Page 135 of 136 FirstFirst ... 35 85 125 133 134 135 136 LastLast
Results 1,341 to 1,350 of 1352
  1. #1341
    ROG Member Array Freelancer167 PC Specs
    Freelancer167 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG STRIX B350-F GAMING
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1700
    Memory (part number)GALAX HOF 3200 8Gb x 2
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 580 8Gb
    MonitorEizo EV2451 + Samsung Syncmaster 2343BWX
    Storage #1Crucial MX300 525Gb
    Storage #2WD Blue 1Tb HDD
    CPU CoolerStock (Wraith Spire RGB)
    CaseFractal Design Define C
    Power SupplyCorsair RMi 650W
    Keyboard ThunderX3 TK50
    Mouse Logitech G400s
    OS Windows 10 Home
    Network RouterNetgear R6220

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by bloodstorm123 View Post
    Yeah i have a 1600x and im on an old BIOS. The new BIOS's that are coming out only improve the 3000 series of processors and will not benefit from our old chips. Just stay on an old bios.
    How old is your BIOS? I'm actually still using one from 2017, just updated once when I received the new PC, lol

  2. #1342
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by Freelancer167 View Post
    How old is your BIOS? I'm actually still using one from 2017, just updated once when I received the new PC, lol
    I believe i am using version 4602. Anything after that they were mostly updates to make the board compatible with the next gen.

  3. #1343
    New ROGer Array yuz85 PC Specs
    yuz85 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG STRIX B350-F GAMING
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 5 3600
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-16GFX
    Graphics Card #1AMD RX Vega 64-LC (Liquid Cooled)
    MonitorAcer 27" XF270HUA FreeSync IPS 144Hz
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 850 500GB SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
    CaseFractal Design Define C
    Power SupplySapphire FirePSU 625W
    OS Windows 10
    yuz85's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    no more updates? :sad:

  4. #1344
    ROG Member Array Freelancer167 PC Specs
    Freelancer167 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG STRIX B350-F GAMING
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1700
    Memory (part number)GALAX HOF 3200 8Gb x 2
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 580 8Gb
    MonitorEizo EV2451 + Samsung Syncmaster 2343BWX
    Storage #1Crucial MX300 525Gb
    Storage #2WD Blue 1Tb HDD
    CPU CoolerStock (Wraith Spire RGB)
    CaseFractal Design Define C
    Power SupplyCorsair RMi 650W
    Keyboard ThunderX3 TK50
    Mouse Logitech G400s
    OS Windows 10 Home
    Network RouterNetgear R6220

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by yuz85 View Post
    when i update my bios i download from site and then put it somewhere easy to find to flash from bios, ive also used the flash by internet option wich works great,

    before i upgraded to 3600 i had 1200 with latest bios, no problem running older gen with new bios that i know of, some motherboards says that you cant update if u run old gen

    hope it helps
    I'm still using the ancient BIOS haha ... if I update I will do it in the holidays since this PC is needed for working, just in case there's something wrong

  5. #1345
    ROG Enthusiast Array Whiplash-RoG PC Specs
    Whiplash-RoG PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus RoG STRIX B350-F Gaming
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 5 3600
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX CMK16GX4M2B3000C15
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte RX580 Gaming 4G
    Storage #1Crucial MX500 500GB
    Storage #2WD Caviar Blue 1TB
    CPU CoolerDeepCool Gammaxx GT
    CaseRaidMax Cobra ATX-502WBG
    Power SupplySeasonic S12II 520W Bronze
    OS Windows 10 Professional x64
    Whiplash-RoG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    53

    AGESA 1.0.0.4? plus other issues.

    Quote Originally Posted by yuz85 View Post
    no more updates? :sad:
    Yeah, was hoping they would release 1.0.0.4 for this board. Maybe it's still in the works.

    I finally upgraded to a Ryzen 3600 a few days ago. So far, I find the high voltages and temperatures a bit uncomfortable. My 1600 rarely exceeded 60C, while the 3600 goes to 72C on the same cooler. I'm planning to reseat the cooler and apply different paste just to be safe.

    Also, I'm having issues with installing an NVME drive. The board simply isn't detecting it. Any advice?

  6. #1346
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by Whiplash-RoG View Post
    Yeah, was hoping they would release 1.0.0.4 for this board. Maybe it's still in the works.

    I finally upgraded to a Ryzen 3600 a few days ago. So far, I find the high voltages and temperatures a bit uncomfortable. My 1600 rarely exceeded 60C, while the 3600 goes to 72C on the same cooler. I'm planning to reseat the cooler and apply different paste just to be safe.

    Also, I'm having issues with installing an NVME drive. The board simply isn't detecting it. Any advice?
    No issues running the 3600 on the latest 5220 BIOS, 3200Mhz Corsair and Samsung 860 NVme. I also used the stock cooler from my old R5 1600 and found the the temps a little uncomfortable but nothing alarming. I have since upgraded it to the gammaxx gte and temps are excellent. You have to understand that the voltage activity of the 3600 is very different from the 1600. Its almost GPU like the way it switches voltage quickly dynamically, max temp for these CPUS are 95c. Of course you wanna keep them nothing more than 80c at max load. Dont worry about idle temps as much, reseat your cooler use a better thermal paste.

    Waiting for AM4 1.0.0.4, hopefully Asus releases it because a few other manufacturers have for their B350 parts

  7. #1347
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Equinox187 PC Specs
    Equinox187 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG STRIX B350-F GAMING
    ProcessorRyzen 3600
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL'S Trident Z RGB 3000Mhz
    Graphics Card #1Zotac GTX 1070
    Storage #1Viper VPN100 512GB nvme
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Loop
    Power SupplyEVGA 650w Gold Modular
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Equinox187's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    109

    Quote Originally Posted by Whiplash-RoG View Post
    Yeah, was hoping they would release 1.0.0.4 for this board. Maybe it's still in the works.

    I finally upgraded to a Ryzen 3600 a few days ago. So far, I find the high voltages and temperatures a bit uncomfortable. My 1600 rarely exceeded 60C, while the 3600 goes to 72C on the same cooler. I'm planning to reseat the cooler and apply different paste just to be safe.

    Also, I'm having issues with installing an NVME drive. The board simply isn't detecting it. Any advice?
    I updated to a 3600 several months back and noticed the same as you, I was not expecting higher temps given that i was using a custom loop with fresh coolant and thermal paste, I even did what you are thinking and re-applied the paste to no change, at that time i was running stock CPU settings and it was running hotter than my old OC 1600, in any case i started digging looking into voltages and stuff and in HWiNO64 under gaming or simply watching YouTube it was sucking up as high as 1.475v continually, after that i downloaded ryzen master to play with OC settings, I usually use the bios to set this but for testing master works well, and so I was able to get a totally stable 4100Mhz manual OC at a voltage of just 1.3v and temps noticeably shot down, I then did 4200MHz all core at just 1.35v and again totally stable with far lower temps than stock.

    The way the 3600 works is one core will go as close to 4.2 as it can while the other sit at 4.1 and whoever it was be it AMD or ASUS over did it on the auto voltage or perhaps overly stability cautious so as soon as it boosts it demands pretty much max power even when its not needed to ensure stability, for me I tested manual 4.2 at 1.35v vs 4.1 at 1.3v and there was pretty much no real world performance difference, so i went with the manual OC of 4.1 and a voltage of 1.3v and its been cool and stable ever since.

    If you are not comfortable messing with OC via bios as they have that dumb offset setting rather than actual voltage, download the ryzen master and you can set profiles so you can soft manual OC and test it.

  8. #1348
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    I use my 3700X fixed at 4Ghz, 1.1volts. The MB overvolts to 1,2volts but that's OK. The temperatures don't exceed 65C and there's no stress on CPU fans. I wish only silence.
    With the last Bios 5220 by default CPU + PBO 1 core jumps up to 44,5 multiplier, 3 to 44,3 and 1 up to 44. And the two CPU fans and my other fans in the case change their speed constantly and tease my silence in the room. The temperature go to 75-77C at full load.

  9. #1349
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by Corecom View Post
    I use my 3700X fixed at 4Ghz, 1.1volts. The MB overvolts to 1,2volts but that's OK. The temperatures don't exceed 65C and there's no stress on CPU fans. I wish only silence.
    With the last Bios 5220 by default CPU + PBO 1 core jumps up to 44,5 multiplier, 3 to 44,3 and 1 up to 44. And the two CPU fans and my other fans in the case change their speed constantly and tease my silence in the room. The temperature go to 75-77C at full load.
    How were you able to overclock it? My friend has the same cpu and mobo but we can't figure out how to manually overclock it because in the cpu core ratio its just greyed out for whatever reason. We also updated the BIOS to 5220.

  10. #1350
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Any news on the AGESA 1.0.0.4 update for this board?

Page 135 of 136 FirstFirst ... 35 85 125 133 134 135 136 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •