Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 36
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array PinoyBoy120 PC Specs
    PinoyBoy120 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus IX Hero
    ProcessorIntel i7-7700k
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) (CMU16GX4M2C3200C16R)
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1080ti - MSI Gaming X
    MonitorASUS VG24BQE
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerThermaltake WATER 3.0 Dual Riing RGB, 240mm AIO Watercooling System
    CaseThermaltake Versa n24
    Power SupplyEVGA 750 GQ

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Need help getting to POST

    Right now, I've only got the essentially things I need to boot up the system: RAM the CPU and the HSF and of course then PSU. The RGB lights on the mobo come up when I hit the switch on the power supply but when I press the START button on the mobo it doesn't do anything. No fans spinning and no codes at the top right. I called support almost a week ago and they suggested I replace the motherboard. Well I did just that and got the results I've written above which is the same thing I experienced with the first motherboard. Is it safe to assume that maybe the PSU is the cause of it? I can't really test the power supply on other rigs and I don't have a reader to check its voltages. I've also yet to try breadboarding it, I'll probably get to that later today.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array davemon50 PC Specs
    davemon50 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY-DH72 (17") and Asus G752VT-DH74 (17")
    MotherboardAsus ROG LGA2011-v3 Rampage V Edition 10, x99 EATX
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6950X Extreme 10-core 25MB Cache 3.0 GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX Red DDR4 DRAM 64GB-4x16 3333 (CMK64GX4M4B3333C16R)
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Graphics Card #2Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Sound CardAsus SupremeFX Hi-Fi Audio DAC
    Monitor(2) Dell UltraSharp U2515H 25-inch monitors
    Storage #1(3) SSD's - Samsung 960 1TB M.2, Intel 535 480G, Intel 510 250G
    Storage #2(3) HDD's - Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB 3.5-in SATA III 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H80
    CaseCorsair Obsidian Series 650D Black, ATX, Mid Tower
    Power SupplyCorsair Digital AXi-Series AX1200i (1200W) 80+ Platinum Rating
    Keyboard Logitech Wireless K360
    Mouse Logitech Wireless MX Anywhere 2
    Headset HyperX Cloud II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
    davemon50's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    45
    Posts
    1,002

    Are you sure your 20-pin and 12 volt power connectors are fully seated into the PSU and motherboard and also in the correct orientations?

    Does that PSU have a voltage selector, and if so are you on the correct voltage?
    Last edited by davemon50; 07-26-2017 at 12:42 AM.
    Davemon50

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Does sound like a PSU issue. Would be great if you could test your PSU in another system or borrow a PSU to test your system.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array PinoyBoy120 PC Specs
    PinoyBoy120 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus IX Hero
    ProcessorIntel i7-7700k
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) (CMU16GX4M2C3200C16R)
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1080ti - MSI Gaming X
    MonitorASUS VG24BQE
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerThermaltake WATER 3.0 Dual Riing RGB, 240mm AIO Watercooling System
    CaseThermaltake Versa n24
    Power SupplyEVGA 750 GQ

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Quote Originally Posted by davemon50 View Post
    Are you sure your 20-pin and 12 volt power connectors are fully seated into the PSU and motherboard and also in the correct orientations?

    Does that PSU have a voltage selector, and if so are you on the correct voltage?
    they're in all the way I'm sure. I heard the clips snap on both the 24 pin and 8 pin. I even gave an extra an extra push to the pins themselves after the snap and still nothing. My psu doesn't have a red voltage switch, I've checked.*

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array davemon50 PC Specs
    davemon50 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY-DH72 (17") and Asus G752VT-DH74 (17")
    MotherboardAsus ROG LGA2011-v3 Rampage V Edition 10, x99 EATX
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6950X Extreme 10-core 25MB Cache 3.0 GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX Red DDR4 DRAM 64GB-4x16 3333 (CMK64GX4M4B3333C16R)
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Graphics Card #2Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Sound CardAsus SupremeFX Hi-Fi Audio DAC
    Monitor(2) Dell UltraSharp U2515H 25-inch monitors
    Storage #1(3) SSD's - Samsung 960 1TB M.2, Intel 535 480G, Intel 510 250G
    Storage #2(3) HDD's - Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB 3.5-in SATA III 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H80
    CaseCorsair Obsidian Series 650D Black, ATX, Mid Tower
    Power SupplyCorsair Digital AXi-Series AX1200i (1200W) 80+ Platinum Rating
    Keyboard Logitech Wireless K360
    Mouse Logitech Wireless MX Anywhere 2
    Headset HyperX Cloud II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
    davemon50's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    45
    Posts
    1,002

    Sounds like you might need to try next what Chino suggests above.
    Davemon50

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array nmdelrio PC Specs
    nmdelrio PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus IX Code BIOS 1009
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-7700K 4.2 GHz (4.5 GHz Turbo)
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3200C16
    Graphics Card #1msi GeForce GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H100i GTX
    CaseCooler Master Cosmos II Ultra Tower Case
    Power SupplyCorsair Professional Series Gold Hi-Perf 1200W
    Keyboard Razer Black Widow
    Mouse Razer Diamondback
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus Control
    Headset/Speakers Bose Companion 5
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Accessory #1 Razer Tartarus Gaming Keypad

    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Does the fan PSU fan spin up? If not, check your power wall outlet. Sometimes you have to check the obvious.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array PinoyBoy120 PC Specs
    PinoyBoy120 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus IX Hero
    ProcessorIntel i7-7700k
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) (CMU16GX4M2C3200C16R)
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1080ti - MSI Gaming X
    MonitorASUS VG24BQE
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerThermaltake WATER 3.0 Dual Riing RGB, 240mm AIO Watercooling System
    CaseThermaltake Versa n24
    Power SupplyEVGA 750 GQ

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Quote Originally Posted by davemon50 View Post
    Sounds like you might need to try next what Chino suggests above.
    so I was able to find another power supply from a rig that I'm able to turn on and use and tried using that to power the motherboard. However I'm getting similar results. Nothing spins but this time when I press the power button, I think I can faintly hear a little click coming from I think is the HSF. it sounds like it's about to spin but immeadiately stops. The second *power supply that I used this time is another 750W that again, I know works for sure but it's still not working and thus, still no POST.
    Last edited by PinoyBoy120; 07-26-2017 at 11:36 AM.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array davemon50 PC Specs
    davemon50 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY-DH72 (17") and Asus G752VT-DH74 (17")
    MotherboardAsus ROG LGA2011-v3 Rampage V Edition 10, x99 EATX
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6950X Extreme 10-core 25MB Cache 3.0 GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX Red DDR4 DRAM 64GB-4x16 3333 (CMK64GX4M4B3333C16R)
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Graphics Card #2Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Sound CardAsus SupremeFX Hi-Fi Audio DAC
    Monitor(2) Dell UltraSharp U2515H 25-inch monitors
    Storage #1(3) SSD's - Samsung 960 1TB M.2, Intel 535 480G, Intel 510 250G
    Storage #2(3) HDD's - Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB 3.5-in SATA III 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H80
    CaseCorsair Obsidian Series 650D Black, ATX, Mid Tower
    Power SupplyCorsair Digital AXi-Series AX1200i (1200W) 80+ Platinum Rating
    Keyboard Logitech Wireless K360
    Mouse Logitech Wireless MX Anywhere 2
    Headset HyperX Cloud II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
    davemon50's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    45
    Posts
    1,002

    Can you power another loaded computer, or a hair dryer, from that wall outlet? Power source is never without question.

    I suspect the wiring from your PSU to the board. Move them around, replug them, make sure they are going in the correct direction. Switch them for a different set of wires.

    Extreme followup steps, remove all but one RAM stick, reseat your CPU, and detach your motherboard and reattach to ensure you didn't get a short somewhere with a piece of metal or a loose wire or something very strange.

    It couldn't be two boards from different batches with the exact same odd manufacturing fault. You'd have better chances of winning the lotto.
    Davemon50

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array Lightbringer PC Specs
    Lightbringer PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Prime X370-PRO
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1700x
    Memory (part number)GSkill Trident Z RBG F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix GeForce GTX1080TI-O11G
    Sound CardCreative Soundblaster Z
    MonitorAsus ROG PG279Q 68,6 cm
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO MZ-V6E500BW Internal Solid State Drive (500GB)
    Storage #2Crucial MX300 2TB SATA 2.5 Inch Solid State Drive - CT2050MX300SSD1
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15 SE-AM
    CaseFractal Design Define r5
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-650KM3 X650 80 Plus Gold
    Keyboard Asus ROG Claymore
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius 2
    Headset Beyerdynamic DT-990 Pro / ModMic
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus Gaming Mouse Mat- Small (Speed Edition)
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z506 5.1
    OS Windows 10 Home Edition
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U AC1900 Black Diamond Dual-Band WLAN Router
    Accessory #1 Asus PCE-AC68 PCIe WLAN Card

    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    60

    I had the exact same thing once.

    It turned out i was dumb enough to forget the MB spacings in my rig, so everytime i put a current on it, it was shorting. I tried reseating memory, CPU, GPU and tried 3 different PSU's. Only after trying to get it to work outside the case, i noticed my stupid mistake.

    I know, i know.. pretty stupid but hey, i was in a hurry

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array PinoyBoy120 PC Specs
    PinoyBoy120 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus IX Hero
    ProcessorIntel i7-7700k
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) (CMU16GX4M2C3200C16R)
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1080ti - MSI Gaming X
    MonitorASUS VG24BQE
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerThermaltake WATER 3.0 Dual Riing RGB, 240mm AIO Watercooling System
    CaseThermaltake Versa n24
    Power SupplyEVGA 750 GQ

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Quote Originally Posted by Lightbringer View Post
    I had the exact same thing once.

    It turned out i was dumb enough to forget the MB spacings in my rig, so everytime i put a current on it, it was shorting. I tried reseating memory, CPU, GPU and tried 3 different PSU's. Only after trying to get it to work outside the case, i noticed my stupid mistake.

    I know, i know.. pretty stupid but hey, i was in a hurry
    I kind of got the feeling that something may be shorting it. What was shorting yours?

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •