Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    19
    Posts
    71

    New G752VL Owner - WD NVMe drive?

    I just picked up a G752VL and needless to say the first order of business is to stop booting from this dog of a 5400RPM spindle. I am considering the new Western Digital Black WDS512G1X0C-00ENX0.

    https://www.wdc.com/products/solid-s...ml#WDS512G1X0C

    It certainly seems like it checks all the boxes for compatibility though I have no idea how the WD migration would work. Apparently they include links to download free migration software like Samsung.

    Has anyone used this in a G752 yet?


    Thanks,

    Scott


    and yes... I did search for the forums first. :-)

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Clintlgm PC Specs
    Clintlgm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY DH72
    MotherboardAsus Z97 Pro WiFi and /Z97 Pro A
    ProcessorI7 4790K
    Storage #1512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    Storage #21 TB Samsun 850 Pro
    CaseCool Master Haf
    OS Win 8.1 Pro and Win 10 Pro
    Clintlgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    111
    Posts
    4,174

    No but the last time I bought WD hard drive they were still using Acronis Light, You'll probably be better off using Macrium Reflect Free also we all know for sure how well Samsung SSD work and are compatible. Most of us are running them on IRST drivers in RAID Mode so no other drivers are required. You should check I'm pretty sure the VL uses NVME. Be sure to back up your eSupport folder and make a good Image of your OS entire drive before you start just incase that eSupport folder hold all the drivers and software your notebook came with .
    G752VY-DH72 Win 10 Pro
    512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    1 TB Samsung 850 pro 2.5 format
    980m GTX 4 GB
    32GB DDR 4 Standard RAM

    Z97 PRO WiFi I7 4790K
    Windows 10 Pro
    Z97 -A
    Windows 10 Pro

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    19
    Posts
    71

    NVMe migration

    You are probably correct. WD have been using that WD Edition of Acronis for a while and it's frankly getting very old. Macrium is a much better choice. You can be certain I would make a complete system image before attempting something like this. I've done the SSD migration once before but that was with a standard SATA SSD. NVMe adds a new wrinkle. I'm dreading it a bit, but it has to be done to make this system useful.

    I have no idea about the IRST drivers. I'll look into that. Thanks for the info.

    You're saying that many people around here are running dual NVMe drives in RAID mode using the IRST drivers? I assume they work for a single drive as well?

    Thanks,

    Scott

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Clintlgm PC Specs
    Clintlgm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY DH72
    MotherboardAsus Z97 Pro WiFi and /Z97 Pro A
    ProcessorI7 4790K
    Storage #1512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    Storage #21 TB Samsun 850 Pro
    CaseCool Master Haf
    OS Win 8.1 Pro and Win 10 Pro
    Clintlgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    111
    Posts
    4,174

    Yes my single 500gb Samsung Pro 960 is running RAID mode in the BIOS and IRST driver in windows. No Idea how your VT is set up so not sure how cloning will go. Others here have done this on your model, hopefully one of them will see this thread and advise your.

    I can tell you for sure that the way we are running RAID on NVME is that is how they come from Asus with M.2 SSD, To clean install you would have the RST driver download and extracted to the same USB thumb drive you are installing windows from. During the install when you get to part where you select your SSD to install to you won't see it. then look for the I have a driver or something like that and direct that to your the IRST driver on your install media once it install like magic your SSD will appear and your be able to select it to install windows too. Download the f6flpyx64 floppy version of IRST drive for this operation.
    G752VY-DH72 Win 10 Pro
    512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    1 TB Samsung 850 pro 2.5 format
    980m GTX 4 GB
    32GB DDR 4 Standard RAM

    Z97 PRO WiFi I7 4790K
    Windows 10 Pro
    Z97 -A
    Windows 10 Pro

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Darnassus PC Specs
    Darnassus PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VS -=-=- G750JX
    MotherboardASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. G752VS (U3E1) -=-=- ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. G750JX (SOCKET 0)
    Processori7 6700HQ @ 2.60GHz -=-=- i7-4700HQ CPU @ 2.40GHz - 3.40GHz
    Memory (part number)2x16gb (M471A2K43BB1-CRC) -=-=- 2x8gb (HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB)
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1070 (8GB) -=-=- GTX 770M (3GB)
    Sound CardRealtek High Definition Audio / NVIDIA High Definition Audio
    MonitorGSync IPS 75HZ -=-=- Chi Mei 60Hz (Overclocked to 85Hz)
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 960 EVO 250GB x2 -=-=- LITEONIT LCS-256M6S
    Storage #2HGST HTS721010A9E630 -=-=- ST1000LM024 HN-M101MBB
    CPU CoolerStock -=-=- Stock
    CaseStock -=-=- Stock
    Power SupplyStock -=-=- Stock
    Keyboard Stock -=-=- Stock
    Mouse Razer Naga Epic 1st Generation
    Headset SPH 2500
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus
    OS Winblows 10 Pro -=-=- Winblows 8.1 Pro
    Network RouterCG3000v2
    Darnassus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    61
    Posts
    1,651

    Just speeding by. Acronis doesn't work with NVMe's. It seems to not detect the drive through DoS.

    At least through my experience.
    Gosh Blue Lady.. ❤

    JOIN THE ASUS T-SHOOT DISCORD <-- Clicky!

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    @OP

    Can you please update if you got this working?

    Just got my WD Black 256GB NVMe in the mail, installed and Win10 doesnt see it (not even in diskmgmt)

    I can see the NVMe in Bios, (not in the SATA config location, is that normal?)

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Clintlgm PC Specs
    Clintlgm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY DH72
    MotherboardAsus Z97 Pro WiFi and /Z97 Pro A
    ProcessorI7 4790K
    Storage #1512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    Storage #21 TB Samsun 850 Pro
    CaseCool Master Haf
    OS Win 8.1 Pro and Win 10 Pro
    Clintlgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    111
    Posts
    4,174

    Quote Originally Posted by Darnassus View Post
    Just speeding by. Acronis doesn't work with NVMe's. It seems to not detect the drive through DoS.

    At least through my experience.

    That doesn't surprise me at all. Acronis seems to be about 3 to 5 years behind most technologies. Free Macrium Reflect works 100% Paid version to allow more options but with free you can make drive/SSD images, Partition images and restore without issues.
    G752VY-DH72 Win 10 Pro
    512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    1 TB Samsung 850 pro 2.5 format
    980m GTX 4 GB
    32GB DDR 4 Standard RAM

    Z97 PRO WiFi I7 4790K
    Windows 10 Pro
    Z97 -A
    Windows 10 Pro

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by HyeVltg3 View Post
    @OP

    Can you please update if you got this working?

    Just got my WD Black 256GB NVMe in the mail, installed and Win10 doesnt see it (not even in diskmgmt)

    I can see the NVMe in Bios, (not in the SATA config location, is that normal?)
    Forgot to mention I wanted to use it (like almost everyone else) as a boot drive.

    Figured it out.
    just need to goto Intel and grab the .zip file of IRST: Intel® Rapid Storage Technology (Intel® RST) (grab the .zip with all the .cat .inf and .sys files, Extract to Folder > name it Asus Drivers or anything, chuck it into the USB you're using to reinstall Windows (in my case I was clean installing) during Windows install when it asks to Upgrade or Custom, choose Custom and if you only have the NVMe installed, the drives list should be blank, click Load Driver, browse the USB you're using to install Win10, you just need to point out the folder with the IRST drivers, it will search the folder and show you the Driver it finds, just select it and hit next, Win10 will install the driver, your NVMe should now show up to be able to install Win10 to it as Boot Drive. enjoy)

  9. #9
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,857

    Quote Originally Posted by Darnassus View Post
    Just speeding by. Acronis doesn't work with NVMe's. It seems to not detect the drive through DoS.

    At least through my experience.
    You have had bad experiences. I cant speak for all versions but I had no issues at all cloning drives on my G752VY with the retail version of Acronis True Image 2016.

    If you dont want to buy aanything Macrium works perfectly fine too. For Samsung Drives the Samsung data migration if probably one of the fastest cloning softwares Ive seen.

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array Cid6.7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Quote Originally Posted by ST9752 View Post
    You are probably correct. WD have been using that WD Edition of Acronis for a while and it's frankly getting very old. Macrium is a much better choice. You can be certain I would make a complete system image before attempting something like this. I've done the SSD migration once before but that was with a standard SATA SSD. NVMe adds a new wrinkle. I'm dreading it a bit, but it has to be done to make this system useful.

    I have no idea about the IRST drivers. I'll look into that. Thanks for the info.

    You're saying that many people around here are running dual NVMe drives in RAID mode using the IRST drivers? I assume they work for a single drive as well?

    Thanks,

    Scott
    You wouldnt happen to have a online storage with a backup of your eSupport folder would yah ?
    I downloaded one other I found but its all jacked up I cant even make sense of anything thats in the folder to install =\
    Peace

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •