Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 44
  1. #31
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array unknownmiscreant PC Specs
    unknownmiscreant PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell E430s (i7)
    MotherboardCrosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1700X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-16GFX (Currently clocked 3466MHz)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX1070 FTW
    Sound CardAsus Strix Soar
    Monitor2x Dell U2412M
    Storage #1Intel 540s
    Storage #2Intel 520
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy Evo
    CaseCorsair 460x
    Power SupplyEVGA 850 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G610 Cherry MX Brown
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Mouse Pad Logitech G640
    Headset/Speakers Custom built sound system
    OS Win 10
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthawk

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    180

    Strange it only appears to be renesas controllers. I wonder whether other controllers such as asmedia work? Looking at HWinfo, the onboard asmedia usb 3.1 controller runs at x2 mode off the chipset.

    Also seems that the chipset may support 5 PCIe 1x slots... Strange there are only 4 available on the board...

    Edit: come to think of it, try disable the asmedia usb 3.1 controller to see if that sorts it.

  2. #32
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    174

    I already tried to disable the usb 3.1 controller, it does not fix anything. The only way I have managed to get the Renesas card working perfectly is by installing it on the second x16 slot, but it makes the video card work at x8.

    I'm not a motherboard engineer, but logic says me that if the card works fine on the x16 slot, it should also work on the x4 slot, it's just a x4 card. But there must be some kind of PCI Express enumeration black magic in the background that makes it fail.

  3. #33
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array unknownmiscreant PC Specs
    unknownmiscreant PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell E430s (i7)
    MotherboardCrosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1700X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-16GFX (Currently clocked 3466MHz)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX1070 FTW
    Sound CardAsus Strix Soar
    Monitor2x Dell U2412M
    Storage #1Intel 540s
    Storage #2Intel 520
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy Evo
    CaseCorsair 460x
    Power SupplyEVGA 850 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G610 Cherry MX Brown
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Mouse Pad Logitech G640
    Headset/Speakers Custom built sound system
    OS Win 10
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthawk

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    180

    I'm no MB engineer either, but it might be a generic flaw with the x370 chipset. Although I'd say its more likely something to do with the way the C6H handles enumeration. Strange asus haven't fixed it yet.

  4. #34
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array unknownmiscreant PC Specs
    unknownmiscreant PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell E430s (i7)
    MotherboardCrosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1700X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-16GFX (Currently clocked 3466MHz)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX1070 FTW
    Sound CardAsus Strix Soar
    Monitor2x Dell U2412M
    Storage #1Intel 540s
    Storage #2Intel 520
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy Evo
    CaseCorsair 460x
    Power SupplyEVGA 850 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G610 Cherry MX Brown
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Mouse Pad Logitech G640
    Headset/Speakers Custom built sound system
    OS Win 10
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthawk

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    180

    Quote Originally Posted by unknownmiscreant View Post
    Also seems that the chipset may support 5 PCIe 1x slots... Strange there are only 4 available on the board...
    I realized the stray PCIe lane is likely for the M.2 Wifi slot under the IO cover... silly me...

  5. #35
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array unknownmiscreant PC Specs
    unknownmiscreant PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell E430s (i7)
    MotherboardCrosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1700X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-16GFX (Currently clocked 3466MHz)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX1070 FTW
    Sound CardAsus Strix Soar
    Monitor2x Dell U2412M
    Storage #1Intel 540s
    Storage #2Intel 520
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy Evo
    CaseCorsair 460x
    Power SupplyEVGA 850 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G610 Cherry MX Brown
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Mouse Pad Logitech G640
    Headset/Speakers Custom built sound system
    OS Win 10
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthawk

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    180

    I updated to 1701 last night, and found a PCIe ARI support option in the AMD CBS. The help string is "Enables alternative routing ID interpretation." Not sure if this will help. But I don't have any 2x or 4x cards so have no way of testing it. Its in the NBIO options.
    Last edited by unknownmiscreant; 11-05-2017 at 10:27 PM.

  6. #36
    ASUS HQ Service Rep Array Bill@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    433

    Quote Originally Posted by Juanlo View Post
    I already tried to disable the usb 3.1 controller, it does not fix anything. The only way I have managed to get the Renesas card working perfectly is by installing it on the second x16 slot, but it makes the video card work at x8.

    I'm not a motherboard engineer, but logic says me that if the card works fine on the x16 slot, it should also work on the x4 slot, it's just a x4 card. But there must be some kind of PCI Express enumeration black magic in the background that makes it fail.
    Hello Juanlo
    Thank you for your inquiry. About this bug , can you help filling out the form in the link below?
    I'll pass this to our tech team directly for further investigation and analysis.
    https://www.asuswebstorage.com/navig...4CE6F0A8BFC04Y
    Please email the completed form to Bill2_Chang@asus.com
    Also, please provide any screenshots and photos available that would show this matter.
    Thank you for your feedback and have a nice day

  7. #37
    ROG Member Array jotakinhan PC Specs
    jotakinhan PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Lenovo Z50-75
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair 6 Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 1700x
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14-8GFX
    Graphics Card #1MSI Radeon RX Vega 64 Liquid
    MonitorSamsung U28E590D
    Storage #1Kingston HyperX 120GB SSD
    Storage #2WD Black 6TB HDD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
    CaseThermaltake Armor+
    Power SupplyCorsair RM 750x
    Keyboard Prodige Radiance
    OS Windows 10 x64
    Accessory #1 Gelid Speed Touch 6 Fan controller
    Accessory #2 Akasa Interconnect EX (problem with disconnecting)
    jotakinhan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    VIA card kinda works...

    The VIA usb 3.0 card i mentioned earlier arrived today. It initially works, but once i detach a device and try to plug it back it no longer gets detected... Works again only after reboot. Also when shutting down the computer windows hangs to the "Shutting down" text and eventually reboots. happens with drivers and no drivers installed. Might be a problem with my other software or front panel though... At least i know Renesas controller does not work with ryzen mobos while VIA controller works.

  8. #38
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array lightknightrr PC Specs
    lightknightrr PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VI Hero WiFi
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen-7 1800X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-32GTZ
    Graphics Card #1Radeon Vega Frontier Edition
    Sound CardHT Omega eClaro
    MonitorSamsung 4K
    Storage #1Samsung NVMe SSD 960 PRO 1TB
    Storage #2Crucial MX200 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseThermaltake Chaser Mk-1 (Modified)
    Power SupplyThermaltake Toughpower DPS G RGB 1500W Titanium
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB PLATINUM
    Mouse Corsair Scimitar Pro RGB
    Mouse Pad Corsair Gaming MM600 Dual Sided Aluminum Gaming Mouse Pad
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-bit OEM
    Accessory #1 Firewire Expansion Card
    Accessory #2 Black Magic Intensity Pro 4K
    Accessory #3 Mailiya USB 3.0 5-Port Expansion Card
    lightknightrr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    144

    You switched from NEC to VIA? That's a step backwards. VIA is junk (not that they weren't there for AMD in the early days, bless them...but AMD started designing their own chipsets for a reason...).

    I'm currently using this card in my machine: https://www.amazon.com/Mailiya-Expan...expansion+card

    It's a NEC / Renesas card.

    Putting that aside, have you tried updating the firmware on your cards? Station Drivers / Driver Station (whatever it's called) has flash and driver updates for NEC / Renesas cards, even if the OEM hasn't released any.

    As to whether the NEC drivers are better than the MS ones...the jury is out on that one.

    Also, have you applied the DCOM fix? That might be affecting things.

  9. #39
    ROG Member Array jotakinhan PC Specs
    jotakinhan PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Lenovo Z50-75
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair 6 Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 1700x
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14-8GFX
    Graphics Card #1MSI Radeon RX Vega 64 Liquid
    MonitorSamsung U28E590D
    Storage #1Kingston HyperX 120GB SSD
    Storage #2WD Black 6TB HDD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
    CaseThermaltake Armor+
    Power SupplyCorsair RM 750x
    Keyboard Prodige Radiance
    OS Windows 10 x64
    Accessory #1 Gelid Speed Touch 6 Fan controller
    Accessory #2 Akasa Interconnect EX (problem with disconnecting)
    jotakinhan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Quote Originally Posted by lightknightrr View Post
    You switched from NEC to VIA? That's a step backwards. VIA is junk (not that they weren't there for AMD in the early days, bless them...but AMD started designing their own chipsets for a reason...).

    I'm currently using this card in my machine: https://www.amazon.com/Mailiya-Expan...expansion+card

    It's a NEC / Renesas card.

    Putting that aside, have you tried updating the firmware on your cards? Station Drivers / Driver Station (whatever it's called) has flash and driver updates for NEC / Renesas cards, even if the OEM hasn't released any.

    As to whether the NEC drivers are better than the MS ones...the jury is out on that one.

    Also, have you applied the DCOM fix? That might be affecting things.
    I have tried everything for the renesas card. Doesn't work if it is not in the 8x slot meant for secondary gpu, and having something in that slot limits gpu to 8x. Renesas card itself is fine (tested in bulldozer system).

    I uninstalled ASUS Ai charger and it seems to have fixed problems with the VIA card, for now at least.

  10. #40
    ASUS HQ Service Rep Array Bill@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    433

    Quote Originally Posted by Juanlo_ View Post
    TL;DR: PCI Express USB card does not work on bottom PCI Express slot (rated at Gen3 4x on the manual). It works on secondary PCI Express slot, but then video card works at 8x.


    I have a Ryzen build with the following components:

    - Asus Crosshair VI Hero (BIOS 1403)
    - Ryzen 1800X (default speed)
    - 32 GB G.Skill DDR4-3200 (at 2133 Mhz)
    - Samsung 960 Evo 512 GB (NVME M.2)
    - 2 x Samsung 840 Evo 1 TB (RAID 0)
    - NVIDIA Titan X Pascal (PCIEX16/X8_1)

    Everything is working perfectly (I still haven't tried to clock my RAM at 3200 Mhz, that will come later), but I need a dedicated USB 3.0 card with independent ports for bandwidth consuming USB devices, so I purchased a Startech card with 4 independient USB controllers at 5 Gb/s each:

    https://www.startech.com/Cards-Adapt...rt~PEXUSB3S44V

    This card uses a PCI Express 3.0 x4 bus, so I installed it on the bottom PCI express slot, the one named PCIEX4_3. The manual says that plugging a PCI Express 3.0 x4 card disables the three PCI Express x1 slots, and I'm ok with that because I'm not using more expansion cards.

    So I plug the card, attach the power connector to it and boot my computer. When Windows 10 starts, I get 4 new USB host controllers, that's correct, but Windows can't start these devices (code 10). They are named "Generic Host USB controller xHCI compatible" and they can't be started. By the way, Windows takes quite a while to load (it was lightning fast before plugging the card). So I try everything I can think of: remove the device from control panel, detect again, disable, enable, reboot... I even downloaded the driver from the card manufacturer, which is older and not meant for Windows 10. When installing that driver the card is recogniced as Renesas USB 3.0, but it still gets the alert icon and the Error Code 10.

    Attachment 65999

    So I try to move the card to another slot, and I plug it under the grphics card, into PCIEX8_2, the slot meant for dual video cards, and then Windows boots really fast, as before, and the card is successfully recogniced as Renesas USB 3.0 host controller (4 of them) and it works fine. The problem of using this slot is that my graphics card is reduced to PCI Express x8, so I want the USB card on the other slot. I move devices again, and the problem happens again: card is recogniced as generic USB 3.0 that can't be started by Windows.

    I tried to change PCIEX values in BIOS, there is an option to force that slot into x4 mode, but it does not help. The USB card simply doesn't work on the bottom PCI Express slot. As far as I know, this slot only shares bandwidth with the 3 PCIEX 1x slots so it should work fine if there are no more expansion cards.

    Is my PCIEX4_3 slot defective? Any ideas? I'm willing to reinstall Windows, but don't know if it may help.
    Hello Juanlo_

    Our team has confirmed this bug with Summit CPU and has reported this issue to AMD.
    Meanwhile, please use the CPU PCIE slot in order to use the USB card.
    Thank you for using Asus and have a nice day

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •