Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Rampage V Extreme and compatible RAM

    Hi everyone,

    I recently started getting BSODs and after running Memtest86 it showed that my RAM modules were getting errors.

    I am running Corsair CMK16GX4M4A2800C16 (16GB 4x4 @2800 MHz) and thinking that if was to get a new set why not make it bigger and faster?

    The problem is that the only set of RAM I can find in shops is CMK32GX4M4B3333C16 (32GB 4x8 @3333 MHz) and it doesn't say that it supports X99 chipsets. Will this work on the Rampage V Extreme at the advertised speeds? The official vendor list for R5E doesn't show anything faster than 2133 MHz in the 32 GB territory... What's the point of DDR4 if I run it at DDR3 speeds?... And I wouldn't be able to find those old RAM modules in shops anyway.

    Can someone advise on any other fast 32GB DDR4 RAM sets that would work on R5E? It doesn't have to be Corsair. It only has to me low profile because I'm using a beefy Noctua air cooler.
    Last edited by PabloDXXL; 07-25-2017 at 11:20 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array davemon50 PC Specs
    davemon50 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY-DH72 (17") and Asus G752VT-DH74 (17")
    MotherboardAsus ROG LGA2011-v3 Rampage V Edition 10, x99 EATX
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6950X Extreme 10-core 25MB Cache 3.0 GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX Red DDR4 DRAM 64GB-4x16 3333 (CMK64GX4M4B3333C16R)
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Graphics Card #2Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Sound CardAsus SupremeFX Hi-Fi Audio DAC
    Monitor(2) Dell UltraSharp U2515H 25-inch monitors
    Storage #1(4) SSD's - Samsung 960 & 970 1TB M.2, Intel 535 480G, Intel 510 250G
    Storage #2(3) HDD's - Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB 3.5-in SATA III 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H80
    CaseCorsair Obsidian Series 650D Black, ATX, Mid Tower
    Power SupplyCorsair Digital AXi-Series AX1200i (1200W) 80+ Platinum Rating
    Keyboard Logitech Wireless K360
    Mouse Logitech Wireless MX Anywhere 2
    Headset HyperX Cloud II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
    davemon50's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    48
    Posts
    1,125

    Hi Pablo, welcome to the forum. Let me take a stab at responding to you on this. For reference, I own an RVE10 board, and am running this board with:
    Corsair Vengeance LPX Red DDR4 DRAM 64GB-4x16 3333 (CMK64GX4M4B3333C16R).

    This is the "big brother" kit to what you suggested above as perhaps moving to. 64GB in lieu of 32GB, and red. I also have a thick profile AIO cooler so needed the low height profile RAM to accommodate it in the the case, just like you.

    I run this memory at 3000 MHz, not at 3333. I am a moderate overclocker, i.e. I'm one of those that will overclock in the simplest manner possible, and then live with what I get. Not extreme. So I tried that memory at 3333 at first, it was unstable, then I backed it down to 2800 I think, it was stable, then I increased to 3000 MHz, it was still stable, and that's where I left it. I think I could probably get 3200 out of it if I tried, and maybe even the rated 3333 if I tweaked all the settings manually. But all I did was run the stock XMP profile to get the 3000 MHz. Anyway, the system is very stable running like this.

    You probably already know all this, but perhaps glance over THIS POST that I made about a good method of selecting the right RAM.

    Now that's all anecdotal, but I can tell you it works well on the RVE10. What I cannot tell you if it will perform the same on an R5E, but I am suspecting it would be similar. This is a sweet memory kit. Check those compatibility lists first though.
    Last edited by davemon50; 07-25-2017 at 03:10 PM.
    Davemon50

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Thanks for the tip Davemon50!

    64GB is way more than I need. I don't even really require 32GB for my gaming needs. However I've just found a local shop that sells CMK32GX4M4C3000C15. This one is rated at 3000 MHz and it says it supports X99 chipsets on the official site. I think I'll give that one a go.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array davemon50 PC Specs
    davemon50 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY-DH72 (17") and Asus G752VT-DH74 (17")
    MotherboardAsus ROG LGA2011-v3 Rampage V Edition 10, x99 EATX
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6950X Extreme 10-core 25MB Cache 3.0 GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX Red DDR4 DRAM 64GB-4x16 3333 (CMK64GX4M4B3333C16R)
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Graphics Card #2Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Sound CardAsus SupremeFX Hi-Fi Audio DAC
    Monitor(2) Dell UltraSharp U2515H 25-inch monitors
    Storage #1(4) SSD's - Samsung 960 & 970 1TB M.2, Intel 535 480G, Intel 510 250G
    Storage #2(3) HDD's - Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB 3.5-in SATA III 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H80
    CaseCorsair Obsidian Series 650D Black, ATX, Mid Tower
    Power SupplyCorsair Digital AXi-Series AX1200i (1200W) 80+ Platinum Rating
    Keyboard Logitech Wireless K360
    Mouse Logitech Wireless MX Anywhere 2
    Headset HyperX Cloud II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
    davemon50's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    48
    Posts
    1,125

    Yeah 64GB is way more than I need too. But it's a good feeling to install it and never have to worry, and also have options available like Ramcache, etc. Plus it looks nice in the case too.
    Davemon50

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    I can't get the CMK32GX4M4C3000C15 work faster than 2800 MHz both using XMP and manual mode. Memtest86 runs it successfully at 2998 MHz in XMP. Must be something wrong with my processor OC settings. I have a 5820k processor overclocked to 4.2 GHz. It can do 4.4 GHz but I don't like the idle temps and under load temps get too close to the no-no zone with my air cooler.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array davemon50 PC Specs
    davemon50 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY-DH72 (17") and Asus G752VT-DH74 (17")
    MotherboardAsus ROG LGA2011-v3 Rampage V Edition 10, x99 EATX
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6950X Extreme 10-core 25MB Cache 3.0 GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX Red DDR4 DRAM 64GB-4x16 3333 (CMK64GX4M4B3333C16R)
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Graphics Card #2Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Sound CardAsus SupremeFX Hi-Fi Audio DAC
    Monitor(2) Dell UltraSharp U2515H 25-inch monitors
    Storage #1(4) SSD's - Samsung 960 & 970 1TB M.2, Intel 535 480G, Intel 510 250G
    Storage #2(3) HDD's - Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB 3.5-in SATA III 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H80
    CaseCorsair Obsidian Series 650D Black, ATX, Mid Tower
    Power SupplyCorsair Digital AXi-Series AX1200i (1200W) 80+ Platinum Rating
    Keyboard Logitech Wireless K360
    Mouse Logitech Wireless MX Anywhere 2
    Headset HyperX Cloud II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
    davemon50's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    48
    Posts
    1,125

    You might want to start a fresh thread for that in the Overclocking section of the forum. I can't help you with that but someone else might be able to. Fact is, you might never see 3000 MHz, it's not gauranteed, and is system dependent.
    Davemon50

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •