While booting up, windows disk scan&repair popped up, did it's thing. Now I am back in windows. What is going on?
    Update2: I wanted to revert to original bios that the board came with, but support site is down.
    First off, you need to get on the latest BIOS. I see at least one issue you listed that is fixed with BIOS update (LAN issue).

Page 39 of 141 FirstFirst ... 29 37 38 39 40 41 49 89 139 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •