Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Possible to run G751JY without battery?

    I am having some serious problems with my G751JY, where the battery is always at 0% and won't charge - and on top of that I believe this makes the laptop shut down whenever it gets a little stressed (games, stresstests etc.). I think this is happening because when the laptop is stressed it needs to take some extra energy from the battery, but since my battery is dead the computer turns off. My hope is that if I take out the battery completely that it will stop to try to get energy from any other places than the PSU - which in turn will make my computer usable again.

    So the question is; did anybody try to run their G751JY after completely disconnecting it? Or is there anything else you might think could help my situation?

  2. #2
    ex-ASUS Employee Array Eleiyas PC Specs
    Eleiyas PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS 970 PRO GAMING/AURA
    ProcessorAMD FX 8370
    Memory (part number)Corsair 8GB XMS3 PC3-12800 1600MHz DDR3
    Graphics Card #1XFX AMD Radeon HD 6950 - 2G
    MonitorLG Flatron E2240T 21.5'' 1080p Monitor
    Storage #1Samsung 1TB 7200RPM 32MB
    Storage #2Seagate Barracuda 2TB 7200RPM 64MB 6GB/s
    CPU CoolerAMD Wraith Cooler
    CaseNZXT Lexa S
    Power SupplyCorsair CX600 600W (Bronze)
    Keyboard Logitech Wireless AZERTY
    Mouse Microsoft Wireless
    Headset Evil Witchcraft II Gaming Headset (Black/Red)
    Mouse Pad Wild Wolf Hunter
    Headset/Speakers 4Gamers 2.1 Sound-System
    OS Windows 10 Professional - Creator's
    Network RouterZiggo

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    378

    Quite a few of these posts cropping up at the moment.

    Here is what I recommend to do - because it CAN (not assuredly) fix the 0% battery issue.

    Step 1 - Turn off the unit and unplug it

    Step 2 - Hold power button for 1 minute (hard reset) - If the unit turns on, make sure it is turned off again

    Step 3 - Plug in the unit and charge for around 12 hours - again, make sure the unit does not turn on

    Step 4 - See if it works

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Thanks I will for sure try this. Regarding step 2 I know it wont turn on because the battery is deader than disco. One question when it comes to hard reset; how does the PC know that I am doing a hard reset when there is 0 energy coming to it?

    Regards

  4. #4
    ex-ASUS Employee Array Eleiyas PC Specs
    Eleiyas PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS 970 PRO GAMING/AURA
    ProcessorAMD FX 8370
    Memory (part number)Corsair 8GB XMS3 PC3-12800 1600MHz DDR3
    Graphics Card #1XFX AMD Radeon HD 6950 - 2G
    MonitorLG Flatron E2240T 21.5'' 1080p Monitor
    Storage #1Samsung 1TB 7200RPM 32MB
    Storage #2Seagate Barracuda 2TB 7200RPM 64MB 6GB/s
    CPU CoolerAMD Wraith Cooler
    CaseNZXT Lexa S
    Power SupplyCorsair CX600 600W (Bronze)
    Keyboard Logitech Wireless AZERTY
    Mouse Microsoft Wireless
    Headset Evil Witchcraft II Gaming Headset (Black/Red)
    Mouse Pad Wild Wolf Hunter
    Headset/Speakers 4Gamers 2.1 Sound-System
    OS Windows 10 Professional - Creator's
    Network RouterZiggo

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    378

    It's just to ensure that there is no remaining juice flowing around the mainboard.

    Again, it may or may not work - it has worked for me though

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    8
    Posts
    513

    without battery, i bet u couldnt get full performance!

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Quote Originally Posted by warryabel View Post
    without battery, i bet u couldnt get full performance!
    So you think the laptop uses both the PSU and the battery to function properly? That explains why my G751JY turns off all the time (since my battery is at 0% and not charging)

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    8
    Posts
    513

    yes, but thats not my meaning, ive read this somewhere!

  8. #8
    nb Array NeoBeum PC Specs
    NeoBeum PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G751JY
    MotherboardHM87
    Processori7-4860HQ
    Memory (part number)32Gb Kingston Hyper-X
    Graphics Card #1nVidia GTX980M
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256 Gb, Samsung 850 Pro 512 Gb
    Storage #22 TB HGST 7KRPM RAID0
    OS Windows Server 2016 Datacenter
    NeoBeum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    175

    Hi, you can, but make sure HDD caching is disabled, so you don't corrupt drives if you accidentally kick the cable out
    <img src="eckyeckypoobah.gif" onerror="alert('An error occurred loading the image.')" />

  9. #9
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    During extreme peak power usage the machine does draw from the battery as well as the brick. If there is no battery and you max out the brick it will shut down and not throttle.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Darnassus PC Specs
    Darnassus PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VS -=-=- G750JX
    MotherboardASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. G752VS (U3E1) -=-=- ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. G750JX (SOCKET 0)
    Processori7 6700HQ @ 2.60GHz -=-=- i7-4700HQ CPU @ 2.40GHz - 3.40GHz
    Memory (part number)2x16gb (M471A2K43BB1-CRC) -=-=- 2x8gb (HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB)
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1070 (8GB) -=-=- GTX 770M (3GB)
    Sound CardRealtek High Definition Audio / NVIDIA High Definition Audio
    MonitorGSync IPS 75HZ -=-=- Chi Mei 60Hz (Overclocked to 85Hz)
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 960 EVO 250GB x2 -=-=- LITEONIT LCS-256M6S
    Storage #2HGST HTS721010A9E630 -=-=- ST1000LM024 HN-M101MBB
    CPU CoolerStock -=-=- Stock
    CaseStock -=-=- Stock
    Power SupplyStock -=-=- Stock
    Keyboard Stock -=-=- Stock
    Mouse Razer Naga Epic 1st Generation
    Headset SPH 2500
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus
    OS Winblows 10 Pro -=-=- Winblows 8.1 Pro
    Network RouterCG3000v2
    Darnassus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    61
    Posts
    1,644

    Correct. Both the Battery and Brick are utilised at the same time. ;x

    If you're always plugged into the wall with your gaming lappy, you can do a Cycle Check and will see your battery has actually gone through a lot of work.

    So yes, you do need your battery, it does roughly 5-15% of the work.

    One question when it comes to hard reset; how does the PC know that I am doing a hard reset when there is 0 energy coming to it?
    Every computer has a battery, a small one, known as the CMOS.
    Gosh Blue Lady.. ❤

    JOIN THE ASUS T-SHOOT DISCORD <-- Clicky!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •