Page 140 of 141 FirstFirst ... 40 90 130 138 139 140 141 LastLast
Results 1,391 to 1,400 of 1406
  1. #1391
    ROG Enthusiast Array DsAMD PC Specs
    DsAMD PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix b350-f gaming
    ProcessorRyzen 3600 @ 4.25 ghz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance 3600 2x8gb
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER XC
    Sound CardN/A
    MonitorSamsung 32" 144hz 1440p
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO Series - 250GB PCIe NVMe - M.2 Internal SSD
    Storage #24TB Toshiba 7200 rpm 6gb/s
    CPU CoolerCooler Master MasterLiquid ML240L RGB
    CasePhanteks Eclipse P400S Silent Edition
    Power SupplyCorsair cx650m
    Keyboard Logitech G915
    Mouse Logitech G602
    Headset Logitech G430
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries Qck Gaming Surface - Medium Thick Cloth
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z333 2.1 Speakers
    OS Win 10 Pro, 1909
    Network RouterTP-Link AC4000

    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    Quote Originally Posted by BtheNewB View Post
    Thanks mate, appreciate your feedback.
    I just added my Corsair 3200s that I had in my other machine and it worked just fine.
    Just some observations and maybe some questions for comparison.
    I never went beyond BIOS3401 whilst running the 1600 as it worked just fine, or so I thought.
    Then I flashed to the very last BIOS 5603 before changing to the 3600.
    Thats where the surprise came. Asus must have done some good work for a change with the microcode for the 1st generation. Suddenly my 1600 ran at 1,12V to 1,20V vCore where on the previous BIOS it was always 1,25 to 1,35V. Big improvement.
    After installing the 3600 the vCore is now anything from 1,33V up to 1,46V which seems ridiculous for stock settings. My temps are fine, idling at 35C and around 72C under full load. Also the Asus MB sensor algorithm on the temps are screwed now with the latest BIOS as the MB reported temps for the CPU never go above 40C in HW monitor. The CPU reported temps in HW monitor correspond with Rysen Master.
    I will start testing to undervolt with offset and am interested if you have tried to lower the core voltages? So I am interested what your temps and voltages are and which BIOS version you are using.
    Yes, the auto voltage on the CPU on the newer BIOS, that is the BIOS they released to support Zen 2 and the 3600, was set ridiculously high. It was throwing me off when trying to overclock because I thought it was so high there was no need to try to over volt with the offset setting. In fact, I was actually trying to under volt and that wasn't working at all. Finally, I figured out that if you offset it to the positive then it stops super over volting like on the auto setting. Now I have it over clocked to 4.2 with a 1.28 voltage which the highest I got with the 1600 was 3.8 with a 1.38 voltage. So yes, you assessment is correct, it is working much better now.

    However, I never noticed no crazy over volting on the RAM. The default setting was at 1.2 and I raised it to 1.35 since that is what they are rated for and after much trial and error I finally got it stable running at 3600. Took me a while, ain't gonna lie. This is why I have a copy of those screenshots I gave you. I am terrified that if I have to remove the CMOS battery or if I decide I want to upgrade the BIOS that I will lose all of the settings. Is the RAM you are using on the tested hardware list for the motherboard? I wouldn't be too upset if you can't run a 3200 rated RAM at 3600.

    Check the screenshot for the voltages and my CPU temps usually hover between the 40 and 45 degree mark idle and 60 to 70 under prolonged heavy load.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos voltage screenshot.png  


  2. #1392
    ROG Enthusiast Array BtheNewB PC Specs
    BtheNewB PC Specs
    MotherboardStrix B350F Gaming BIOS5603
    ProcessorRyzen 5-3600
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMK16GX 4M2E16C
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Pulse RX580 8GB
    MonitorSony Bravia 32"
    Storage #1Crucial CT275MX300
    Storage #2Corsair Neutron SSD
    CPU CoolerArctic Freezer 13 CO
    CaseCM690
    Power SupplySeasonic M12 750W
    Keyboard Sun Microsystems
    Mouse Redragon Mammoth
    Headset Sennheiser Game Zero
    OS Win10
    Accessory #1 some more spinner HDDs
    BtheNewB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    41

    Quote Originally Posted by DsAMD View Post
    Yes, the auto voltage on the CPU on the newer BIOS, that is the BIOS they released to support Zen 2 and the 3600, was set ridiculously high. It was throwing me off when trying to overclock because I thought it was so high there was no need to try to over volt with the offset setting. In fact, I was actually trying to under volt and that wasn't working at all. Finally, I figured out that if you offset it to the positive then it stops super over volting like on the auto setting. Now I have it over clocked to 4.2 with a 1.28 voltage which the highest I got with the 1600 was 3.8 with a 1.38 voltage. So yes, you assessment is correct, it is working much better now.

    However, I never noticed no crazy over volting on the RAM. The default setting was at 1.2 and I raised it to 1.35 since that is what they are rated for and after much trial and error I finally got it stable running at 3600. Took me a while, ain't gonna lie. This is why I have a copy of those screenshots I gave you. I am terrified that if I have to remove the CMOS battery or if I decide I want to upgrade the BIOS that I will lose all of the settings. Is the RAM you are using on the tested hardware list for the motherboard? I wouldn't be too upset if you can't run a 3200 rated RAM at 3600.

    Check the screenshot for the voltages and my CPU temps usually hover between the 40 and 45 degree mark idle and 60 to 70 under prolonged heavy load.
    My specific mem kit is not on the QVL but they work just fine at their rated 3200. The XMP timings are 16.20.20.20 but I run them at a tighter 16.18.18.18
    Any attempts beyond 3200 and I get a lock up before I can even enter the BIOS.
    The offset voltages are so screwed with the 3000 CPU support. Undervolting does apply on the VCore but makes no difference on the individual CoreVID. It only causes lower performance in Cinebench which makes no sense as the clock frequencies are identical.
    I'll just save up for a B550 board or get a used one once the prices start coming down. I don't think Asus has any interest in still working on the quirks of the BIOS on this series anymore.

  3. #1393
    ROG Enthusiast Array DsAMD PC Specs
    DsAMD PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix b350-f gaming
    ProcessorRyzen 3600 @ 4.25 ghz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance 3600 2x8gb
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER XC
    Sound CardN/A
    MonitorSamsung 32" 144hz 1440p
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO Series - 250GB PCIe NVMe - M.2 Internal SSD
    Storage #24TB Toshiba 7200 rpm 6gb/s
    CPU CoolerCooler Master MasterLiquid ML240L RGB
    CasePhanteks Eclipse P400S Silent Edition
    Power SupplyCorsair cx650m
    Keyboard Logitech G915
    Mouse Logitech G602
    Headset Logitech G430
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries Qck Gaming Surface - Medium Thick Cloth
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z333 2.1 Speakers
    OS Win 10 Pro, 1909
    Network RouterTP-Link AC4000

    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    Quote Originally Posted by BtheNewB View Post
    My specific mem kit is not on the QVL but they work just fine at their rated 3200. The XMP timings are 16.20.20.20 but I run them at a tighter 16.18.18.18
    Any attempts beyond 3200 and I get a lock up before I can even enter the BIOS.
    The offset voltages are so screwed with the 3000 CPU support. Undervolting does apply on the VCore but makes no difference on the individual CoreVID. It only causes lower performance in Cinebench which makes no sense as the clock frequencies are identical.
    I'll just save up for a B550 board or get a used one once the prices start coming down. I don't think Asus has any interest in still working on the quirks of the BIOS on this series anymore.
    I think that may be the best bet. I've had this board about three years and will probably try and squeeze an extra two or three years out of it depending on what AMD releases. The board is not without it's problems but overall I am pretty satisfied. I only paid $110 so I think I got my money's worth.

  4. #1394
    ROG Enthusiast Array BtheNewB PC Specs
    BtheNewB PC Specs
    MotherboardStrix B350F Gaming BIOS5603
    ProcessorRyzen 5-3600
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMK16GX 4M2E16C
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Pulse RX580 8GB
    MonitorSony Bravia 32"
    Storage #1Crucial CT275MX300
    Storage #2Corsair Neutron SSD
    CPU CoolerArctic Freezer 13 CO
    CaseCM690
    Power SupplySeasonic M12 750W
    Keyboard Sun Microsystems
    Mouse Redragon Mammoth
    Headset Sennheiser Game Zero
    OS Win10
    Accessory #1 some more spinner HDDs
    BtheNewB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    41

    Quote Originally Posted by DsAMD View Post
    I think that may be the best bet. I've had this board about three years and will probably try and squeeze an extra two or three years out of it depending on what AMD releases. The board is not without it's problems but overall I am pretty satisfied. I only paid $110 so I think I got my money's worth.
    Agreed. It served me well. Got it in June2017 for £114 and haven't had any hardware issues barring the less than stellar BIOS releases.
    Hoping to find a bargain deal on a B550

  5. #1395
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    I'm having issue with this board aswell guys, I cannot upgrade my bios, currently on 5216, it is the only stable bios for me.

    CPU: 3600 Gpu: 1080ti ftw3 Ram: G skill flarex 3200cl14, samsung B-die Mobo: Strix b350f gaming, Bios 5216

    I'm having issues with this mobo, the bios 5216 is the only stable bios that works on my build, all the newer bios's above it, always give me bsod randomly even when everything in bios is at default. That is, ram running at 2400mhz. And this happens with recently released 5603 version aswell.

    I really kinda want the new bios feature set, mainly better idle voltages and temps.

    Am I the only one having these issue with this mobo and ryzen 3xxx processors or is it a common issue?

    Thanks

  6. #1396
    ROG Enthusiast Array BtheNewB PC Specs
    BtheNewB PC Specs
    MotherboardStrix B350F Gaming BIOS5603
    ProcessorRyzen 5-3600
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMK16GX 4M2E16C
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Pulse RX580 8GB
    MonitorSony Bravia 32"
    Storage #1Crucial CT275MX300
    Storage #2Corsair Neutron SSD
    CPU CoolerArctic Freezer 13 CO
    CaseCM690
    Power SupplySeasonic M12 750W
    Keyboard Sun Microsystems
    Mouse Redragon Mammoth
    Headset Sennheiser Game Zero
    OS Win10
    Accessory #1 some more spinner HDDs
    BtheNewB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    41

    Quote Originally Posted by never_is_here View Post
    I'm having issue with this board aswell guys, I cannot upgrade my bios, currently on 5216, it is the only stable bios for me.

    CPU: 3600 Gpu: 1080ti ftw3 Ram: G skill flarex 3200cl14, samsung B-die Mobo: Strix b350f gaming, Bios 5216

    I'm having issues with this mobo, the bios 5216 is the only stable bios that works on my build, all the newer bios's above it, always give me bsod randomly even when everything in bios is at default. That is, ram running at 2400mhz. And this happens with recently released 5603 version aswell.

    I really kinda want the new bios feature set, mainly better idle voltages and temps.

    Am I the only one having these issue with this mobo and ryzen 3xxx processors or is it a common issue?

    Thanks
    You'll have to get BIOS 5603 flashed. It fully supports the CPU and it's stable for me. Only problem is the insane VCore it applies at default. I am currently in contact with Asus to see if I can get any joy out them as there are a couple of BIOS functions missing, but that's a different topic.

    Also when last did you do a chipset update from the AMD site? You should do that even before you flash the latest BIOS.The last chipset driver was released 21 July. https://www.amd.com/en/support/chips...ocket-am4/b350

  7. #1397
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by BtheNewB View Post
    You'll have to get BIOS 5603 flashed. It fully supports the CPU and it's stable for me. Only problem is the insane VCore it applies at default. I am currently in contact with Asus to see if I can get any joy out them as there are a couple of BIOS functions missing, but that's a different topic.

    Also when last did you do a chipset update from the AMD site? You should do that even before you flash the latest BIOS.The last chipset driver was released 21 July. https://www.amd.com/en/support/chips...ocket-am4/b350
    What you mean "you'll have to get bios 5603 flashed" I don't understand, I used the ezflash utility to flash the new 5603 Bios, is there any other method ?

    I did install the chipset update but after flashing the 5603 bios, still didn't help.

  8. #1398
    ROG Enthusiast Array BtheNewB PC Specs
    BtheNewB PC Specs
    MotherboardStrix B350F Gaming BIOS5603
    ProcessorRyzen 5-3600
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMK16GX 4M2E16C
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Pulse RX580 8GB
    MonitorSony Bravia 32"
    Storage #1Crucial CT275MX300
    Storage #2Corsair Neutron SSD
    CPU CoolerArctic Freezer 13 CO
    CaseCM690
    Power SupplySeasonic M12 750W
    Keyboard Sun Microsystems
    Mouse Redragon Mammoth
    Headset Sennheiser Game Zero
    OS Win10
    Accessory #1 some more spinner HDDs
    BtheNewB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    41

    Quote Originally Posted by never_is_here View Post
    What you mean "you'll have to get bios 5603 flashed" I don't understand, I used the ezflash utility to flash the new 5603 Bios, is there any other method ?

    I did install the chipset update but after flashing the 5603 bios, still didn't help.
    Well if you have the latest BIOS, then the CPU is fully supported. The only other thing you could try would be a different set of memory for a test.
    Mine is just fine with the Corsair 3200. I also ran it with an older set of Ballistix at DDR4-3000 and had no issues either.
    You could also install the 1usmus power plan which worked well for me. Follow the instructions as in this article. https://www.overclock3d.net/news/cpu..._performance/1

  9. #1399
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by BtheNewB View Post
    Well if you have the latest BIOS, then the CPU is fully supported. The only other thing you could try would be a different set of memory for a test.
    Mine is just fine with the Corsair 3200. I also ran it with an older set of Ballistix at DDR4-3000 and had no issues either.
    You could also install the 1usmus power plan which worked well for me. Follow the instructions as in this article. https://www.overclock3d.net/news/cpu..._performance/1
    I don't have a seperate set of ram laying around, and the bios crash happens within minutes after getting into windows sometimes seconds. I already have the 1usmus plans.

  10. #1400
    ROG Enthusiast Array BtheNewB PC Specs
    BtheNewB PC Specs
    MotherboardStrix B350F Gaming BIOS5603
    ProcessorRyzen 5-3600
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMK16GX 4M2E16C
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Pulse RX580 8GB
    MonitorSony Bravia 32"
    Storage #1Crucial CT275MX300
    Storage #2Corsair Neutron SSD
    CPU CoolerArctic Freezer 13 CO
    CaseCM690
    Power SupplySeasonic M12 750W
    Keyboard Sun Microsystems
    Mouse Redragon Mammoth
    Headset Sennheiser Game Zero
    OS Win10
    Accessory #1 some more spinner HDDs
    BtheNewB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    41

    Quote Originally Posted by never_is_here View Post
    I don't have a seperate set of ram laying around, and the bios crash happens within minutes after getting into windows sometimes seconds. I already have the 1usmus plans.
    Perhaps, family, friend, colleague or even a helpful computer shop may me able to help you test with some different memory. Even if it's just a single stick. It's worth a try. I am just waiting for a bargain on a decent B550 board and I shall upgrade as I don't expect much interest by the OEMs to continue customer support queries willingly with the X370s/B350s and 3000series CPUs.

Page 140 of 141 FirstFirst ... 40 90 130 138 139 140 141 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •