Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array amalkumar PC Specs
    amalkumar PC Specs
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO
    ProcessorRyzen 1700 3.9Ghz
    Memory (part number)CMK32GX4M2B3000C15
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1070
    MonitorAcer
    Storage #1Samsung SSD
    Storage #2Segate
    CPU CoolerHydro Series™ H115i 280mm Extreme Performance Liquid CPU Cooler
    CaseCosair 750D
    Power SupplyCosari RM 750

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    42

    Lightbulb CROSSHAIR VI HERO Less Cold boot bug /Cold boot start, stop, start problem

    CROSSHAIR VI HERO Less Cold boot bug /Cold boot start, stop, start problem

    DRAM 2133MHZ WORKING FINE.

    DRAM OVER CLOCKING 2400MHZ/2666MHZ/2933MHZ Cold boot BUG

    HEPL ME

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array Big_Gray PC Specs
    Big_Gray PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Zenpad Z580CA
    MotherboardCrosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMU16GX4M2C320016R
    Graphics Card #1ROG STRIX RX VEGA56 O8G
    MonitorAcer XF270HU 144Hz IPS
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo
    Storage #2Samsung 960 Evo
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseCorsair Air 540
    Power SupplySeasonic 850W Titanium
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
    Headset N/A
    Mouse Pad Corsair
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Monitors
    OS Windows10 x64
    Network RouterTP-Link VR2800
    Accessory #1 Oculus Rift VR
    Accessory #2 Synology DS216+II
    Accessory #3 Synology DS116

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    64

    Hey Amal,

    Does this happen only when the system has been completely powered down, psu off? When you reconnect power and press the start button the system starts up, shuts down, then restarts and boots up?

    I think this is normal when memory speed is changed from default 2133 setting. The microcode is adjusting settings to run the memory at the selected speed. I too have never experienced this behaviour before!

    Can someone confirm that this start/stop/start behaviour is normal please.
    Last edited by Big_Gray; 07-23-2017 at 07:37 PM.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by amalkumar View Post
    CROSSHAIR VI HERO Less Cold boot bug /Cold boot start, stop, start problem

    DRAM 2133MHZ WORKING FINE.

    DRAM OVER CLOCKING 2400MHZ/2666MHZ/2933MHZ Cold boot BUG

    HEPL ME
    +1

    end when I secs another speed mainbord allways give error 24 (all bios has this problem)

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array Sketchy_kam PC Specs
    Sketchy_kam PC Specs
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR HERO IV
    ProcessorRYZEN 1700
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL FLARE X - F4-2400C15D-16GFX
    Graphics Card #1ROG STRIX GTX 1080 O8G 11GBPS
    MonitorAOC U3277PWQU 32in 4K AMVA Pro-Line
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 250GB M.2 NVMe SSD MZ-V6E250BW
    Storage #2Seagate Barracuda 2TB ST2000DM006
    CPU CoolerAMD WRAITH SPIRE - AIR
    CaseNZXT S340 ELITE MATTE BLACK
    Power SupplyCORSAIR HX750i 80+ PLATINUM
    OS WINDOWS 10 64BIT PRO
    Sketchy_kam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Im having a similar issue, with a cold boot. PC is completely turned off, flick power switch on and hit power button. PC starts to boot, then within a couple of seconds I hear a slight click, the PC restarts and then boots normally.

    Is this something that can be adjusted in the bios? is this a normal operation?

    cheers,

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    103
    Posts
    1,017

    Normal. No option I have seen in bios that will affect this.

    My Asus P5K Premium (had since 2007) will post twice, been like that always regardless of stock/OC, etc.

    My Asus Maximus VII Ranger if power is switched off on PSU prior to power up from shutdown will post twice, when power has not been switched off on PSU it will post only once. So the C6H behaves the same as my M7R Z97 Intel board.
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R5 3600 - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero Wifi - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3800MHz C16 - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array Sketchy_kam PC Specs
    Sketchy_kam PC Specs
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR HERO IV
    ProcessorRYZEN 1700
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL FLARE X - F4-2400C15D-16GFX
    Graphics Card #1ROG STRIX GTX 1080 O8G 11GBPS
    MonitorAOC U3277PWQU 32in 4K AMVA Pro-Line
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 250GB M.2 NVMe SSD MZ-V6E250BW
    Storage #2Seagate Barracuda 2TB ST2000DM006
    CPU CoolerAMD WRAITH SPIRE - AIR
    CaseNZXT S340 ELITE MATTE BLACK
    Power SupplyCORSAIR HX750i 80+ PLATINUM
    OS WINDOWS 10 64BIT PRO
    Sketchy_kam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post
    Normal. No option I have seen in bios that will affect this.

    My Asus P5K Premium (had since 2007) will post twice, been like that always regardless of stock/OC, etc.

    My Asus Maximus VII Ranger if power is switched off on PSU prior to power up from shutdown will post twice, when power has not been switched off on PSU it will post only once. So the C6H behaves the same as my M7R Z97 Intel board.
    Legend! That's what I was hoping to hear. Thanks for taking the time to respond, very helpful and much appreciated. Cheers mate!
    😁

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array MrPhil17 PC Specs
    MrPhil17 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)MacBook Pro Retina 15" Mid 2014
    MotherboardAsus Maximus IV Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 2600k
    Memory (part number)F3-14900CL9Q-16GBSR
    Graphics Card #1nVidia GeForce GTX 580
    Sound CardIntegrated
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Pro 256GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D14
    OS Windows 10 Home 64Bit

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    76

    With my "old" Maximus IV Extreme i don't have this kind of issue. I use DDR3 @ 1866MHz with it (with X.M.P. profile), and it boot successfully at first time. My C6H instead need to reboot THREE times! i'm stuck in this situation since i bought it in March. This isn't normal. AMD or ASUS or both must fix this issue asap.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    103
    Posts
    1,017

    Differing "Setups" can be different, perhaps state how you have system setup and what RAM, RAM MHz, etc, etc.

    i) a post prior to PSU having power differs to a post where PSU had no power.
    ii) a post from "Sleep/Resume" differs from above.
    iii) a restart also differs from post cases stated above.

    So there are at least 4 differing situations relating to how mobo will post. Perhaps state which type of post is leading to "My C6H instead need to reboot THREE times!".

    The Maximus IV Extreme may also behave the same in differing post situations. IMO the post process on Ryzen is more like a X99 system, a lot more is going on at post than "mainstream CPU" past Intel boards IMO.
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R5 3600 - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero Wifi - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3800MHz C16 - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array MrPhil17 PC Specs
    MrPhil17 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)MacBook Pro Retina 15" Mid 2014
    MotherboardAsus Maximus IV Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 2600k
    Memory (part number)F3-14900CL9Q-16GBSR
    Graphics Card #1nVidia GeForce GTX 580
    Sound CardIntegrated
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Pro 256GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D14
    OS Windows 10 Home 64Bit

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    76

    Quote Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post
    So there are at least 4 differing situations relating to how mobo will post. Perhaps state which type of post is leading to "My C6H instead need to reboot THREE times!".
    If we are "talking" about cold boot bug I suppose it's a boot from powered off psu/power stripe.

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array Sketchy_kam PC Specs
    Sketchy_kam PC Specs
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR HERO IV
    ProcessorRYZEN 1700
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL FLARE X - F4-2400C15D-16GFX
    Graphics Card #1ROG STRIX GTX 1080 O8G 11GBPS
    MonitorAOC U3277PWQU 32in 4K AMVA Pro-Line
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 250GB M.2 NVMe SSD MZ-V6E250BW
    Storage #2Seagate Barracuda 2TB ST2000DM006
    CPU CoolerAMD WRAITH SPIRE - AIR
    CaseNZXT S340 ELITE MATTE BLACK
    Power SupplyCORSAIR HX750i 80+ PLATINUM
    OS WINDOWS 10 64BIT PRO
    Sketchy_kam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    So looking at my current scenario, and based on the above discussion my system does the following:

    Cold Start (PSU off at back of system and power off at wall switch)
    • Switch at wall on
    • Switch at PSU on
    • PC power button depressed
    • PC boots, after 3 sec reboots and boots to windows

    Non Cold start
    • PC is shutdown
    • Switch on PSU on
    • PC power button depressed
    • PC boots directly to windows

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •