Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 33
  1. #21
    ROG Member Array KillerKowz PC Specs
    KillerKowz PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Sony Vaio E series
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus VIII Ranger
    ProcessorKraby Lake 7700k @ 4.2ghz
    Memory (part number)G Skills RipJaw Series V
    Graphics Card #1Geforce 950
    Monitor50in LG Smart TV
    Storage #1256gb SSD
    Storage #21TB Western Digital
    CPU CoolerCool Master 212 Evo Pro
    Power Supply1050 Thermaltake
    OS Windows 10 64bit

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Okay, the ASUS guy said that it isn't "suggested" that you do that and they can't guarantee that it won't cause damage to the motherboard if it was done that way.

    Tomorrow morning before work I will take the CPU out and hook the power up to it and try to flash it again. Second question, it couldn't be a PSU issue right? I have a 1050w Thermaltake and that should be waaay more than enough to get it going right?

    I am following the exact instructions when I flash, but this time I will try only flashing the 3007 minimum for my CPU instead of the 3401 as the most updated bios and see if that makes a difference.

    I download the Bios,
    Rename to M8R.CAP
    Move M8R.CAP to the root directory of the flash drive,
    plug the USB into the USB port near the Bios button,
    hold the button until it flashes,
    release the button,
    it flashes for three seconds then goes solid
    I turn on the computer,
    the light goes off and I get my 04 qcode.

    If it doesn't work tomorrow I will let you know and we will see the next step after that.

  2. #22
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    Ahhhhh,

    I think you just pointed out the problem.

    After you download it, extract the files to the usb flash drive then rename it.

  3. #23
    ROG Member Array KillerKowz PC Specs
    KillerKowz PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Sony Vaio E series
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus VIII Ranger
    ProcessorKraby Lake 7700k @ 4.2ghz
    Memory (part number)G Skills RipJaw Series V
    Graphics Card #1Geforce 950
    Monitor50in LG Smart TV
    Storage #1256gb SSD
    Storage #21TB Western Digital
    CPU CoolerCool Master 212 Evo Pro
    Power Supply1050 Thermaltake
    OS Windows 10 64bit

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    I unzip it then rename, that was my fault, I knew what i meant in my head when I typed it but then when I read it, it makes less sense. The "renaming" was of the .CAP file after unzipping, not the renaming of the zipped file folder and the moving to the root directory was the process of moving the .CAP file outside the folder. My fault for poor communication.

  4. #24
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    Ok

    What do you say, we'll see how the cpu you ordered works and go from there ?

    Or we can try TeamViewer, maybe you may not be doing the bios file correctly.

    What flash drive do you have and how old is it ?

    I'm leaning towards the bios flash not going right than a faulty board.

  5. #25
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    Personally I've not had luck with the 7700K on a Z170 chipset. I heard the BIOS update story and it just didn't work. Tried on two different M8E boards and the one that I actually got the bios to flash on bricked. Did some rom jockying back and forth to get them back to the previous bios and put a 6700K in there worked fine. Bought Z270 M9F and the 7700K works perfectly. Those that Ive heard of getting them to work they didn't work correctly.

  6. #26
    ROG Member Array KillerKowz PC Specs
    KillerKowz PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Sony Vaio E series
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus VIII Ranger
    ProcessorKraby Lake 7700k @ 4.2ghz
    Memory (part number)G Skills RipJaw Series V
    Graphics Card #1Geforce 950
    Monitor50in LG Smart TV
    Storage #1256gb SSD
    Storage #21TB Western Digital
    CPU CoolerCool Master 212 Evo Pro
    Power Supply1050 Thermaltake
    OS Windows 10 64bit

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    The USB is probably on the older side, 2-4 years old. I don't know exactly because it's one of my partners flash drives. I don't understand how a flash drive can be a reason for the bios not to flash. It's a Cruzer. I have other flash drives but I can't quite understand why one flash drive would be able to flash a bios and another can't when they effectively work the same. Can you potentially elaborate a bit further on that idea?

    Justin, where you able to get the CPU to work after flashing the bios with a more updated bios version? If not then I will most likely just send the motherboard back and wait for another one to come around that is compatible with the 7700k. I guess I'm just confused (probably because my associative brain works in very linear fashion) as to why an 1151 socket motherboard doesn't function with an 1151 CPU. The motherboard says that it supports 6th gen Intel processors but if that's the case, why would they not mention whether or not it can/can not support 7th gen? Instead they come out with bios firmware that "supports" the 7th gen processors that presumably can't be flashed unless you use a 5th or 6th gen processor installed.

  7. #27
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    Your usb flash drive should be ok, I've heard stories some older usb flash drives may not work.

    Would you like to try TeamViewer, I can take a look to see the bios file is done right.

  8. #28
    ex-ASUS Employee Array Eleiyas PC Specs
    Eleiyas PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS 970 PRO GAMING/AURA
    ProcessorAMD FX 8370
    Memory (part number)Corsair 8GB XMS3 PC3-12800 1600MHz DDR3
    Graphics Card #1XFX AMD Radeon HD 6950 - 2G
    MonitorLG Flatron E2240T 21.5'' 1080p Monitor
    Storage #1Samsung 1TB 7200RPM 32MB
    Storage #2Seagate Barracuda 2TB 7200RPM 64MB 6GB/s
    CPU CoolerAMD Wraith Cooler
    CaseNZXT Lexa S
    Power SupplyCorsair CX600 600W (Bronze)
    Keyboard Logitech Wireless AZERTY
    Mouse Microsoft Wireless
    Headset Evil Witchcraft II Gaming Headset (Black/Red)
    Mouse Pad Wild Wolf Hunter
    Headset/Speakers 4Gamers 2.1 Sound-System
    OS Windows 10 Professional - Creator's
    Network RouterZiggo

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    378

    Sorry to piggy-back this thread, but I didn't see mention of the USB being FAT32.

    Not trying to sound condescending here, but you're certain the USB drive is FAT32?

  9. #29
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    Hi Eleiyas

    Yeah I mentioned that in my 2nd post.

    Right click on the flash drive and click properties, beside File System it should show .FAT32.

  10. #30
    ROG Member Array KillerKowz PC Specs
    KillerKowz PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Sony Vaio E series
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus VIII Ranger
    ProcessorKraby Lake 7700k @ 4.2ghz
    Memory (part number)G Skills RipJaw Series V
    Graphics Card #1Geforce 950
    Monitor50in LG Smart TV
    Storage #1256gb SSD
    Storage #21TB Western Digital
    CPU CoolerCool Master 212 Evo Pro
    Power Supply1050 Thermaltake
    OS Windows 10 64bit

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    I am in a frustrated state currently due to some external agitations so I will keep this short and to the point. Yes, I am sure that I formatted the flash drive as FAT32. I also formatted this flash drive two separate times using the windows format tool as FAT32 as that is the default choice. Tomorrow I have three days off of work and will be able to designate some time to checking my motherboard again with the Celeron Processor that came in yesterday afternoon. I will re-post after I have tried again.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •