Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array antony209494 PC Specs
    antony209494 PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1700
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200 CL-16
    Graphics Card #1ASUS R9 290X DirectCUII
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorSamsung S22B350
    Storage #1Samsung 840 EVO 250GB
    Storage #2Western Digital WD10EARS-00MVWB0
    CPU CoolerAntec Kuhler H2o 620
    Power SupplyCorsair GS 800 2013 edition
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit

    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Help with Vdroops causing instability

    Okay...So after some research I realized that the newer bios updates (after 1201) have rendered my OC unstable at my old settings. I used to run the R7 1700 at 4.00 GHz with 1.375 voltage and it was fine. The newer updates forced me to also use LLC level 4. Problem is even with LLC there are still voltage drops which cause crashes but not during gaming or stress testing. During these tasks VCORE readings (HWinfo64) range from 1.373 to 1.395 (I know for a fact that 1.373 is enough to maintain 4Ghz on my chip). So that's fine. Problem is when the PC is idling it still drops the voltage as low as 1.352.

    So here is how the crash occurs: As I said it is fine during gaming but if I minimize a game with Alt+Tab and try to do something else or just leave it like that for some time, it will crash after sometime with the same WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR I got when I was not using LLC (denoting unstable OC due to Vdroops). In other words, these drops to 1.352 become a problem when I have a game running in the backround (happened with Dragon Age Origins, Dragon Age 2 and Fifa 17).

    These drops to 1.352 when idling happen no matter the voltage setting or the LLC setting is (I have tried even up to 1.4 Volts with LLC 3 and this results in a scary 1.43V under load but it still dials down to 1.352 when idle). So what can I do? Vcore must never go below 1.373 no matter what to ensure total stability. Is there a way to force a constant voltage (and I mean really constant-never changing voltage no matter the load)?

    Any help will be greatly appreciated!


  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array MrPhil17 PC Specs
    MrPhil17 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)MacBook Pro Retina 15" Mid 2014
    MotherboardAsus Maximus IV Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 2600k
    Memory (part number)F3-14900CL9Q-16GBSR
    Graphics Card #1nVidia GeForce GTX 580
    Sound CardIntegrated
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Pro 256GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D14
    OS Windows 10 Home 64Bit

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    76

    I use LLC4 with 1,4000V. Lowest voltage is 1,3750V. Let's see if it help.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array antony209494 PC Specs
    antony209494 PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1700
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200 CL-16
    Graphics Card #1ASUS R9 290X DirectCUII
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorSamsung S22B350
    Storage #1Samsung 840 EVO 250GB
    Storage #2Western Digital WD10EARS-00MVWB0
    CPU CoolerAntec Kuhler H2o 620
    Power SupplyCorsair GS 800 2013 edition
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit

    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Quote Originally Posted by MrPhil17 View Post
    I use LLC4 with 1,4000V. Lowest voltage is 1,3750V. Let's see if it help.
    I don't want to set it that high! It's gonna bump up to more than 4.3 like that and I only have a single block AIO. Thermals will probably become an issue. Isn't there a way to force a constant voltage regardless of load?

  4. #4
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,367

    Hi antony209494

    To force a constant voltage set the windows power plan to high performance.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Hi antony209494

    To force a constant voltage set the windows power plan to high performance.
    Didnt know that. Will have to test further between power profiles.

    I had my LLC set to level 4 to try and keep voltage more even. Was thinking of trying level 5. LLC settings definitely help with stress tests.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array antony209494 PC Specs
    antony209494 PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1700
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200 CL-16
    Graphics Card #1ASUS R9 290X DirectCUII
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorSamsung S22B350
    Storage #1Samsung 840 EVO 250GB
    Storage #2Western Digital WD10EARS-00MVWB0
    CPU CoolerAntec Kuhler H2o 620
    Power SupplyCorsair GS 800 2013 edition
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit

    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Hi antony209494

    To force a constant voltage set the windows power plan to high performance.
    I always run it on high performance. Doesn't help in that case.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array MrPhil17 PC Specs
    MrPhil17 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)MacBook Pro Retina 15" Mid 2014
    MotherboardAsus Maximus IV Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 2600k
    Memory (part number)F3-14900CL9Q-16GBSR
    Graphics Card #1nVidia GeForce GTX 580
    Sound CardIntegrated
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Pro 256GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D14
    OS Windows 10 Home 64Bit

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    76

    Quote Originally Posted by antony209494 View Post
    I don't want to set it that high! It's gonna bump up to more than 4.3 like that and I only have a single block AIO. Thermals will probably become an issue. Isn't there a way to force a constant voltage regardless of load?
    Keep in mind that you will have a constant 1,4V only in idle / low usage. When your CPU start to work hard will work with 1,3750V. With my Corsair Hydro 100i V2 i got an average of 65° under stress test and only 40/45° during gaming sessions. I have this temps with a 4.0GHz overclock.

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by MrPhil17 View Post
    Keep in mind that you will have a constant 1,4V only in idle / low usage. When your CPU start to work hard will work with 1,3750V. With my Corsair Hydro 100i V2 i got an average of 65° under stress test and only 40/45° during gaming sessions. I have this temps with a 4.0GHz overclock.

    Well after some testing. High Performance in windows still causes the drops under stress test load e.g Prime 95.

    Setting LLC to level 5 in BIOS keeps it level. Anything under that leads to drops during stress tests. Level 4 may be good for many with a small drop.

    I am guessing this behaviour is due to the new BIOS updates? Made me realise I need to pay attention to the LLC settings more. Guides were giving the advice of leaving it at auto which does not keep the voltage level on Load for me.

    An example: http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...en,5011-2.html
    Last edited by Choze; 08-24-2017 at 03:24 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •