Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array PakRatJR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    40

    RGB extension cables?

    Would anyone know where to get a RGB extension cable like the one that is included with the C6H? The only thing I can ever seem to find are all fan extension cables or the occasional 3 way splitter.

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    35

    Quote Originally Posted by PakRatJR View Post
    Would anyone know where to get a RGB extension cable like the one that is included with the C6H? The only thing I can ever seem to find are all fan extension cables or the occasional 3 way splitter.
    These worked fine for me:
    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

    Both ends are female so you might need these too:
    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array PakRatJR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    40

    Cool. Thanks

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array davemon50 PC Specs
    davemon50 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY-DH72 (17") and Asus G752VT-DH74 (17")
    MotherboardAsus ROG LGA2011-v3 Rampage V Edition 10, x99 EATX
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6950X Extreme 10-core 25MB Cache 3.0 GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX Red DDR4 DRAM 64GB-4x16 3333 (CMK64GX4M4B3333C16R)
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Graphics Card #2Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Sound CardAsus SupremeFX Hi-Fi Audio DAC
    Monitor(2) Dell UltraSharp U2515H 25-inch monitors
    Storage #1(3) SSD's - Samsung 960 1TB M.2, Intel 535 480G, Intel 510 250G
    Storage #2(3) HDD's - Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB 3.5-in SATA III 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H80
    CaseCorsair Obsidian Series 650D Black, ATX, Mid Tower
    Power SupplyCorsair Digital AXi-Series AX1200i (1200W) 80+ Platinum Rating
    Keyboard Logitech Wireless K360
    Mouse Logitech Wireless MX Anywhere 2
    Headset HyperX Cloud II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
    davemon50's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    45
    Posts
    999

    Quote Originally Posted by bachastain View Post
    Yeah I used the same thing, perhaps another brand off Amazon but the same, and they worked. Make sure you don't use one of these as the first connection to the motherboard though, use the connector that comes with the motherboard first, then add one or more these behind it, then your RGB strips.
    Davemon50

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array PakRatJR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    40

    Thanks.

    That is actually why I was looking for more. The LED strips I have and have been finding don't have long enough leads on them to plug directly into the board. I used the included one for one strip on one header but needed another one to put another strip on the second header.

    What was the reason for not using them from the board to the strip?

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    35

    Quote Originally Posted by PakRatJR View Post
    Thanks.
    What was the reason for not using them from the board to the strip?
    FYI, I'm using those extensions, connected directly to my 2 motherboard RGB headers. 1 extensions on one header and 2 extensions on the other. No problems.

    It is just a friction fit so it might be easy to accidentally knock it loose. But that's the nature of these 5050 RGB connections. I really wish they had settled on a latching connector.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array PakRatJR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    40

    Cool. As long as they work function wise I am happy, I can work with funky fitment of stuff

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array davemon50 PC Specs
    davemon50 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY-DH72 (17") and Asus G752VT-DH74 (17")
    MotherboardAsus ROG LGA2011-v3 Rampage V Edition 10, x99 EATX
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6950X Extreme 10-core 25MB Cache 3.0 GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX Red DDR4 DRAM 64GB-4x16 3333 (CMK64GX4M4B3333C16R)
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Graphics Card #2Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Sound CardAsus SupremeFX Hi-Fi Audio DAC
    Monitor(2) Dell UltraSharp U2515H 25-inch monitors
    Storage #1(3) SSD's - Samsung 960 1TB M.2, Intel 535 480G, Intel 510 250G
    Storage #2(3) HDD's - Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB 3.5-in SATA III 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H80
    CaseCorsair Obsidian Series 650D Black, ATX, Mid Tower
    Power SupplyCorsair Digital AXi-Series AX1200i (1200W) 80+ Platinum Rating
    Keyboard Logitech Wireless K360
    Mouse Logitech Wireless MX Anywhere 2
    Headset HyperX Cloud II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
    davemon50's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    45
    Posts
    999

    The reason I made the comment was purely anecdotal. I tried using the extensions directly on the RVE10 board, and got no RGB activity from the RGB strips, even with a well-placed snug fit. It wasn't until I used the included wire from the motherboard accessories that I got it to function, and it was immediate, so I know that's what caused it, at least in my case.
    Davemon50

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    35

    Quote Originally Posted by PakRatJR View Post
    Cool. As long as they work function wise I am happy, I can work with funky fitment of stuff
    Be careful of where the arrows are. I put the arrow to the +12 on both ends. They are not keyed so it is real easy to hook them up backward.

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array PakRatJR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    40

    Quote Originally Posted by davemon50 View Post
    The reason I made the comment was purely anecdotal. I tried using the extensions directly on the RVE10 board, and got no RGB activity from the RGB strips, even with a well-placed snug fit. It wasn't until I used the included wire from the motherboard accessories that I got it to function, and it was immediate, so I know that's what caused it, at least in my case.
    Oh, ok. I will keep that in mind with them. Thanks

    Quote Originally Posted by bachastain
    Be careful of where the arrows are. I put the arrow to the +12 on both ends. They are not keyed so it is real easy to hook them up backward.
    Thanks, I did notice that on the strips that I have. I did have to double check a few times when I was hooking them up for testing

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •