Page 130 of 132 FirstFirst ... 30 80 120 128 129 130 131 132 LastLast
Results 1,291 to 1,300 of 1320
  1. #1291
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by SuperRichioROG View Post
    my 3600 was always boosting to around 4.1-4.2ghz and pulling in around 1.38-1.41v.
    Are those all core boost numbers? Because again, on the linked reddit post it says that the max voltage for all core boost is just around 1.325. And discussion around electromigration scares me as it is a gradual degradation of the cpu and might die earlier than expected. With such high voltage, sure it might be running well right now but will it run the same a year from now?

    Here's the reddit post again: https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comment...en_2_is_1325v/

  2. #1292
    New ROGer Array SuperRichioROG PC Specs
    SuperRichioROG PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Strix B350-f Gaming (BIOS 5008)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 3600
    Memory (part number)CMK16GX4M2Z3200C16
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA RTX 2070 SUPER Founders
    Storage #1Samsung 970evo 1TB M.2 NVME SSD
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB HDD
    CPU CoolerAMD Wraith Spire RGB
    CaseCorsair 400c
    Power SupplyCorsair RM650X
    Keyboard Corsair K70 Mk2 (Cherry MX Red)
    Mouse Corsair Harpoon
    Headset Corsair Void Pro RGB Wireless
    OS Windows 10
    SuperRichioROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Quote Originally Posted by mj_dijamco View Post
    Are those all core boost numbers? Because again, on the linked reddit post it says that the max voltage for all core boost is just around 1.325. And discussion around electromigration scares me as it is a gradual degradation of the cpu and might die earlier than expected. With such high voltage, sure it might be running well right now but will it run the same a year from now?

    Here's the reddit post again: https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comment...en_2_is_1325v/
    Sorry those were all CPU core voltage numbers under normal load. As I say I run everything stock, not pushing for any overclocks etc just to be clear.
    That said I just ran a stress test in CPUZ whilst watching voltages for each core in HWMonitor and voltage for individual cores were pulling up to 1.4v then stabilised at around 1.331v across all cores after a few seconds. HWMonitor is one of the monitoring tools that seems to cause cores to wake from sleep state and boost unnecessarily however so I'm not sure how useful those numbers are.

    There's a lot of misinformation still floating around regarding the 3000 series as I'm sure you've seen, from people panicking over normal boost behaviours/temps to people setting undervolts causing stability issues or 'unexplained' loss of performance. It's been really frustrating as an early adopter but thankfully Robert Hallock (AMD Robert on Reddit) has been engaging with and updating the community quite regularly. The only information I stake my system on at this point is from AMD themselves...at the end of the day they're the guys who'll be replacing the CPU if there's any issues!
    Last edited by SuperRichioROG; 08-18-2019 at 05:17 PM.

  3. #1293
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Equinox187 PC Specs
    Equinox187 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG STRIX B350-F GAMING
    ProcessorRyzen 3600
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL'S Trident Z RGB 3000Mhz
    Graphics Card #1Zotac GTX 1070
    Storage #1Viper VPN100 512GB nvme
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Loop
    Power SupplyEVGA 650w Gold Modular
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Equinox187's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    104

    Just upgrade my 1600 to the 3600 on this board and that went smoothly enough, having spent a few hours with it now there is definitely some abnormality's around voltage, with all stock settings other than the DOCP for the ram under CB 20 it was constantly pulling 1.450V with 4 cores at 4GHz and 2 at 4.1GHz with temps in the 60c range, not to bad i guess but that voltage is still high for 24/7 based on what i have been reading and under gaming voltage is at around 1.4V even though the cores are not being pushed nearly as hard. So i decided to download Ryzen Master to double check the voltages and sure enough it was the same, so at that point I set and all core OC through RM to 4.1GHz with a voltage of 1.4 and then going down bit by bit to the point i got to 1.3v and the system was perfectly stable it passed stress testing and CB 20 yealded a score that was basically the same as the stock CB 20 run but the main difference was my temp as it had dropped 10c to 50c, so clearly the board is sending to much voltage if the chip can run all cores 4.1 at 1.3v without performance loss and well less temp and less voltage is always a good thing.

    But here is the odder voltage part as i do not like software OC i went to the bios to set a manual OC, so I set the cores to 41.00 and then went to the CPU voltage and i went to click the offset but noticed it was saying the CPU voltage had a default of 1.1v so figuring it might be a glitch I saved the 41.00 setting only and rebooted back to bios where i see the voltage has now changed to 1.45v which is consistent with the stock stress test voltage, so i set a - offset of 0.150v to bring it to 1.3v then saved and reset and boom failed to post, back into the bios i see the CPU voltage is again back at 1.1v which with the - offed would explain why it would not post, so i tried 4GHz and again is was 1.1v so saved and reboot back to bios where it was now showing 1.35v, I tried both all core 4.1 and 4.0 OCs in windows and the voltage is static at the auto voltage seen in the bios once restarted to get rid of the 1.1v, but here is where i am stuck, with my 1600 at stock it it would show voltage of 1.25v and so i would set 38.00 with a + offset of 0.0500v and all was well.

    So here is my issue as i want to set the OC via the bios now i could go in set the 41.00 and then with the 1.1v set a + offset of 0.200v to bring voltage up to 1.3v but my fear here is that if it changes the base voltage after the restart from 1.1v to 1.45v then add to that the offset would make the voltage 1.65v and that would be really bad, so I am kinda stuck as to what to do.
    Last edited by Equinox187; 08-23-2019 at 04:08 PM.

  4. #1294
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Quote Originally Posted by Equinox187 View Post
    So here is my issue as i want to set the OC via the bios now i could go in set the 41.00 and then with the 1.1v set a + offset of 0.200v to bring voltage up to 1.3v but my fear here is that if it changes the base voltage after the restart from 1.1v to 1.45v then add to that the offset would make the voltage 1.65v and that would be really bad, so I am kinda stuck as to what to do.
    If you set the cpu core ratio manually to 41.00 and put an offset in manually the system will restart with 1.1v plus your set offset. Just make sure neither of those settings is on auto because that will boost it to 1.65v. I did that a few days ago but my cpu is still alive
    And another thing is if you put in a manual oc the ryzen master tool bugs out and shows a maximum cpu voltage of 1.09999V but I don't know how to fix this.
    Last edited by m00nRaY; 08-23-2019 at 10:35 PM.

  5. #1295
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    I'm running a Ryzen 5 3600 and playing around with RAM OC and so far I'm running stable at 3733/ 1866 cl16.
    My Problem is when I try to boot 3800/1900 with no CPU OC(cpu core ratio at auto) it doesn't work.
    But as soon as I put a manual cpu core ratio in for example 36.00 the System starts just fine.
    Any idea what's causing that?

  6. #1296
    New ROGer Array gregor951 PC Specs
    gregor951 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG STRIX B350-F GAMING
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 5 3600
    Memory (part number)2 x 8GB HYPERX Predator 3200MHz HX432C16PB3K2/16
    Graphics Card #1ROG-STRIX-RXVEGA64-O8G-GAMING
    MonitorSamsung CF791, 100Hz
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseFractal Design Define C Black ATX TG
    Power SupplyCorsair 750W CS750M Gold
    gregor951's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by Equinox187 View Post
    ...
    So here is my issue as i want to set the OC via the bios now i could go in set the 41.00 and then with the 1.1v set a + offset of 0.200v to bring voltage up to 1.3v but my fear here is that if it changes the base voltage after the restart from 1.1v to 1.45v then add to that the offset would make the voltage 1.65v and that would be really bad, so I am kinda stuck as to what to do.
    I had a similar experience, in the bios after enabling offset mode, the base voltage changed down to showing 1.1v only after I restarted (like m00nRay said). I'm looking stable with my 3600 running 42.5 multiplier with an offset of +0.275, and a AIO kracken x42.
    Last edited by gregor951; 08-26-2019 at 12:52 PM.

  7. #1297
    New ROGer Array gregor951 PC Specs
    gregor951 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG STRIX B350-F GAMING
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 5 3600
    Memory (part number)2 x 8GB HYPERX Predator 3200MHz HX432C16PB3K2/16
    Graphics Card #1ROG-STRIX-RXVEGA64-O8G-GAMING
    MonitorSamsung CF791, 100Hz
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseFractal Design Define C Black ATX TG
    Power SupplyCorsair 750W CS750M Gold
    gregor951's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by gregor951 View Post
    I had a similar experience, in the bios after enabling offset mode, the base voltage changed down to showing 1.1v only after I restarted (like m00nRay said). I'm looking stable with my 3600 running 42.5 multiplier with an offset of +0.275, and a AIO kracken x42.
    Ive now increased my offset voltage to +0.3, giving me a vcore of 1.4v as Cinebench cpu test was crashing consistently for me at +0.275v

  8. #1298
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Equinox187 PC Specs
    Equinox187 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG STRIX B350-F GAMING
    ProcessorRyzen 3600
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL'S Trident Z RGB 3000Mhz
    Graphics Card #1Zotac GTX 1070
    Storage #1Viper VPN100 512GB nvme
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Loop
    Power SupplyEVGA 650w Gold Modular
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Equinox187's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    104

    Quote Originally Posted by gregor951 View Post
    Ive now increased my offset voltage to +0.3, giving me a vcore of 1.4v as Cinebench cpu test was crashing consistently for me at +0.275v
    Might be signs of core degradation if it once worked but now does not and needs more voltage, 42.5 on all cores is pushing it far, personally I would not be be confident with 1.4v on all cores at 42.5, from what i have seen 1.4v is fine for short low current use but is bad news if its a high current situation and an all core 42.5 is certainly a high current situation. It is of course your chip but it seems to me it is suffering some degradation already, its why i am only pushing a max all core 41 at 1.3v, sure its not any faster than stock but temps are far lower plus i cant see there being a noticeable real world difference other than a few extra points in CB.

  9. #1299
    New ROGer Array gregor951 PC Specs
    gregor951 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG STRIX B350-F GAMING
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 5 3600
    Memory (part number)2 x 8GB HYPERX Predator 3200MHz HX432C16PB3K2/16
    Graphics Card #1ROG-STRIX-RXVEGA64-O8G-GAMING
    MonitorSamsung CF791, 100Hz
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseFractal Design Define C Black ATX TG
    Power SupplyCorsair 750W CS750M Gold
    gregor951's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by Equinox187 View Post
    Might be signs of core degradation if it once worked but now does not and needs more voltage, 42.5 on all cores is pushing it far, personally I would not be be confident with 1.4v on all cores at 42.5, from what i have seen 1.4v is fine for short low current use but is bad news if its a high current situation and an all core 42.5 is certainly a high current situation. It is of course your chip but it seems to me it is suffering some degradation already, its why i am only pushing a max all core 41 at 1.3v, sure its not any faster than stock but temps are far lower plus i cant see there being a noticeable real world difference other than a few extra points in CB.
    Good info thanks, that was the first time I'd tried CB, so no degradation signs so far. I'm at 42.25 now to get 20 mins of continuous CB with no problems.

  10. #1300
    ROG Enthusiast Array maikrosoft PC Specs
    maikrosoft PC Specs
    MotherboardB350-gaming f
    ProcessorR5 3600
    Memory (part number)GSkill Aegis 3000 16gb
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Cerberus 1070TI
    Sound CardALC 1220 & FX Audio Dac X6
    Monitoriiyama G-Master G2730HSU-B1 Black Hawk
    Storage #1Crucial MX500 1TB m.2
    Storage #2Silicon Power Ace A55 1TB
    CPU CoolerThermalright ARO-M14
    CaseFracral Design Define C
    Power SupplyBeQuiet Pure Power 500w CM
    Keyboard allreli K643 brown switches
    Mouse Corsair Sabre RGB
    Headset Beyerdynamic DT-990 Pro 250Ohm
    Mouse Pad AUKEY Large mousepad gaming xxl
    Headset/Speakers DT-990 pro 250 ohms / Wavemaster Moody
    OS Windows 10 1903 Pro
    Network RouterAVM Fritzbox 7490

    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Actualiy i`m testing the 5214 beta bios with AGESA 1.0.0.3ABB.
    No issues so far.
    Should be released in the next days.

Page 130 of 132 FirstFirst ... 30 80 120 128 129 130 131 132 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •