Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array AndehX PC Specs
    AndehX PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Latitude E6230
    MotherboardASUS Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1700
    Memory (part number)CMK16GX4M2B3000C15
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1080 Xtreme Premier Pack Edition 8192MB
    MonitorDELL S2716DG
    Storage #1Intel 600P 256GB M.2 SSD
    Storage #2Toshiba DT01ACA300 3TB HDD
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100
    CaseCorsair Air 540
    Power SupplyEnermax Revolution85+ 850W
    Keyboard Corsair K75 RGB MX Brown
    Mouse Finalmouse 2015 Summer edition
    Headset Audio Technica ATH-AD500X / Astro Mixamp 2016
    Mouse Pad Mionix Sargas 400
    OS Windows 10 64bit

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    44

    The dreaded Q-code 55

    So, 5 months on, and this issue still plagues me. Is there any detailed information about what exactly this Q-code means?
    I cannot cold boot my computer in the morning (after it's been off all night) without this damn q-code 55 repeating itself 20+ times. I have tried literally everything to fix it, but nothing even remotely makes a difference.

    What exactly does this q-code mean? What is it referencing? What is different between turning my computer on in the morning vs restarting during the middle of the day? (besides the fact it's had time to physically warm up)

    There must be a solution to this surely?

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array Federicoz45 PC Specs
    Federicoz45 PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 5 1600x
    Memory (part number)TeamGroup Nighthawk RGB 3200 Mhz 16Gb
    Graphics Card #1Msi Gtx 1070 Gaming X
    MonitorPhilips Wide curved 34" 349X7
    Storage #1Samsung nvme 951 128gb
    Storage #2Western Digital 3tb
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Loop EKWB
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Tempered Glass
    Power SupplyThermaltake ToughPower 1350w
    Mouse Logitech Trackman Marble Wireless
    Headset Sharkoon X-Tatic 5.1
    OS Win 10 X64
    Federicoz45's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Dram

    Hi there, I'm having a kind of issue like you...kind of. Code 55 according to manual refers to 'Memory not installed'.
    This motherboard, no matter which bios you got, seems to be really uncompromising with drams that are not on their whql list.
    And yours, like mine are not on that list. Others threads regarding dram here are usually g.skill related and not about error codes, but speed higher than 3200 or so.
    I have teamgroup nighthawk rgb 3200, and with both sticks installed there is no way to boot, still code 4F. it comes just after yours.
    I believe that we bought the wrong dram package for the hero, sadly. Planning to buy g.skill and sell the team....

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array nightstrike PC Specs
    nightstrike PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Samsung NP-R580-JSB1US
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i7-6700K
    Memory (part number)F4-3866C18Q-16GTZ
    Graphics Card #1Asus STRIX-GTX1080-O8G-GAMING
    Graphics Card #2Intel HD 530
    MonitorAsus PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro MZ-V6P512
    Storage #2Western Digital WD6001FZWX
    CPU CoolerPhantek PH-TC12DX
    CaseCM Storm Trooper
    Power SupplySeasonic SSR-850TD
    OS Windows 7 Ultimate x64
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC88U

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    52

    I get 55 all the time, too, using memory that's on the list.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array AndehX PC Specs
    AndehX PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Latitude E6230
    MotherboardASUS Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1700
    Memory (part number)CMK16GX4M2B3000C15
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1080 Xtreme Premier Pack Edition 8192MB
    MonitorDELL S2716DG
    Storage #1Intel 600P 256GB M.2 SSD
    Storage #2Toshiba DT01ACA300 3TB HDD
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100
    CaseCorsair Air 540
    Power SupplyEnermax Revolution85+ 850W
    Keyboard Corsair K75 RGB MX Brown
    Mouse Finalmouse 2015 Summer edition
    Headset Audio Technica ATH-AD500X / Astro Mixamp 2016
    Mouse Pad Mionix Sargas 400
    OS Windows 10 64bit

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    44

    im using G.Skill Trident Z 3600mhz running at 3333mhz

  5. #5
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Quote Originally Posted by AndehX View Post
    im using G.Skill Trident Z 3600mhz running at 3333mhz

    The AMD platform still has issues cold BOOTing memory for some users, and it's usually more troublesome at higher memory speeds. Some of the latest UEFI builds try to get around this in two stages, but it doesn't help in all scenarios. Some users have managed to tune their system to get alleviate it, too. Contributing factors ProcODT, RZQ, and drive strengths. The automated training routines for the platform are still somewhat raw. I don't know if we'll ever get a 100% cure to this as it's system specific (memory, CPU, and board dependant).

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array AndehX PC Specs
    AndehX PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Latitude E6230
    MotherboardASUS Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1700
    Memory (part number)CMK16GX4M2B3000C15
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1080 Xtreme Premier Pack Edition 8192MB
    MonitorDELL S2716DG
    Storage #1Intel 600P 256GB M.2 SSD
    Storage #2Toshiba DT01ACA300 3TB HDD
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100
    CaseCorsair Air 540
    Power SupplyEnermax Revolution85+ 850W
    Keyboard Corsair K75 RGB MX Brown
    Mouse Finalmouse 2015 Summer edition
    Headset Audio Technica ATH-AD500X / Astro Mixamp 2016
    Mouse Pad Mionix Sargas 400
    OS Windows 10 64bit

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    44

    Yeah I understand although even when my UEFI is at defaults, I still see this q-code 55 from time to time. Also, what do you mean by drive strengths?
    Also what exactly is ProcODT? I noticed it's measured in ohms, which is resistance. Maybe if I adjusted that it might help?
    Last edited by AndehX; 08-07-2017 at 10:26 AM.

  7. #7
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Quote Originally Posted by AndehX View Post
    Yeah I understand although even when my UEFI is at defaults, I still see this q-code 55 from time to time. Also, what do you mean by drive strengths?
    Also what exactly is ProcODT? I noticed it's measured in ohms, which is resistance. Maybe if I adjusted that it might help?
    There are temperature related POST issues for the IMC, too. The drive strength settings are in the AMD CBS menu. ProcODT sets termination values for the signal lines. Complex, but yes, if that is set to the correct value (as well as the other settings I outlined), it can help with POST. We've given you PrcoODT in the DRAM timing page as well as the RZQ values. What we've got access to isn't that intuitive for the layman, but it can help if you put some time into it.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array Federicoz45 PC Specs
    Federicoz45 PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 5 1600x
    Memory (part number)TeamGroup Nighthawk RGB 3200 Mhz 16Gb
    Graphics Card #1Msi Gtx 1070 Gaming X
    MonitorPhilips Wide curved 34" 349X7
    Storage #1Samsung nvme 951 128gb
    Storage #2Western Digital 3tb
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Loop EKWB
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Tempered Glass
    Power SupplyThermaltake ToughPower 1350w
    Mouse Logitech Trackman Marble Wireless
    Headset Sharkoon X-Tatic 5.1
    OS Win 10 X64
    Federicoz45's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    There are temperature related POST issues for the IMC, too. The drive strength settings are in the AMD CBS menu. ProcODT sets termination values for the signal lines. Complex, but yes, if that is set to the correct value (as well as the other settings I outlined), it can help with POST. We've given you PrcoODT in the DRAM timing page as well as the RZQ values. What we've got access to isn't that intuitive for the layman, but it can help if you put some time into it.
    Beside the higher frequencies issues, and all this hi-pro settings that I do not know so much, I still get a q-code 4F without even reach the bios at standard spd values (2133). I can only boot with one memory stick, I can use both of them as single, but toghether installed (a2-b2), crap. 4F and 6 beeps. Please give me some advice.

  9. #9
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    The advice is to tune the settings I mentioned and or use slacker memory sub-timings. Can't tune your system for you.

  10. #10
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Error 36, 55, 4f...

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    The advice is to tune the settings I mentioned and or use slacker memory sub-timings. Can't tune your system for you.
    Ill be really dissapointed if these sticks ive been running fine since october 7th just suddenly wont work anymore. Trident rgb 3200 cl14 have been running perfect for weeks, now i cant get it to post at all, with any of the sticks i have. Codes 36, 55, and occasionally 6 beeps with 4f. Ive cleared cmos, reverted to 804 bios, and still nothing. Im at a loss. Ive reseated the cpu several times, memory too. Tried each stick individually, and in each separate slot. Safe mode is no help either id loosen the timings, but i cant even get to UEFI....

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •