Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    68

    noctua d15 daammmnnn u....

    I just finished building my rig and was happy that everything fit in my case nzxt s340 elite even with both fans of the noctua nh-d15.
    Then I realized in order to use both fans I have to put the ram sticks in slot 1 and 2 which is not dual channel.

    So my dilemma is either use the nh-d15 with 1 fan or use the wrong ram slots...is there a difference in performance or are there compatibility issues when the ram is placed wrong. I know it is suppose to be placed like said in the manual but I couldn't find any info what happens when its not placed correctly? Because everything seems to working fine...



    My System:

    Asus Crosshair VI Hero(AC-WIFI)
    Ryzen 1700
    Gskil Flare X 3200 16GB
    MSI GTX 1080 ti
    Samsung 960 EVO 500gb **
    Last edited by Ocelot; 07-18-2017 at 07:51 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array SinartNZ PC Specs
    SinartNZ PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1800x
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMU16GX4M2C3200C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080Ti Founders Edition
    MonitorAcer X34
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 1TB NVMe M.2
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i
    CaseNZXT H440 Black
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2 750W 80+ Gold Full Modular
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset Logitech 633
    OS Windows 10 X64 Pro

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    53

    Easy fix that I've done on a few builds with this cooler is to have the fan on the ram side sit higher up on the cooler to allow for ram clearance.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    68

    Quote Originally Posted by SinartNZ View Post
    Easy fix that I've done on a few builds with this cooler is to have the fan on the ram side sit higher up on the cooler to allow for ram clearance.
    that is unfortunately not possible because my case is only for 160mm coolers and d15 is 165mm so it was a tight fit to begin with.*
    In order to fit the fans must sit very low...*

  4. #4
    ex-ASUS Employee Array Eleiyas PC Specs
    Eleiyas PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS 970 PRO GAMING/AURA
    ProcessorAMD FX 8370
    Memory (part number)Corsair 8GB XMS3 PC3-12800 1600MHz DDR3
    Graphics Card #1XFX AMD Radeon HD 6950 - 2G
    MonitorLG Flatron E2240T 21.5'' 1080p Monitor
    Storage #1Samsung 1TB 7200RPM 32MB
    Storage #2Seagate Barracuda 2TB 7200RPM 64MB 6GB/s
    CPU CoolerAMD Wraith Cooler
    CaseNZXT Lexa S
    Power SupplyCorsair CX600 600W (Bronze)
    Keyboard Logitech Wireless AZERTY
    Mouse Microsoft Wireless
    Headset Evil Witchcraft II Gaming Headset (Black/Red)
    Mouse Pad Wild Wolf Hunter
    Headset/Speakers 4Gamers 2.1 Sound-System
    OS Windows 10 Professional - Creator's
    Network RouterZiggo

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    378

    did you try posting with the ram in slots 1 and 2?

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Vlada011 PC Specs
    Vlada011 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V E10 (BIOS 1903)
    ProcessorIntel®i7-5820K (4.5GHz 1.325V)
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M4A2666C15
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX1080Ti Poseidon
    Sound CardSound Blaster ZxR
    MonitorSamsung P2450H
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO PLUS 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB/WD Black 2TB
    CPU CoolerEK RGB Monoblock RVE10
    CaseLian Li PC-O11 WXC
    Power SupplyEVGA 1200 P2
    Keyboard Deck 87 Francium PRO - MX Brown DS PBT
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Mouse Pad Steeseries QCK
    Headset/Speakers CREATIVE T5900 5.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 v1903
    Accessory #1 iPhone SE Space Grey
    Accessory #2 EK XRES D5 Revo 100 Glass PWM + CoolstreamPE 360
    Accessory #3 Noctua NF-A12x25 PWM x3 (radiator)
    Vlada011's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    1,462

    Use Noctua NH-D15 with single fan.
    Two fan could bring lower temps but can't change nothing important.


  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    68

    Quote Originally Posted by Eleiyas@ASUS View Post
    did you try posting with the ram in slots 1 and 2?
    Yes that will work even with 2 fans BUT the order of the ram slots are 1+3 and 2+4....the second fan is blocking slot 3 and 4

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •