Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Asus rog strix x299-e gaming problem (4f error)

    Hello,

    my system:
    Asus Rog Strix X299-E gaming
    Gskill Tridenz RGB F4-4133C19D-16GTZR
    Asus Gtx 1080ti
    Intel i7 7800x
    2x m.2 samsung 960 pro
    2x850 pro ssd
    be quiet silent loop 280mm
    750W power supply be quiet plantinum +.


    today i got my new pc parts.
    I build it and launched in the bios.
    I set my 2x m.2 samsung 960 pro into raid 0 pcie and insert my usb stick with windows 10 (used the official windows media creating software).
    After that it started to install.
    It said reboot to finish xy.
    Since this point i cant enter my bios or get any picture of my pc.

    What i tried:

    cmos reset: unplugged the battery and waited 10 min.
    cmos reset from the mainboard.
    testing ram slots.

    im getting the error 4f everytime if ram is plugged in.

    Asus support told me to refund the mainboard but i want to fix it.

    Got new motherboard from asus -> same problem now but i got a bit further.

    windows restart after installing -> getting ready with asus bios logo -> black screen and no chance to do anything

    Greetings Mark

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Hopper64 PC Specs
    Hopper64 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus R6EO Bios 0702
    Processori9 9900X @ 4.9 1.28V VCore
    Memory (part number)GSkill F4-3600C16Q2-64GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 2080 Ti Kingpin
    Sound CardCreative SB AE7
    MonitorAsus ROG PG349Q
    Storage #1Intel 905p M.2 360G
    CPU CoolerEKWB Velocity RGB and Revo XRes 140 D5
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Asus Strix Flare
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius II Origin
    OS Windows 10 64
    Hopper64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    36
    Posts
    2,068

    Are you overclocking anything?

    Seems like I saw something about these boards not supporting anything besides intel drives in RAID. Try one 960 and test.*

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by Hopper64 View Post
    Are you overclocking anything?

    Seems like I saw something about these boards not supporting anything besides intel drives in RAID. Try one 960 and test.*
    already tried to put one out but it doesnt help me.

    i cant use the board now

    but i saw someone that made a video on youtube and he managed to install the system

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Hopper64 PC Specs
    Hopper64 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus R6EO Bios 0702
    Processori9 9900X @ 4.9 1.28V VCore
    Memory (part number)GSkill F4-3600C16Q2-64GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 2080 Ti Kingpin
    Sound CardCreative SB AE7
    MonitorAsus ROG PG349Q
    Storage #1Intel 905p M.2 360G
    CPU CoolerEKWB Velocity RGB and Revo XRes 140 D5
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Asus Strix Flare
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius II Origin
    OS Windows 10 64
    Hopper64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    36
    Posts
    2,068

    Are you trying to run your memory at 4133?

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by Hopper64 View Post
    Are you trying to run your memory at 4133?
    no but i cant change anything atm because i get no picture

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Hopper64 PC Specs
    Hopper64 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus R6EO Bios 0702
    Processori9 9900X @ 4.9 1.28V VCore
    Memory (part number)GSkill F4-3600C16Q2-64GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 2080 Ti Kingpin
    Sound CardCreative SB AE7
    MonitorAsus ROG PG349Q
    Storage #1Intel 905p M.2 360G
    CPU CoolerEKWB Velocity RGB and Revo XRes 140 D5
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Asus Strix Flare
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius II Origin
    OS Windows 10 64
    Hopper64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    36
    Posts
    2,068

    Try a different video card?*

  7. #7
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Update to the latest UEFI build by using USB BIOS Flashback: https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...9-UEFI-updates

    That kit isn't rated for X299, so might be causing some issues. Try one module only.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Quote Originally Posted by TheDexter View Post

    im getting the error 4f everytime if ram is plugged in.
    Which slot are you using?

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    I have the exact same issue.

    The board posted just fine, several times as I loaded optimum defaults, loaded xmp timings, etc. Booted from USB and installed windows, it said restart to continue, and post fail 4f.

    I've tried clearing the cmos and a battery pull, different sticks of memory, just one stick in slot C1, different video card, nothing works, just 4f no post.

    My system:

    Strix x299 E.
    7820x
    GTX 1080
    32Gb gskill trident z rgb 3600 C17 4x8 (listed as x299 certified)
    Evo pro 960 m.2
    6Gb HDD
    Optane stick.

    What is occurring between windows installing and that reboot, that kills the board so even blanking the cmos doesn't help? I know what the manual says, but what exactly does 4f mean?

    I can get another board, that's not the problem, I'm just worried that this might happen again, because I don't know what caused it.

    Thanks, and nice to meet you guys.
    Marry.
    Last edited by Marryad; 07-25-2017 at 08:25 AM. Reason: More information.

  10. #10
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Yep, even the OP stated his board was working fine til the install.

    Sounds strange. 4F can occur on these boards when memory is overclocked, but can also be something else. Out of interest, can you list all the USB peripherals that are plugged into the board? Wondering if any of the components/peripherals have some kind of compatibility issue with fast boot.

    And are you using the 0503 UEFI build?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •