Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 29

Thread: Upgrade advice.

  1. #11
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Heini PC Specs
    Heini PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus SABERTOOTH Z170 MARK 1
    Processori7-6700K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL TridentZ (2 x 16GB) F4-3000C14D
    Graphics Card #1Evga 2080Ti XC Ultra
    Sound CardAsus Essence STX II
    MonitorASUS MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    CaseCooler Master HAF XB EVO
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G3 1000W
    Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 (Brown Cherry MX)
    Mouse Secret (Ducky)
    Headset Sennheiser HD 580
    Mouse Pad EVGA TORQ
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS Win10 Pro 64
    Heini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    50
    Posts
    600

    What is your PSU and how old is it?

  2. #12
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Buellersdayoff PC Specs
    Buellersdayoff PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus viii Hero
    ProcessorI7 7700k delidded 4.9ghz @ 1.4v
    Memory (part number)Corsair led 4x8gb 3200
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1080ti MSI Gaming X
    Sound CardOnboard + Hyperx usb
    MonitorAcer X34 Predator
    Storage #1Samsung 950pro nvme
    Storage #2Samsung 840 ssd + 2tb hdd
    CPU CoolerCryorig R1 Universal
    CaseThermaltake View 31 TG mesh front panel mod
    Power SupplyCorsair rm850x
    Keyboard G910
    Mouse G502
    Headset Hyper x cloud II
    Mouse Pad H440
    Headset/Speakers Edifier R1280t
    OS Win 10
    Network RouterNetgear x8 R8500

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    117

    Quote Originally Posted by Omyth View Post
    yeah thats what I did, i cleared the cmos, reset the bios (it was up to date before i just made sure) and reset default settings, had to reset default boot ssd as well. Now its working but the same as before. wasnt having issues before either till the shut down. so now what do I do when it does decide to shut off on me in the middle of something lol.

    I also made sure everything was seated correctly, even took out and reseated the ram sticks. cant really unseat anything else since its all in the loop lol.
    If temps are good, then I'd be looking at the power supply as mentioned. Is it shutting down under heavy load or just randomly? Can you try another power supply? Disconnect/disable one gpu to lower power draw and see how that goes

  3. #13
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Well, the only way for me to try a different psu is to drain my loop, disconnect my bottom radiator just to get to the psu lol. It is about 4 years old now tho. I know its a rather high end one (cant see it even inside the case). i may as well buy a new one and just replace it first to see if thats the cause? And what about the ram? Any way I can upgrade that to the best ram possible for my board? For some reason I cant ever OC my pc, it just wont work even with presets from bios so its always just running on normal. im not good with that stuff and didnt wanna break anything. What PSU would you guys suggest I buy?

    Its powering 2 GPUs, the pump, fan controller, 8 fans.

  4. #14
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Buellersdayoff PC Specs
    Buellersdayoff PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus viii Hero
    ProcessorI7 7700k delidded 4.9ghz @ 1.4v
    Memory (part number)Corsair led 4x8gb 3200
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1080ti MSI Gaming X
    Sound CardOnboard + Hyperx usb
    MonitorAcer X34 Predator
    Storage #1Samsung 950pro nvme
    Storage #2Samsung 840 ssd + 2tb hdd
    CPU CoolerCryorig R1 Universal
    CaseThermaltake View 31 TG mesh front panel mod
    Power SupplyCorsair rm850x
    Keyboard G910
    Mouse G502
    Headset Hyper x cloud II
    Mouse Pad H440
    Headset/Speakers Edifier R1280t
    OS Win 10
    Network RouterNetgear x8 R8500

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    117

    You can use a different power supply outside of the case for testing, just don't use cables from different power supplies (use only the cables that come with a particular power supply). Ram upgrades are probably not worth it. If you haven't flushed your system in four years then you should.
    Last edited by Buellersdayoff; 08-21-2017 at 07:18 AM.

  5. #15
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Quote Originally Posted by Buellersdayoff View Post
    You can use a different power supply outside of the case for testing, just don't use cables from different power supplies (use only the cables that come with a particular power supply). Ram upgrades are probably not worth it. If you haven't flushed your system in four years then you should.
    So what PSU should I buy to test this out, because I dont have any spare ones. Also, what liquid would you suggest I use and how exactly do I flush/clean everything? Do I drain all the current liquid, undo all the piping and rinse everything? What about the gpu waterblocks and cpu block?

  6. #16
    ROG Enthusiast Array DevBiker PC Specs
    DevBiker PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)MSI GT72 Dominator-G
    MotherboardASUS Maximus IX Hero
    Processori7-7700K
    Memory (part number)4x16GB HyperX DDR4-2400
    Graphics Card #1MSI GeForce 1070 Gaming Z
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro / Toshiba HDWE160
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i v2
    CaseThermaltake Chaser MK-I
    Power SupplyThermaltake Toughpower Grand 1050W
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Chroma v2
    Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma
    Headset Logitech G930
    Mouse Pad Steel Series
    OS Windows 10 x64
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC3200

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    26

    I'm glad others jumped on it ... your issues do sound suspiciously like a PSU problem. As someone else mentioned, removing one of the GPUs may help if the PSU is getting overloaded. And yes, PSUs can go bad after a while. And the current batch of GPUs will draw far, far less power than the ones that you have ... if that happens to be on your list of potential upgrades.
    First, use PC PartPicker to get an idea of what your actual power needs are. With those two GPUs, you'll need to get a beefy power supply.
    From there, look for an 80+ certified PSU. Personally, I won't do anything that isn't 80+ Gold certified but the Bronze and Silver would still be good. Tom's Hardware has a good list of "Best PSUs" (http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/best-psus,4229.html) ... you can start there.
    Whatever you do, do not skimp on the PSU.

  7. #17
    ROG Enthusiast Array DevBiker PC Specs
    DevBiker PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)MSI GT72 Dominator-G
    MotherboardASUS Maximus IX Hero
    Processori7-7700K
    Memory (part number)4x16GB HyperX DDR4-2400
    Graphics Card #1MSI GeForce 1070 Gaming Z
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro / Toshiba HDWE160
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i v2
    CaseThermaltake Chaser MK-I
    Power SupplyThermaltake Toughpower Grand 1050W
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Chroma v2
    Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma
    Headset Logitech G930
    Mouse Pad Steel Series
    OS Windows 10 x64
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC3200

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    26

    I did a quick mock up of your system on PC Part Picker (https://pcpartpicker.com/list/c2tMkT). It does not have all of your components and may be incorrect on some items but the key items (CPU, mobo, 2x GPUs, RAM) are in there and it came up to 632W. With the pump, fan controller, fans and drives, you'd be looking at a load probably in the neighborhood of 700-750W ... so getting a 1000W PSU wouldn't be unreasonable. What size is your current PSU?
    For comparison, 2x GTX 1070's would draw 472W and 1 would be 322W. So ... upgrading to a GTX 1070 would save 310W of total power. That's pretty significant.

  8. #18
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Quote Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
    I did a quick mock up of your system on PC Part Picker (https://pcpartpicker.com/list/c2tMkT). It does not have all of your components and may be incorrect on some items but the key items (CPU, mobo, 2x GPUs, RAM) are in there and it came up to 632W. With the pump, fan controller, fans and drives, you'd be looking at a load probably in the neighborhood of 700-750W ... so getting a 1000W PSU wouldn't be unreasonable. What size is your current PSU?
    For comparison, 2x GTX 1070's would draw 472W and 1 would be 322W. So ... upgrading to a GTX 1070 would save 310W of total power. That's pretty significant.
    thank you very much for this. My current PSU is over 1000W I know that for sure. But seeing as its 4 years old maybe its time to replace it lol. So getting a new 1000W PSU seems to be what im gonna do. Id rather not replace anything if I dont have to, since honestly the pc runs smooth when its actually on lol. Dimentions are what I think ill need to look into since this PSU is tucked away rather firmly and there isnt much room for it to begin with lol.

  9. #19
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    So im thinking of getting this one.

    https://www.amazon.com/FSP-Platinum-...ve=165953&th=1

    its a 1200W PS, the 100W one wich was the only one on that list from above was only 50$ cheaper. What do you think about this?

  10. #20
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array panzlock PC Specs
    panzlock PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS X553M, ASUS Zenpad 10 Z300M, ASUS X542BA-DH99
    MotherboardASUS P8Z68-V LX, ASUS Z170-A, ASUS ROG Strix B350-F Gaming
    ProcessorIntel i5-2500K, Intel i7-6700K, AMD Ryzen R7 1700
    Memory (part number)8GB Kingston 1333MhzDDR3 C9, 16GB G.Skill Aegis 3000Mhz DDR4 C16, 16GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200Mhz C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 560Ti, ASUS ROG Strix GeForce GTX 1070 O8G OC, Sapphire Nitro+ RX Vega 56
    Monitor32" INSIGNIA 720p, 32" Samsung 1080p C32F391FWN, 32" ASUS 1440p VA32AQ
    Storage #1Seagate 150GB 7200RPM, Samsung 850 EVO 250GB 2.5" 6Gb/s Solid State Drive (X2)
    Storage #2Seagate 500GB 7200RPM, WD Blue 3TB - 5400 RPM SATA 6 Gb/s 64MB Cache 3.5 Inch
    CPU CoolerDeepcool GAMMAXX 300, Deepcool Lucifer V2, Wraith Spire
    CaseAntec Sonata, Deepcool Dukase V1, Deepcool Dukase V3
    Power SupplyATX 650, EVGA SuperNOVA 850 P2 (X2)
    Keyboard Logitech K220, MSI Interceptor DS4200 (X2)
    Mouse Microsoft 1850, Microsoft 4500, Gamdias Erebos LE, MSI DS 100, Redragon M601 Centrophorus
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z313, Logitech Z506 (X2)
    OS Windows 10 Home X64, Windows 10 Pro X64 (X2)
    panzlock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    54
    Posts
    701

    Quote Originally Posted by Omyth View Post
    So im thinking of getting this one.

    https://www.amazon.com/FSP-Platinum-...ve=165953&th=1

    its a 1200W PS, the 100W one wich was the only one on that list from above was only 50$ cheaper. What do you think about this?
    Read through this:

    http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php...Story&reid=398

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •