Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    ROG 1070 OC BLURRY graphics

    Hello,

    I'm new to the forums. Sorry this post is rather long.

    I recently purchased an Asus ROG Strix 1070 OC and I have noticed that my monitor appears BLURRY. Games look awful at 1080p, 60fps, on appropriate graphics settings. I previously owned an Asus GTX 770 OC and the graphics looked BETTER with the 770 than they do with my new 1070. All of my hardware and, to my knowledge, relevant software is the same as it was with my 770. The only difference is the new graphics card and accompanying drivers. The current nvidia drivers were clean installed. I have NEVER manually overclocked the graphics card. My monitor is plugged in via a DVI cable. Sadly, the monitor is old and I don't think it supports HDMI or Display Port. I also have a TV plugged in via HDMI. I cannot afford to purchase a gaming monitor yet. I’m running Windows 7, so I’m forced to use DirectX 11. I have taken the GPU out and put it back in to make sure it is connected properly to the motherboard. I have also tried using a different power cable and a different DVI cable. The problem has not been resolved.

    Does anyone know how to solve this issue? Do I need to RMA the card? Any advice is appreciated!

    TLDR: Asus ROG 1070 OC graphics look worse than Asus GTX 770 OC graphics on the same hardware.

    System Specs:
    OS: Windows 7 Home Premium
    Monitor: Dell P2412H
    GPU: Asus ROG Strix 1070 OC
    Mobo: Asus ROG Maximus VII Hero
    CPU: Intel Core i7-4790K
    Wifi Adapter: Asus PCE-AC68 Dual Band PCI-E Adapter
    RAM: Corsair Vengeance Pro (Red) 16GB 2400MHz
    SSD: Intel 530
    HDD: WD Black 2TB
    PSU: Corsair AX760

  2. #2
    ex-ASUS Employee Array Eleiyas PC Specs
    Eleiyas PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS 970 PRO GAMING/AURA
    ProcessorAMD FX 8370
    Memory (part number)Corsair 8GB XMS3 PC3-12800 1600MHz DDR3
    Graphics Card #1XFX AMD Radeon HD 6950 - 2G
    MonitorLG Flatron E2240T 21.5'' 1080p Monitor
    Storage #1Samsung 1TB 7200RPM 32MB
    Storage #2Seagate Barracuda 2TB 7200RPM 64MB 6GB/s
    CPU CoolerAMD Wraith Cooler
    CaseNZXT Lexa S
    Power SupplyCorsair CX600 600W (Bronze)
    Keyboard Logitech Wireless AZERTY
    Mouse Microsoft Wireless
    Headset Evil Witchcraft II Gaming Headset (Black/Red)
    Mouse Pad Wild Wolf Hunter
    Headset/Speakers 4Gamers 2.1 Sound-System
    OS Windows 10 Professional - Creator's
    Network RouterZiggo

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    378

    pictures of the issue might help diagnose the issue here.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    It's probably something in the NVIDIA settings.

    If your desktop appears "clear" while your games appear "blurry" then try reinstalling the NVIDIA drivers and/or DirectX, then reinstalling the games.

    Confirm your GPU card is firmly seated. And that your video cable is making proper contact at both ends, and that it isn't adjacent to power-carrying cables or other sources of electrical noise. (DVI is susceptible to inductive interference, HDMI has some hardening against noise, DP uses bidirectional error-correction which makes it "immune" to noise.)

    Your monitor OSD probably has a "sharpness/blur" setting you can adjust.

    Try the monitor on another computer. A hardware fault might be caused by anything in the monitor, the GPU card, or the cable between them - you shouldn't RMA any piece of hardware until you are certain it has a problem.

    Agreed with @Eleiyas - some screenshots or photos would help, a picture is worth a thousand words, lol.
    "All opinions are not equal. Some are a very great deal more robust, sophisticated and well supported in logic and argument than others." - Douglas Adams

    [/Korth]

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Thanks for the quick response. I'm following some of your advice and think I might have resolved the issue. Will update this when I know more.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •