Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array Jackwolfskins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    40

    Unhappy Help with W_PUMP conector CH6

    Hi guys , so ive just finished my custom wc build and pluged my pump to the W_Pump conector that aparently supplies enough watts to power my pump , i just can find any info on how that conector works.

    Can i adjust the pump speed ? if so how ?

    And will it turn the board of if pump rpm drops to zero , for example a pump malfunction.

    And should i connect my rad fans to the CPU fan header ? Currently conected to Chassi 1 and 2 connectors.


    Thanks in advance
    -= CROSSHAIR VIII HERO =-
    ASUS STRIX 2080 Super OC
    AMD R7 3800X
    GSKILL TRIDENT Z 3200 CL14 RGB
    SAMSUNG 960 EVO 250GB
    CORSAIR RM650i

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array unknownmiscreant PC Specs
    unknownmiscreant PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell E430s (i7)
    MotherboardCrosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1700X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-16GFX (Currently clocked 3466MHz)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX1070 FTW
    Sound CardAsus Strix Soar
    Monitor2x Dell U2412M
    Storage #1Intel 540s
    Storage #2Intel 520
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy Evo
    CaseCorsair 460x
    Power SupplyEVGA 850 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G610 Cherry MX Brown
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Mouse Pad Logitech G640
    Headset/Speakers Custom built sound system
    OS Win 10
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthawk

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    180

    Quote Originally Posted by Jackwolfskins View Post
    Hi guys , so ive just finished my custom wc build and pluged my pump to the W_Pump conector that aparently supplies enough watts to power my pump , i just can find any info on how that conector works.

    Can i adjust the pump speed ? if so how ?

    And will it turn the board of if pump rpm drops to zero , for example a pump malfunction.

    And should i connect my rad fans to the CPU fan header ? Currently conected to Chassi 1 and 2 connectors.


    Thanks in advance
    I have no idea about the w_pump header. Ill test it when I get home. As for the fans, I'd plug them into the CPU and CPU_OPT headers at the top of the board. For my push-pull setup with a triple rad, I put all of fans on one side onto the CPU header and the fans on the other side onto a chassis fan connector (with hubs of course).

    Be aware that you cannot mix DC and PWM control fans on the CPU and CPU_OPT connectors.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Syaoran PC Specs
    Syaoran PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)MSI GP62 7RD
    MotherboardGigabyte Aorus X470 Gaming 7 WiFi
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1700X @ 3.8GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C15D-16GTZ (4 X 8GB) @ 3333 C14-13-13-13-34
    Graphics Card #1Powercolor Red Dragon Vega 56
    Graphics Card #2Powercolor Red Dragon Vega 56
    MonitorSamsung 49" LC49HG900MNXZA 32:9
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB
    Storage #2Seagate Barracuda Pro 6TB
    CPU CoolerArctic Freezer 360
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Primo SE (Green)
    Power SupplySilverStone Strider ST1200G
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Cherry MX Brown
    Mouse Corsair M65 Pro RGB
    Headset Corsair VOID Pro Wireless RGB
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800 Polaris RGB
    Headset/Speakers Onkyo HT-S7700
    OS Windows 10 Education x64
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68W
    Syaoran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    264

    The AIO Pump header provides enough current for most pumps. It does monitor the RPM of the pump, accurately is to be debated. You will want to disable Q-Fan completely for fans and the pump. This doesn't stop the motherboard though from shutting off the pump and fans for no reason. There is a thread about that mess if you happen to experience that issue. I have my rad fans, all 6 of them for my Arctic Cooling Freezer 360 plugged into a fan hub with that hub connected to the CPU Fan header just to monitor the RPM of the first fan on the hub. Some have resorted to powering their pumps through fan hubs or controllers because of the issue where the board powers them down for no reason at all, causing the computer to shut down because of high temperatures.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array Jackwolfskins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    40

    Quote Originally Posted by Syaoran View Post
    The AIO Pump header provides enough current for most pumps. It does monitor the RPM of the pump, accurately is to be debated. You will want to disable Q-Fan completely for fans and the pump. This doesn't stop the motherboard though from shutting off the pump and fans for no reason. There is a thread about that mess if you happen to experience that issue. I have my rad fans, all 6 of them for my Arctic Cooling Freezer 360 plugged into a fan hub with that hub connected to the CPU Fan header just to monitor the RPM of the first fan on the hub. Some have resorted to powering their pumps through fan hubs or controllers because of the issue where the board powers them down for no reason at all, causing the computer to shut down because of high temperatures.
    Do you know if same happens in the dedicated W_Pump header ?

    Thanks for the warning on the aio_pump conector i have to use the other one because my pump draws 18w.
    -= CROSSHAIR VIII HERO =-
    ASUS STRIX 2080 Super OC
    AMD R7 3800X
    GSKILL TRIDENT Z 3200 CL14 RGB
    SAMSUNG 960 EVO 250GB
    CORSAIR RM650i

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Syaoran PC Specs
    Syaoran PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)MSI GP62 7RD
    MotherboardGigabyte Aorus X470 Gaming 7 WiFi
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1700X @ 3.8GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C15D-16GTZ (4 X 8GB) @ 3333 C14-13-13-13-34
    Graphics Card #1Powercolor Red Dragon Vega 56
    Graphics Card #2Powercolor Red Dragon Vega 56
    MonitorSamsung 49" LC49HG900MNXZA 32:9
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB
    Storage #2Seagate Barracuda Pro 6TB
    CPU CoolerArctic Freezer 360
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Primo SE (Green)
    Power SupplySilverStone Strider ST1200G
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Cherry MX Brown
    Mouse Corsair M65 Pro RGB
    Headset Corsair VOID Pro Wireless RGB
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800 Polaris RGB
    Headset/Speakers Onkyo HT-S7700
    OS Windows 10 Education x64
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68W
    Syaoran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    264

    Quote Originally Posted by Jackwolfskins View Post
    Do you know if same happens in the dedicated W_Pump header ?

    Thanks for the warning on the aio_pump conector i have to use the other one because my pump draws 18w.
    No idea. I haven't used the other pump header but that might be something worth trying out. Wiping out the CMOS tends to fix the AIO header, at least temporarily. Manually setting everything once again kind of sucks.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •