Page 97 of 146 FirstFirst ... 47 87 95 96 97 98 99 107 ... LastLast
Results 961 to 970 of 1451
  1. #961
    ROG Enthusiast Array Fredy M PC Specs
    Fredy M PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Strix B550-F Gaming WIFI
    ProcessorRyzen 7 5900x
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-4000C16D-32GTZRA
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix GTX 1080 A8G
    MonitorDell S2721DGF
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo Plus 250GB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK-Aio Basic 360
    CasePhanteks P400A
    Power SupplySuperflower Leadex II Gold 650W
    OS Windows 10 Pro 21H2
    Fredy M's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    45
    Posts
    65

    Quote Originally Posted by celab View Post
    can someone confir this as an usb port ?Attachment 73955
    from what I can see that may be a firewire connector but that should be labeled F1394 or something

  2. #962
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Hey community,

    I have an issue with my two slightly different memory kits in this MOBO, I'm using CMK8GX4M2B3000C15 and CMK8GX4M2B3000C15R where the only difference is the color (its a 2x4gb 3000mhz cl15 kit twice, making 4x4gb), both of them are VER 5.20 Extra spec info: PSU - FSP Hexa+ 500 | GPU - GTX 1060.

    So, the problem is when I use only 2 dimms from the same color It's working fine at 2933mhz, and when I mix 1 red and 1 black it boots for the third time trying and works after that, but when I use all 4, I can't boot into bios with 2933mhz, It's resetting to 2133 and when I boot into windows the system is unstable even with 2133 defaults, getting BSOD-s, system hangs, hardware failure.

    So what I tried so far:
    • Update bios | Downgrade bios | Modded bios and everything listed below with all bios versions
    • Manually set the timings to 15-17-17-17-35 (extra 17 is because my mobo)
    • Manually set DRAM Voltage to 1.350
    • Try to fiddle with VPP_MEM Voltage
    • Increasing VTDDR Voltage
    • SoC voltage at 1.1v
    • ProcODT at 60ohm
    • CMD at 2T
    • CLDO_VDDP at 965 - 975
    • Memory interleaving mode channel
    • Loosen timings to 16-18-18-18-40
    • Increase DRAM Voltage to 1.380v to 1.400v
    • Fiddle with other timings not being set by D.O.C.P. but being able to read out from SPD
    • CPU LLC and SOC LLC tried from regular to extreme
    • Try other frequencies like 2800mhz, It boots up but Is unstable in everything, just like the default 2133mhz
    • Ran memtest with all of them individually, no problems


    Any ideas what else can I do to make this even stable at least at 2133mhz?
    Or is this some other issue.

  3. #963
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array AniChatt PC Specs
    AniChatt PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ThinkPad X270 i7 7500U
    MotherboardAsus Strix X470-F BIOS 5843
    ProcessorR5 5600X Stock
    Memory (part number)FlareX 3200MHz 2x8GB
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080
    MonitorBenQ EW2480
    Storage #1960EVO NVMe 250GB
    Storage #2MX500 SATA 500GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseNZXT S340 Razer
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime 850W Gold
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB
    Mouse Corsair Harpoon
    OS Windows 10 20H2
    AniChatt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    283

    Quote Originally Posted by yghrt View Post
    Hey community,

    I have an issue with my two slightly different memory kits in this MOBO, I'm using CMK8GX4M2B3000C15 and CMK8GX4M2B3000C15R where the only difference is the color (its a 2x4gb 3000mhz cl15 kit twice, making 4x4gb), both of them are VER 5.20 Extra spec info: PSU - FSP Hexa+ 500 | GPU - GTX 1060.

    So, the problem is when I use only 2 dimms from the same color It's working fine at 2933mhz, and when I mix 1 red and 1 black it boots for the third time trying and works after that, but when I use all 4, I can't boot into bios with 2933mhz, It's resetting to 2133 and when I boot into windows the system is unstable even with 2133 defaults, getting BSOD-s, system hangs, hardware failure.

    So what I tried so far:
    • Update bios | Downgrade bios | Modded bios and everything listed below with all bios versions
    • Manually set the timings to 15-17-17-17-35 (extra 17 is because my mobo)
    • Manually set DRAM Voltage to 1.350
    • Try to fiddle with VPP_MEM Voltage
    • Increasing VTDDR Voltage
    • SoC voltage at 1.1v
    • ProcODT at 60ohm
    • CMD at 2T
    • CLDO_VDDP at 965 - 975
    • Memory interleaving mode channel
    • Loosen timings to 16-18-18-18-40
    • Increase DRAM Voltage to 1.380v to 1.400v
    • Fiddle with other timings not being set by D.O.C.P. but being able to read out from SPD
    • CPU LLC and SOC LLC tried from regular to extreme
    • Try other frequencies like 2800mhz, It boots up but Is unstable in everything, just like the default 2133mhz
    • Ran memtest with all of them individually, no problems


    Any ideas what else can I do to make this even stable at least at 2133mhz?
    Or is this some other issue.
    Say you have two ram kit: A: A1 A2 and B: B1 B2 and the mobo has DIMM 1234 slot, try to put it like this,
    1. DIMM1: A1 DIMM2: B1 DiMM3: A2: DIMM4: B2
    2. DIMM1: A1 DIMM2: A2 DiMM3: B1: DIMM4: B2
    Check individually if it works or not.

  4. #964
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by AniChatt View Post
    Say you have two ram kit: A: A1 A2 and B: B1 B2 and the mobo has DIMM 1234 slot, try to put it like this,
    1. DIMM1: A1 DIMM2: B1 DiMM3: A2: DIMM4: B2
    2. DIMM1: A1 DIMM2: A2 DiMM3: B1: DIMM4: B2
    Check individually if it works or not.
    Already done, current one seems stable enough right now, no BSOD for an hour, but I cant say for sure, maybe a cold boot and It's unstable again.
    Now it's like this DIMM1: A1 DIMM2: B1 DiMM3: B2: DIMM4: A2.

    Currently this is the setting:
    Applied Optimized defaults
    mem freq 2800mhz
    DRAM voltage 1.380v
    timings loosen to 16-18-18-18-40-60
    CMD 1T
    ProcODT 48ohm
    VTDDR increased
    SoC voltage 1.1v


    Also a new information is that the ram version 5.20 is bad for ryzen, and I should get a version at least 5.30, can someone confirm this?

  5. #965
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by yghrt View Post
    Already done, current one seems stable enough right now, no BSOD for an hour, but I cant say for sure, maybe a cold boot and It's unstable again.
    Now it's like this DIMM1: A1 DIMM2: B1 DiMM3: B2: DIMM4: A2.

    Currently this is the setting:
    Applied Optimized defaults
    mem freq 2800mhz
    DRAM voltage 1.380v
    timings loosen to 16-18-18-18-40-60
    CMD 1T
    ProcODT 48ohm
    VTDDR increased
    SoC voltage 1.1v


    Also a new information is that the ram version 5.20 is bad for ryzen, and I should get a version at least 5.30, can someone confirm this?
    Yes, As i thought, It's still not stable like this, getting crashes.

  6. #966
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Equinox187 PC Specs
    Equinox187 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG STRIX B350-F GAMING
    ProcessorRyzen 3600
    Memory (part number)KLEVV BOLT X 32GB 3600 MHz
    Graphics Card #1Zotac GTX 1070
    Storage #1Viper VPN100 512GB nvme
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Loop
    Power SupplyEVGA 650w Gold Modular
    OS Windows 11 Pro 64bit
    Equinox187's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    116

    Quote Originally Posted by yghrt View Post
    Hey community,

    I have an issue with my two slightly different memory kits in this MOBO, I'm using CMK8GX4M2B3000C15 and CMK8GX4M2B3000C15R where the only difference is the color (its a 2x4gb 3000mhz cl15 kit twice, making 4x4gb), both of them are VER 5.20 Extra spec info: PSU - FSP Hexa+ 500 | GPU - GTX 1060.

    So, the problem is when I use only 2 dimms from the same color It's working fine at 2933mhz, and when I mix 1 red and 1 black it boots for the third time trying and works after that, but when I use all 4, I can't boot into bios with 2933mhz, It's resetting to 2133 and when I boot into windows the system is unstable even with 2133 defaults, getting BSOD-s, system hangs, hardware failure.

    So what I tried so far:
    • Update bios | Downgrade bios | Modded bios and everything listed below with all bios versions
    • Manually set the timings to 15-17-17-17-35 (extra 17 is because my mobo)
    • Manually set DRAM Voltage to 1.350
    • Try to fiddle with VPP_MEM Voltage
    • Increasing VTDDR Voltage
    • SoC voltage at 1.1v
    • ProcODT at 60ohm
    • CMD at 2T
    • CLDO_VDDP at 965 - 975
    • Memory interleaving mode channel
    • Loosen timings to 16-18-18-18-40
    • Increase DRAM Voltage to 1.380v to 1.400v
    • Fiddle with other timings not being set by D.O.C.P. but being able to read out from SPD
    • CPU LLC and SOC LLC tried from regular to extreme
    • Try other frequencies like 2800mhz, It boots up but Is unstable in everything, just like the default 2133mhz
    • Ran memtest with all of them individually, no problems


    Any ideas what else can I do to make this even stable at least at 2133mhz?
    Or is this some other issue.
    4 stick memory configs suck for ryzen more so when they are dual rank ram, the ram you have chosen is dual rank this means that in a 4 dimm system it really is only designed to work at 1866MHz, I have seen some squeese more with some work but not a whole lot more if i where you i would reset to optomised defaults then leave everything as default then manually set the clock to 1866MHz and then boot and test stability and if stable then start stepping up MHz untill it crashes then step up voltage, but i suspect you will not get far as 4 dimm dual rank suck for high speed ram. I kinda hate to say it it would have been better and cheaper if you had bought a set of 2 8gig sticks.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ddr4-memory-support.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	133.3 KB 
ID:	73980

  7. #967
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by Equinox187 View Post
    4 stick memory configs suck for ryzen more so when they are dual rank ram, the ram you have chosen is dual rank this means that in a 4 dimm system it really is only designed to work at 1866MHz, I have seen some squeese more with some work but not a whole lot more if i where you i would reset to optomised defaults then leave everything as default then manually set the clock to 1866MHz and then boot and test stability and if stable then start stepping up MHz untill it crashes then step up voltage, but i suspect you will not get far as 4 dimm dual rank suck for high speed ram. I kinda hate to say it it would have been better and cheaper if you had bought a set of 2 8gig sticks.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ddr4-memory-support.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	133.3 KB 
ID:	73980
    I checked if It's really Dual rank, but no, It's Single rank, 4 dimm single rank memory with 2133mhz base spd, and is overclockable to 3000mhz.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Rank.png 
Views:	5 
Size:	38.8 KB 
ID:	73982

  8. #968
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Equinox187 PC Specs
    Equinox187 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG STRIX B350-F GAMING
    ProcessorRyzen 3600
    Memory (part number)KLEVV BOLT X 32GB 3600 MHz
    Graphics Card #1Zotac GTX 1070
    Storage #1Viper VPN100 512GB nvme
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Loop
    Power SupplyEVGA 650w Gold Modular
    OS Windows 11 Pro 64bit
    Equinox187's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    116

    Quote Originally Posted by yghrt View Post
    I checked if It's really Dual rank, but no, It's Single rank, 4 dimm single rank memory with 2133mhz base spd, and is overclockable to 3000mhz.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Rank.png 
Views:	5 
Size:	38.8 KB 
ID:	73982
    I would check all of them to make sure as the reason i said that is my friend had the same red ram as you but his was dual rank and the second kit he later got was single rank, same model numbers etc but different batch yet not the same. In any case overclock speed is something you will not always get espesually in a 4 dimm setup so i would still reset to default and down clock to 1866 and test from there.

  9. #969
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array celab PC Specs
    celab PC Specs
    MotherboardStrix B550-F Gaming / BIOS 2803
    ProcessorRyzen 3600 @stock speed
    Memory (part number)FlareX - F4-3200C14D-16GFX @XMP Timings
    Graphics Card #1Palit GameRock Premium 1080 @stock speed/cooling; 496.49 Drv.
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorAcer Predator - XB241H
    Storage #1Seagate FireCuda 530 / 500GB NVME 1.4
    Storage #2Kingston ssd
    CPU CoolerBe Quiet - DarkRock 4
    Casefreestyle
    Power SupplyThermaltake Toughpower Grand RGB 850W Gold
    Keyboard Razer Chroma Light
    Mouse Razer DeathAdder V2
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus Medium CONTROL
    Headset/Speakers Sennheiser HD 4.20s
    OS Win11 Pro 64bit / latest
    Network RouterFibre Optic 600Mbit (sync.)
    celab's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    91

    use thaiphoon to read them --> http://www.softnology.biz/files.html
    Orwell was an optimist

  10. #970
    ROG Enthusiast Array BtheNewB PC Specs
    BtheNewB PC Specs
    MotherboardStrix B350F Gaming BIOS5603
    ProcessorRyzen 5-3600
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMK16GX 4M2E16C
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Pulse RX580 8GB
    MonitorSony Bravia 32"
    Storage #1Crucial CT275MX300
    Storage #2Corsair Neutron SSD
    CPU CoolerArctic Freezer 13 CO
    CaseCM690
    Power SupplySeasonic M12 750W
    Keyboard Sun Microsystems
    Mouse Redragon Mammoth
    Headset Sennheiser Game Zero
    OS Win10
    Accessory #1 some more spinner HDDs
    BtheNewB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    41

    Quote Originally Posted by yghrt View Post
    Hey community,

    I have an issue with my two slightly different memory kits in this MOBO, I'm using CMK8GX4M2B3000C15 and CMK8GX4M2B3000C15R where the only difference is the color (its a 2x4gb 3000mhz cl15 kit twice, making 4x4gb), both of them are VER 5.20 Extra spec info: PSU - FSP Hexa+ 500 | GPU - GTX 1060.

    So, the problem is when I use only 2 dimms from the same color It's working fine at 2933mhz, and when I mix 1 red and 1 black it boots for the third time trying and works after that, but when I use all 4, I can't boot into bios with 2933mhz, It's resetting to 2133 and when I boot into windows the system is unstable even with 2133 defaults, getting BSOD-s, system hangs, hardware failure.

    So what I tried so far:
    • Update bios | Downgrade bios | Modded bios and everything listed below with all bios versions
    • Manually set the timings to 15-17-17-17-35 (extra 17 is because my mobo)
    • Manually set DRAM Voltage to 1.350
    • Try to fiddle with VPP_MEM Voltage
    • Increasing VTDDR Voltage
    • SoC voltage at 1.1v
    • ProcODT at 60ohm
    • CMD at 2T
    • CLDO_VDDP at 965 - 975
    • Memory interleaving mode channel
    • Loosen timings to 16-18-18-18-40
    • Increase DRAM Voltage to 1.380v to 1.400v
    • Fiddle with other timings not being set by D.O.C.P. but being able to read out from SPD
    • CPU LLC and SOC LLC tried from regular to extreme
    • Try other frequencies like 2800mhz, It boots up but Is unstable in everything, just like the default 2133mhz
    • Ran memtest with all of them individually, no problems


    Any ideas what else can I do to make this even stable at least at 2133mhz?
    Or is this some other issue.
    So we can agree that you do not have a matched 4X4 kit. That being critical most of the time.
    Manufacturers make up matched kits for a reason. These matched kits ensure that the same batch of memory chips are at play on all the modules. These batches of mem chips are sourced from a chip manufacturer and have a very high probability of being identical.
    Just like we all know about CPU lotteries when it comes to OC, the same applies with the memory lottery where you see the same part number but the batches are not the same and the results are a lottery. It may work but chances are it won't.
    The only way to ascertain what your possible max OC will be with 4 mem slots filled is to test with a 4 X 4 matched memory kit.
    Thats unfortunately the reality of the memory OC game.

Page 97 of 146 FirstFirst ... 47 87 95 96 97 98 99 107 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •