Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    ASUS LiveDash OLED Display




    The ASUS PRIME X299-DELUXE product page shows four LiveDash screenshots (Fan, Frequency, Temperature, Voltage) and says
    "Prime X299-Deluxe includes LiveDash, a built-in OLED dashboard that displays custom information such as system temperatures, CPU frequency, fan speed and error messages — so everything you need to know is available at a glance."

    LiveDash isn't advertised on the product pages for PRIME X299-A, STRIX X299-E GAMING, TUF X299 MARK 1, or TUF X299 MARK 2.

    What other motherboards will feature LiveDash? Anything ROG?

    What are LiveDash OLED specs, display resolution, fps refresh? Is it only monochrome, is it RGB backlit through AURA?
    I can't determine the OLED panel resolution (or read the interface board label) from the online links, the video is poorly-lit and blurred, the marketing images are doctored, not enough useful detail.

    How is it addressed from software/firmware (chipset, USB, ROG_EXT, AURA_RGB, etc)? Does it have onboard memory or is it fed through running driver code? Will it support user-customized messages/images/animations or is it locked to a limited collection of ASUS-programmed screens? Will it be supported through AURA SDK or other public domain code libraries?
    Last edited by Korth; 07-24-2017 at 07:23 AM.

  2. #2
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    If it isn't on the product page for a board, it doesn't have the feature. The screen is quite small. First gen, so not perfect. As for features, are you looking at purchasing X299?

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    @Raja -
    Yeah, I'm starting to seriously need more cores, lol, so eventually upgrading a couple machines from Intel X99 to Intel X299 (or to AMD X399). Both primarily used for work but the one at home also used for gaming, and I prefer to keep matching hardwares on both (which sometimes makes life simpler in many little ways, lol). I'm always tempted to grab the latest ASUS/ROG offerings but I'm deliberately waiting out (another season or two?) until the mobos and firmwares mature. X299/X399 is not an upgrade to me (no matter how much more cores/threads, lanes, GHz, GB, etc) until it's proven it can run as stable as my existing systems, and it's expensive enough (times two) that I'd expect about 2-3 years service life (without the first year being full of debug).

    LiveDash is a gimmick, but it's one I find appealing. Hardware-monitor display built onto the hardware itself, brilliant! It'd be nice to have one built onto every big chip, heatsink, cooler, pump, fan, and power block, but since we don't live in Star Trek I'd happily accept just one such display on the mobo itself (well, maybe also one on the top of each GPU card, lol).

    The X299-DELUXE page advertises LiveDash in the "Make it your own" section, alongside RGB and AURA features, a cosmetic customization feature. Which is exactly what LiveDash is. I'm more interested in the functional potential, using LiveDash to actually indicate technical information I'd consider useful. So I'm curious about its specific capabilities and how to use them. At a glance, it's just some sort of 128x32 I2C monochrome OLED part, but can it be user-configured, can it be controlled through software, will it be lumped into the AURA SDK, etc?

    A great first gen appearance, I think, even though it seems strange to me that it's on a PRIME board instead of on a ROG/EXTREME board, but then we all know a few more ROG X299 mobos are in the pipeline and we haven't seen their final build specs yet. And gamers will always demand bigger and bling-blingier things, lol, at ever-diminishing prices, so I can understand ASUS trying to quietly slip LiveDash under the ROG radar while so many other big ROG projects are already underway.

  4. #4
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Quote Originally Posted by Korth View Post
    @Raja -

    LiveDash is a gimmick, but it's one I find appealing. Hardware-monitor display built onto the hardware itself, brilliant! It'd be nice to have one built onto every big chip, heatsink, cooler, pump, fan, and power block, but since we don't live in Star Trek I'd happily accept just one such display on the mobo itself (well, maybe also one on the top of each GPU card, lol).
    Hi,

    1) You can assign whatever temp sensors AI Suite presents. I'm trying to add more to the pool via WMI, but that's an ongoing battle to open things up.

    2) Res is 128 X 32. Customization/replacement of the GIF file should be allowed in the latest software (or next update).


    3) Already requested SDK functionality, but not sure we'll get it. I'd like it to be fully accessible.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719


  6. #6
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    DIY rocks, doesn't it?

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    How to customise that OLED LOGO with my own on Rampage VI Extreme? What is the software for that? Tnx!

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array Aysberg PC Specs
    Aysberg PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG RAMPAGE VI EXTREME
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-7980XE
    Memory (part number)4 x F4-3200C14-16GTZ
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1080 Ti GAMING OC
    Sound CardCreative SB Zx
    Monitor1x LG 34GK950G / 2 x HP DreamColor Z27x
    Storage #12 x Samsung NVMe 970 EVO 2TB / Samsung NVMe 3 x 960 EVO 1TB
    Storage #24 x SanDisk SDSSDHII960G
    CPU Coolercuplex kryos NEXT
    CaseLianLi PC-A75X
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1200i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
    Mouse Roccat KONE XTD Optical
    Headset AKG K712 + ModMic 5
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 1809
    Network RouterMikroTik CRS317-1G-16S+RM
    Accessory #1 Mellanox ConnectX-3
    Accessory #2 Asus Hyper M.2 X16 Card

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    59

    Aquacomputer has the VISION OLED displays on several of there product and also as a standalone version. Got one on my cuplex kryos NEXT.

    I think this is better than the R6E onboard one, only downside is the not perfect software and no direct integration of the ASUS sensors.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    Hi,

    1) You can assign whatever temp sensors AI Suite presents. I'm trying to add more to the pool via WMI, but that's an ongoing battle to open things up.

    2) Res is 128 X 32. Customization/replacement of the GIF file should be allowed in the latest software (or next update).


    3) Already requested SDK functionality, but not sure we'll get it. I'd like it to be fully accessible.


    Can we customise that LiveDash GIF logo now and how to do it? Tnx!

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    32
    Posts
    165

    @gajbotron - Try using the Asus LiveDash software.

    @Korth - I know I have a x399 and there is a live dash on it however I rarely look at it, or my case, or my pc for that matter.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •