cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Anyone get new vegas or Fall Out3 to run successfully with maximus 9 formula MB

Pillsrgood2
Level 7
Hello, I am new to this. Just built my first system, and I am having extreme difficulties to get fallout 3 and new vegas to run without crashing, anyone using the maximus IX Formula motherboard, I would greatly appreciate any knowledge you have to make it happen? I am running windows 10, I have narrowed it down to the motherboard and I am guessing that it something to do with some specific driver that is causing the issue, although I couldn't begin to say as to which one? My system is otherwise running perfectly stable for everything else just those titles. I have even tried 6 different video drivers with clean installs current and past with zero change. I know it works, because my previous motherboard ran it just fine, with the same hardware and uefi install.
9 REPLIES 9

Korth
Level 14
You've narrowed game crashes down to motherboard fault/incompatibility by guessing it's a driver issue?

Is it a clean Win10 install?
Have you changed any BIOS settings?
Have you overclocked anything?

You say your "system is otherwise running perfectly stable for everything else" ... have you run any benchmarks or stress/burn-in tests?

I'm guessing you have an unstable overclock or misconfigured memory clock. You could have bad hardware, but that's far less likely than misconfigured hardware (or software).

Please list GPU brand/model, PSU brand/model, and exact memory part/model in your system specs. Describe your cooling for chassis, CPU, and GPU card(s). Need this sort of info to properly troubleshoot your games, lol.
"All opinions are not equal. Some are a very great deal more robust, sophisticated and well supported in logic and argument than others." - Douglas Adams

[/Korth]

Eleiyas
Level 10
I wouldn't say it is the board that is causing the issues, especially if it's drivers;