Page 125 of 130 FirstFirst ... 25 75 115 123 124 125 126 127 ... LastLast
Results 1,241 to 1,250 of 1295
  1. #1241
    New ROGer Array SuperRichioROG PC Specs
    SuperRichioROG PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Strix B350-f Gaming (BIOS 5008)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 3600
    Memory (part number)CMK16GX4M2Z3200C16
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix GTX 1070 O8G
    Storage #1Samsung 970evo 1TB M.2 NVME SSD
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB HDD
    CPU CoolerAMD Wraith Spire RGB
    CaseCorsair 400c
    Power SupplyCorsair RM650X
    Keyboard Corsair K70 Mk2 (Cherry MX Red)
    Mouse Corsair Harpoon
    Headset Corsair Void Pro RGB Wireless
    OS Windows 10
    SuperRichioROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Quote Originally Posted by Whiplash-RoG View Post
    BIOS idle temp is always high. I see about 42C in BIOS but once in Windows it normally sits in the low to mid 30's. And yes, i have consulted multiple sources which seem to agree on the temperature.
    Ah, well this leaves me feeling more optimistic. I'm not having idle voltage problems like others.. My idle voltage is around 0.916 - 0.927 then between 1.3-1.45 for brief periods when boosting automatically etc so nothing alarming there as everything seems to be as expected by AMD 👍

  2. #1242
    ROG Enthusiast Array hazium233 PC Specs
    hazium233 PC Specs
    MotherboardStrix B350-F Gaming
    ProcessorR5 1600
    Memory (part number)Ballistix Sport AT 2666 16gb
    hazium233's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    27

    Quote Originally Posted by SuperRichioROG View Post
    Hello all,

    Here's my system spec
    Ryzen 5 3600
    Corsair LPX DDR 3200mhz CL16 @ 1.35v (xmp profile)
    Memory timings. 16, 18, 18, 36
    Asus Strix B350-F Gaming MB Bios 5008
    Asus Strix GTX 1070 O8G
    Samsung 970evo m.2 1TB
    Storage HDD 2TB
    Corsair RM650X PSU

    My upgrade from R5 1600 (all other specs are the same) has gone well except the temperatures of the R5 3600 are much higher than reviewers have been reporting and I'm using a wraith spire rgb rather than the included wraith stealth. My idle temp tends to be around 38-42c with spikes to the high 40's or higher common. Max temps while gaming seem to be around 75c. There's a thread over at Tom's hardware where a few people are having the same experience.

    Other than the erratic temp issue, everything seems OK. Can I ask how things are going for you?
    I wonder if our 5008 bios had the power management manipulation in it that The Stilt was talking about here in the Matisse thread.

    ---

    I haven't seemed to have any more glaring issues with the board since I reflashed 5008 and pulled the CMOS. Maybe previous was bad flash, or I did not clear the bios adequately before.

  3. #1243
    New ROGer Array SuperRichioROG PC Specs
    SuperRichioROG PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Strix B350-f Gaming (BIOS 5008)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 3600
    Memory (part number)CMK16GX4M2Z3200C16
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix GTX 1070 O8G
    Storage #1Samsung 970evo 1TB M.2 NVME SSD
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB HDD
    CPU CoolerAMD Wraith Spire RGB
    CaseCorsair 400c
    Power SupplyCorsair RM650X
    Keyboard Corsair K70 Mk2 (Cherry MX Red)
    Mouse Corsair Harpoon
    Headset Corsair Void Pro RGB Wireless
    OS Windows 10
    SuperRichioROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    [QUOTE=hazium233;776805]I wonder if our 5008 bios had the power management manipulation in it that The Stilt was talking about here in the Matisse thread.

    No idea to be honest though my gaming testing last night went great 🤷
    Mine can still behave a bit odd when being monitored on the desktop but I think that's been thoroughly explained by the AMD dude over on reddit. I'm sure there's nothing to worry about though since...

    Yesterday I decided to monitor my R5 3600 with the OSD of Asus GPU tweak 2 whilst playing shadow of the tomb raider on ultra/high settings.

    As expected the cpu was boosting almost constantly at 4100-4200ghz and after over an hour of playing SOTTR cpu temp maxed out at 53c... Actually cooler than my old R5 1600!

    The weird reporting/temp behaviour whilst sitting at the desktop then must just be some kind of software quirk/bug to be ironed out. At least you can feel safe that if your cpu is anything like mine, it's certainly not going to throttle or melt through your desk any time soon 🎉 👍

  4. #1244
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    [QUOTE=SuperRichioROG;776888]
    Quote Originally Posted by hazium233 View Post
    I wonder if our 5008 bios had the power management manipulation in it that The Stilt was talking about here in the Matisse thread.

    No idea to be honest though my gaming testing last night went great 🤷
    Mine can still behave a bit odd when being monitored on the desktop but I think that's been thoroughly explained by the AMD dude over on reddit. I'm sure there's nothing to worry about though since...

    Yesterday I decided to monitor my R5 3600 with the OSD of Asus GPU tweak 2 whilst playing shadow of the tomb raider on ultra/high settings.

    As expected the cpu was boosting almost constantly at 4100-4200ghz and after over an hour of playing SOTTR cpu temp maxed out at 53c... Actually cooler than my old R5 1600!

    The weird reporting/temp behaviour whilst sitting at the desktop then must just be some kind of software quirk/bug to be ironed out. At least you can feel safe that if your cpu is anything like mine, it's certainly not going to throttle or melt through your desk any time soon 🎉 👍
    There was someone else on Reddit who said Corsair's iCue software running in the background keeps the cores from going to sleep, which explains high idle temps. Perhaps you use iCue?

    Besides Ryzen Master, CPU_Z is the only tool that can currently report voltage without waking all the cores.

  5. #1245
    New ROGer Array SuperRichioROG PC Specs
    SuperRichioROG PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Strix B350-f Gaming (BIOS 5008)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 3600
    Memory (part number)CMK16GX4M2Z3200C16
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix GTX 1070 O8G
    Storage #1Samsung 970evo 1TB M.2 NVME SSD
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB HDD
    CPU CoolerAMD Wraith Spire RGB
    CaseCorsair 400c
    Power SupplyCorsair RM650X
    Keyboard Corsair K70 Mk2 (Cherry MX Red)
    Mouse Corsair Harpoon
    Headset Corsair Void Pro RGB Wireless
    OS Windows 10
    SuperRichioROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    [QUOTE=JarryHead;776901]
    Quote Originally Posted by SuperRichioROG View Post

    There was someone else on Reddit who said Corsair's iCue software running in the background keeps the cores from going to sleep, which explains high idle temps. Perhaps you use iCue?

    Besides Ryzen Master, CPU_Z is the only tool that can currently report voltage without waking all the cores.
    Yeah it's not just monitoring software, even background tasks are making the cpus boost quite often, even having steam open cranks up voltages and boost for many users with voltage continuously over 1.3v. AMD up to now have been pretty insistent that it's monitoring software causing this...and though partially true that's certainly not the case always

  6. #1246
    ROG Enthusiast Array hazium233 PC Specs
    hazium233 PC Specs
    MotherboardStrix B350-F Gaming
    ProcessorR5 1600
    Memory (part number)Ballistix Sport AT 2666 16gb
    hazium233's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    27

    SIAP

    Here is what is in Chipset Driver v1.07.07.0725

    SMBus 5.12.0.38
    PCI 1.0.0.67
    GPIO 2.2.0.115
    GPIO Promontory 2.0.1.0
    PSP 4.10.0.0

  7. #1247
    ROG Enthusiast Array hazium233 PC Specs
    hazium233 PC Specs
    MotherboardStrix B350-F Gaming
    ProcessorR5 1600
    Memory (part number)Ballistix Sport AT 2666 16gb
    hazium233's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    27

    I spoke too soon before, there is something odd going on with 5008 and my hardware. System didn't shut down correctly. SFC returned corrupted files that could not be fixed, and so had to fix that with DISM. Then after resuming it from sleep later, system froze when using Firefox with a Desktop Window Manager and Hardware Error (141) listed.

    Don't know if this is a ram compatibility thing, or it is something odd with PCI.

    It is annoying though that EZ Flash does not let you downgrade across AGESA. So I guess the options are to live with it and hope they put out something better in the near future, or attempt to downgrade it with something else.

  8. #1248
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Hi,
    I had a lot of problems with my new pc system, thought the mainboard was faulty. But i could fix a lot by replacing my gigabyte rx 580 with another graphics card. Problems were a bit of screen flickering and driver issues. Pc was hanging up when installing amd software.
    Well, now there is only remaining: a cursor symbol at bios bootup (only when my usb hub is connected) And post screen shows 3 keyboards and 2 mice though only one each is connected.
    I am also keeping all up2date, actually have version 5008.cpu ryzen 5 2600. 500 watts bequiet power supply.

    Hazium, i can only say, that i do a fresh win10 reinstall once in 6 months, when a new version arrives. Ive had a lot of problems with windows and its updates in my life. But maybe its not the mainboard whats faulty.

    Btw i was always able to run my corsair vengeance ram at 2933mhz since ive got this mainboard. It is 3000mhz ram modules.

  9. #1249
    New ROGer Array SuperRichioROG PC Specs
    SuperRichioROG PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Strix B350-f Gaming (BIOS 5008)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 3600
    Memory (part number)CMK16GX4M2Z3200C16
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix GTX 1070 O8G
    Storage #1Samsung 970evo 1TB M.2 NVME SSD
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB HDD
    CPU CoolerAMD Wraith Spire RGB
    CaseCorsair 400c
    Power SupplyCorsair RM650X
    Keyboard Corsair K70 Mk2 (Cherry MX Red)
    Mouse Corsair Harpoon
    Headset Corsair Void Pro RGB Wireless
    OS Windows 10
    SuperRichioROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Quote Originally Posted by hazium233 View Post
    I spoke too soon before, there is something odd going on with 5008 and my hardware. System didn't shut down correctly. SFC returned corrupted files that could not be fixed, and so had to fix that with DISM. Then after resuming it from sleep later, system froze when using Firefox with a Desktop Window Manager and Hardware Error (141) listed.

    Don't know if this is a ram compatibility thing, or it is something odd with PCI.

    It is annoying though that EZ Flash does not let you downgrade across AGESA. So I guess the options are to live with it and hope they put out something better in the near future, or attempt to downgrade it with something else.
    Sorry to hear this, been there before with my previous build.

    My first thought would be this is a ram issue, so if using xmp or any custom timings etc reset the bios to optimised defaults. If stable then at least you'll know where to start I guess...

  10. #1250
    New ROGer Array SuperRichioROG PC Specs
    SuperRichioROG PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Strix B350-f Gaming (BIOS 5008)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 3600
    Memory (part number)CMK16GX4M2Z3200C16
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix GTX 1070 O8G
    Storage #1Samsung 970evo 1TB M.2 NVME SSD
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB HDD
    CPU CoolerAMD Wraith Spire RGB
    CaseCorsair 400c
    Power SupplyCorsair RM650X
    Keyboard Corsair K70 Mk2 (Cherry MX Red)
    Mouse Corsair Harpoon
    Headset Corsair Void Pro RGB Wireless
    OS Windows 10
    SuperRichioROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Quote Originally Posted by xTc2k View Post
    Hi,
    I had a lot of problems with my new pc system, thought the mainboard was faulty. But i could fix a lot by replacing my gigabyte rx 580 with another graphics card. Problems were a bit of screen flickering and driver issues. Pc was hanging up when installing amd software.
    Well, now there is only remaining: a cursor symbol at bios bootup (only when my usb hub is connected) And post screen shows 3 keyboards and 2 mice though only one each is connected.
    I am also keeping all up2date, actually have version 5008.cpu ryzen 5 2600. 500 watts bequiet power supply.

    Hazium, i can only say, that i do a fresh win10 reinstall once in 6 months, when a new version arrives. Ive had a lot of problems with windows and its updates in my life. But maybe its not the mainboard whats faulty.

    Btw i was always able to run my corsair vengeance ram at 2933mhz since ive got this mainboard. It is 3000mhz ram modules.
    Are you using RGB keyboard/mouse? Often these can show up as 2 keyboards/mice in device manager etc so that could explain it. I too get a cursor at bios for a short time with bios 5008 but I'm having no other issues....accept for the quirky boost bahaviour/temps of ryzen 3600.

Page 125 of 130 FirstFirst ... 25 75 115 123 124 125 126 127 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •