Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array Akhlut PC Specs
    Akhlut PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix X370 F Gaming
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 1700
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C15D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 1070
    MonitorAcer XF270HU
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H55 QE
    CaseCorsair 460X RGB
    Power SupplyCorsair 750HXi
    Keyboard Corsair K65 RGB RapidFire
    Mouse Logitech G403
    Headset Audio-Technica ATH-A700X
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z625 Speaker System
    OS Windows 10 Home (x64)

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Exclamation ROG Strix X370 F Gaming Overclocking Bugs

    I'd like to share some bugs I've found with this motherboard and hopefully they can be fixed.

    M.2 Slot stops detecting any drive when overclocking Base Clock (APU Frequency)
    If the APU Frequency is overclocked to a value over 101Mhz, you will not be able to utilize a M.2 drive.

    CPU ratio locking at 15.5
    When using the default APU Frequency of 100 (never tried with other values) and use a ratio higher than 38 (haven't tried lower values), when loading into your system the CPU ratio will show as 15.5 in any asus monitoring software (1.55Ghz), Windows Task Manager will show the correct speed expected from the ratio set in the BIOS, but benchmarking proves the CPU ratio has gone down to the value of 15.5

    Motherboard supplying more or less CPU voltage when using an offset depending on the CPU ratio
    I had to compensate for this. In my system I'm using a APU Frequency of 125Mhz, Performance Core Boost disabled, C States enabled, a CPU Load Line Calibration of Level 3, Optimized CPU Power Phase Control & 100% CPU Current Capability.
    Depending on the CPU ratio I set I will get voltage readings that are way over or way less than the max CPU voltage set. For example with a CPU ratio of over 30 and a CPU Voltage of 1.3875V, I get a voltage reading of 1.426V on idle and a voltage of 1.442V on full load. With a CPU ratio of 28 and a CPU Voltage of 1.3875, I get a voltage reading of 1.345V and a voltage of 1.365 on full load.
    Last edited by Akhlut; 07-21-2017 at 06:33 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array marblesrx7 PC Specs
    marblesrx7 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 7 3700X
    Memory (part number)F4-320016D-16GTZ
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1080 FTW
    MonitorLG 34" 21:9
    Storage #1HP 920EX 1TB NVME
    Storage #2SAMSUNG 960 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerXSPC RAYSTORM
    CaseNZXT S340 Red
    Power SupplyKINGWIN LAZER 1000W
    Keyboard REDRAGON YAMA
    Mouse RAZER NAGA
    Headset Logitech G230 Headset
    Mouse Pad Corsair
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z506 Speakers
    OS Windows 10 x64
    marblesrx7's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    52

    Might wanna check out my thread, seen similar behavior. File a bug report for the 15.5 multiplier lock. @ASUS will work it out it just might take time. Welcome to the forums!!

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...-2Ghz-Problem)

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array Akhlut PC Specs
    Akhlut PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix X370 F Gaming
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 1700
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C15D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 1070
    MonitorAcer XF270HU
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H55 QE
    CaseCorsair 460X RGB
    Power SupplyCorsair 750HXi
    Keyboard Corsair K65 RGB RapidFire
    Mouse Logitech G403
    Headset Audio-Technica ATH-A700X
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z625 Speaker System
    OS Windows 10 Home (x64)

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by marblesrx7 View Post
    Might wanna check out my thread, seen similar behavior. File a bug report for the 15.5 multiplier lock. @ASUS will work it out it just might take time. Welcome to the forums!!

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...-2Ghz-Problem)
    Where do I file bug reports for this motherboard model? Thanks.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array syldon PC Specs
    syldon PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus crosshair VII
    Processor2700X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z 32GB DDR4 F4-4000C18Q-32GTZKW running at 3466 14-14-14-28
    Graphics Card #1MSI 1080
    Graphics Card #2MSI 1080
    Sound Cardon board
    MonitorAsus PB287Q X 2
    Storage #1480gb M2 samsung m961
    Storage #21tb 850 evo and 2tb 850 evo
    CPU Coolercorsair hydro 110i
    Casegeneric
    Power Supplytitanium 1600w platinum
    Keyboard corsair strafe
    Mouse logitech g700
    Headset logitech g930
    Mouse Pad corsair duo
    OS Windows 10 po
    Network RouterVirgin media super hub 2
    Accessory #1 https://imgur.com/KRQSu70
    syldon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    198

    Quote Originally Posted by Akhlut View Post
    Where do I file bug reports for this motherboard model? Thanks.
    In the bios release sticky at the top of the discussion page.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array Akhlut PC Specs
    Akhlut PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix X370 F Gaming
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 1700
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C15D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 1070
    MonitorAcer XF270HU
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H55 QE
    CaseCorsair 460X RGB
    Power SupplyCorsair 750HXi
    Keyboard Corsair K65 RGB RapidFire
    Mouse Logitech G403
    Headset Audio-Technica ATH-A700X
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z625 Speaker System
    OS Windows 10 Home (x64)

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Isn't that only for C6H motherboards?

  6. #6
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Quote Originally Posted by Akhlut View Post
    I'd like to share some bugs I've found with this motherboard and hopefully they can be fixed.

    M.2 Slot stops detecting any drive when overclocking Base Clock (APU Frequency)
    If the APU Frequency is overclocked to a value over 101Mhz, you will not be able to utilize a M.2 drive.
    Not a bug. You're overclocking the PCIe bus and the drive doesnt like it. Many high-perf M.2 drives don't like operating beyond base PCIe freq.

    Quote Originally Posted by Akhlut View Post
    CPU ratio locking at 15.5
    When using the default APU Frequency of 100 (never tried with other values) and use a ratio higher than 38 (haven't tried lower values), when loading into your system the CPU ratio will show as 15.5 in any asus monitoring software (1.55Ghz), Windows Task Manager will show the correct speed expected from the ratio set in the BIOS, but benchmarking proves the CPU ratio has gone down to the value of 15.5
    This has been patched for the C6H. It's a matter of time before it gets patched for other boards.



    Quote Originally Posted by Akhlut View Post
    Motherboard supplying more or less CPU voltage when using an offset depending on the CPU ratio
    I had to compensate for this. In my system I'm using a APU Frequency of 125Mhz, Performance Core Boost disabled, C States enabled, a CPU Load Line Calibration of Level 3, Optimized CPU Power Phase Control & 100% CPU Current Capability.
    Depending on the CPU ratio I set I will get voltage readings that are way over or way less than the max CPU voltage set. For example with a CPU ratio of over 30 and a CPU Voltage of 1.3875V, I get a voltage reading of 1.426V on idle and a voltage of 1.442V on full load. With a CPU ratio of 28 and a CPU Voltage of 1.3875, I get a voltage reading of 1.345V and a voltage of 1.365 on full load.
    With offset modes, the base voltage changes according to the ratio (thats how offset VID stacks are set up). This is normal.


    -Raja

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array Akhlut PC Specs
    Akhlut PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix X370 F Gaming
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 1700
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C15D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 1070
    MonitorAcer XF270HU
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H55 QE
    CaseCorsair 460X RGB
    Power SupplyCorsair 750HXi
    Keyboard Corsair K65 RGB RapidFire
    Mouse Logitech G403
    Headset Audio-Technica ATH-A700X
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z625 Speaker System
    OS Windows 10 Home (x64)

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    Not a bug. You're overclocking the PCIe bus and the drive doesnt like it. Many high-perf M.2 drives don't like operating beyond base PCIe freq.

    This has been patched for the C6H. It's a matter of time before it gets patched for other boards.


    With offset modes, the base voltage changes according to the ratio (thats how offset VID stacks are set up). This is normal.


    -Raja
    So it depends on the M.2 drive?

    The update just got released to fix the locked ratio.

    I noticed the CPU voltage behaves differently depending on many configurations, I need to compensate and use the DIGI+ VRM settings accordingly to get consistent voltages, but the higher the ratio, the harder it is to keep a consistent voltage where it doesn't drop during full load, using Level 5 isn't great because sometimes it will go +.066V more than desired.

    Thank you for clarifying.

  8. #8
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Quote Originally Posted by Akhlut View Post
    So it depends on the M.2 drive?

    Drive and platform, but for the most part, PCIe drives don't have much margin past default PCIe frequency.

    Quote Originally Posted by Akhlut View Post
    So it depends on the M.2 drive?
    I noticed the CPU voltage behaves differently depending on many configurations, I need to compensate and use the DIGI+ VRM settings accordingly to get consistent voltages, but the higher the ratio, the harder it is to keep a consistent voltage where it doesn't drop during full load, using Level 5 isn't great because sometimes it will go +.066V more than desired.

    Thank you for clarifying.
    No problem. As I said, the base VID will change, so you've got to compensate - typically one would compensate by adjusting VID. Compensating via LLC is not advised, as what you're seeing reported is only a crude representation of what's actually happening (one needs an oscilloscope to see it). On these boards LLC 1 or 2 are best.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    This has been patched for the C6H. It's a matter of time before it gets patched for other boards.
    Was it included in the most recent BIOS for the X370 Strix? I noticed there's a new release out.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array Akhlut PC Specs
    Akhlut PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix X370 F Gaming
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 1700
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C15D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 1070
    MonitorAcer XF270HU
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H55 QE
    CaseCorsair 460X RGB
    Power SupplyCorsair 750HXi
    Keyboard Corsair K65 RGB RapidFire
    Mouse Logitech G403
    Headset Audio-Technica ATH-A700X
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z625 Speaker System
    OS Windows 10 Home (x64)

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    No problem. As I said, the base VID will change, so you've got to compensate - typically one would compensate by adjusting VID. Compensating via LLC is not advised, as what you're seeing reported is only a crude representation of what's actually happening (one needs an oscilloscope to see it). On these boards LLC 1 or 2 are best.
    The locked CPU ratio at 15.5 continues! This time it's caused by the CPU voltage. Everything was working fine util I decided to go over my current overclock of CPU ratio of 38 (with base clock of 100Mhz) and a voltage of 1.3875V (using offset not fixed), if the voltage is over 1.42V (maybe even over 1.41V) the CPU ratio locks down again, so I can't try higher overclocks.
    Last edited by Akhlut; 07-22-2017 at 05:37 PM.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •