Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 55
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array siliconart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    136

    Exclamation 4790k Custom Watercooled 94c under load :(

    So I just finished custom watercooling my streaming PC and here are the specs below-


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	streaming pc.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	629.8 KB 
ID:	66797


    CPU- Intel Core i7 4790K
    Motherboard- Asus MAXIMUS VII Gene
    RAM- Corsair Vengence 16GB (2×8) DDR3 21330Mhz
    GFX Card- Asus GeForce GTX750ti 2G STRIX
    Capture Cards- Aver Media Live Gamer HD x 2
    SSD- Samsung EVO SERIES 250GB
    HDD- WD 4TB Caviar Black 7200rpm
    PSU- Corsair AX750i Platinum Power Supply
    CASE- Phanteks Enthu Evlov mATX

    Watercooling Components-

    EKWB

    CPU Block- Supremecy Evo
    Rads- LC Solution Coolstream PE 240 x 2
    Fans- Vardar 2200RPM x 4
    Pump- D5 PWM Pump
    Rez- XRes 3


    And here are the temps I am getting under load, which I think should be way cooler. Am I wrong?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	steamig pc temps.jpg 
Views:	12 
Size:	648.1 KB 
ID:	66795
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	steamig pc temps1.jpg 
Views:	6 
Size:	634.9 KB 
ID:	66796



    If anyone could share their thoughts and insights, that would be great.

    Thanks in Advanced
    Last edited by siliconart; 08-24-2017 at 10:02 AM.
    - Intel Core i7 4770K OC @ 4.3 - MAXIMUS VII HERO - Gskill TridentX 16GB (2x8) DDR3 2400Mhz - 2x Asus Geforce GTX980ti DirectCU II OC 6G in SL I- Samsung 840 PRO SERIES 256GB - WD 4TB Caviar Black 7200rpm - Corsair Hydro Series H100i (Fans upgraded to: Air Series SP120 HP) - Corsair AX1200i Platinum Power Supply

  2. #2
    Try more Array tommiboi PC Specs
    tommiboi PC Specs
    MotherboardSabertooth Mark 1 Z170
    Processor6600K Delidded
    Memory (part number)Gskill 3200
    Graphics Card #1Asus STRIX GTX 980 TI EKWB watercooled
    MonitorAsus PG279Q , Benq XL2411T
    Storage #1Samsung 850 evo SSD 250
    Storage #2M.2 nvme Samsung 960 500 ( 2x in raid 0 )
    CPU CoolerEK Predator 360(rebuild with 280 extra rad)
    CaseBequiet pro 900 Orange
    Power SupplyBequiet Pure Power 9 700W
    Keyboard Corsair rapid fire (RBG)
    Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
    Headset Logitech G933
    Mouse Pad Razer Vespula
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z4
    OS Windows 10 pro
    Accessory #1 Watch
    Accessory #2 Bracelet
    Accessory #3 1 earing

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    171

    am guessing the loop is new. You build a bit compact.. loads of bending most of the loop is in they way of all your components.. Har dto remove GPU and RAM ?


    Could be a few things:
    Air in the loop
    Rad mount
    Removel of protection foil...... <-- yes this happens

    Air in the loop:
    Means you have bleed it more. Just turn on the system and gently tip it over rocked left right front back. Generally some air get stuck in rads or blocks.

    Bad mount:
    Check thermopaste is it nicely spread. Did you use the back plate? Is your mobo bending?

    How is your pump doing? is provding enough flow ?
    How are you fans blowing? front in and top out ?. I think they are okay.. But still can you feel the air flow when you put your hand next to the rad ?

    What is Vcore on full load. I cannot see it in the screenshots ?
    Last edited by tommiboi; 08-21-2017 at 11:08 PM.
    Try more, Try harder, Try and previal

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array siliconart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    136

    Thanks for the reply

    I have a Build log here http://forums.siliconartgaming.com/v....php?f=40&t=20 that shows a lot. (there are a lot of images, it takes time to load).

    Air in the Loop: I have rocked it back and forth and I only see 1 or 2 small bubbles in one of the tubes.

    I tilted the system side to side and back to front to see if any bubble came out of the rads, on bubble did from the top.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bub.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	474.4 KB 
ID:	66810

    Bad mount: I would have to pull appart the loop to check the thermal paste, but it is possible I added too much?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_4077.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	581.5 KB 
ID:	66812

    Back Plate

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_4072.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	790.7 KB 
ID:	66813

    CPU Block

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_4069.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	442.5 KB 
ID:	66815

    Pump:
    Pump seems to be working great between 50% - 100%.
    When filling the loop its was not issue.

    Fans:
    Front sucks air in (in push) Top sucks air out (in push).
    Yes I can feel the air comming out the other side of the Rads.

    Vcore under load:

    This is after the bubble came out of the Rad.

    All with the Fans and pump on Max

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	streamig pc vcore.jpg 
Views:	13 
Size:	771.7 KB 
ID:	66814
    Last edited by siliconart; 08-22-2017 at 05:07 AM.
    - Intel Core i7 4770K OC @ 4.3 - MAXIMUS VII HERO - Gskill TridentX 16GB (2x8) DDR3 2400Mhz - 2x Asus Geforce GTX980ti DirectCU II OC 6G in SL I- Samsung 840 PRO SERIES 256GB - WD 4TB Caviar Black 7200rpm - Corsair Hydro Series H100i (Fans upgraded to: Air Series SP120 HP) - Corsair AX1200i Platinum Power Supply

  4. #4
    Try more Array tommiboi PC Specs
    tommiboi PC Specs
    MotherboardSabertooth Mark 1 Z170
    Processor6600K Delidded
    Memory (part number)Gskill 3200
    Graphics Card #1Asus STRIX GTX 980 TI EKWB watercooled
    MonitorAsus PG279Q , Benq XL2411T
    Storage #1Samsung 850 evo SSD 250
    Storage #2M.2 nvme Samsung 960 500 ( 2x in raid 0 )
    CPU CoolerEK Predator 360(rebuild with 280 extra rad)
    CaseBequiet pro 900 Orange
    Power SupplyBequiet Pure Power 9 700W
    Keyboard Corsair rapid fire (RBG)
    Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
    Headset Logitech G933
    Mouse Pad Razer Vespula
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z4
    OS Windows 10 pro
    Accessory #1 Watch
    Accessory #2 Bracelet
    Accessory #3 1 earing

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    171

    Try running this without the side panel and something is not right with your Vcore voltage... Can you add Vcore in the XTU? and post a new screenshot underload ? I mean 0.9 v ??? Weird voltage under load.

    I still think alot of air is trapped in your system. tilting you system is good.. but put you pump at a 100% keep tilting it for like 10 min every wich way you can. Then try to tilt ir 1 way speeding pump up and down. getting air out of 2 loops is hard. Could be even air trapped in your CPU block.
    Try more, Try harder, Try and previal

  5. #5
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,432

    Hi siliconart

    All looks good but I'm suspicious of the Vcore as well, maybe try resetting to defaults and/or updating the bios.

    Could be thermal throttling due to high temps, the amount of thermal paste looks good so maybe there's a contact issue with the cpu and waterblock.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array siliconart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    136

    i have restored to defaults and still get tthe same result.

    i was getting these hight temps when i was useing the corsair H80i, hence why i decided to watercool the cpu.

    i will try a bios update.

    If it doesnt help, ill have to drain it, pull it all appart and recheck the cpu block.


    The only other thing i can think of is that i may have used more of the green concertrait then what the 100ml per 900ml water it recommned. Could it be that the waster is too think with concertrate?
    Last edited by siliconart; 08-22-2017 at 08:30 PM.
    - Intel Core i7 4770K OC @ 4.3 - MAXIMUS VII HERO - Gskill TridentX 16GB (2x8) DDR3 2400Mhz - 2x Asus Geforce GTX980ti DirectCU II OC 6G in SL I- Samsung 840 PRO SERIES 256GB - WD 4TB Caviar Black 7200rpm - Corsair Hydro Series H100i (Fans upgraded to: Air Series SP120 HP) - Corsair AX1200i Platinum Power Supply

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array siliconart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    136

    ok the Bios update didnt help the temps.

    But I did notice the vcore in the BIOS showing 1.264V and on CPU-Z it shows 0.963V

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bios vcor.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	576.7 KB 
ID:	66823
    Last edited by siliconart; 08-22-2017 at 11:24 PM.
    - Intel Core i7 4770K OC @ 4.3 - MAXIMUS VII HERO - Gskill TridentX 16GB (2x8) DDR3 2400Mhz - 2x Asus Geforce GTX980ti DirectCU II OC 6G in SL I- Samsung 840 PRO SERIES 256GB - WD 4TB Caviar Black 7200rpm - Corsair Hydro Series H100i (Fans upgraded to: Air Series SP120 HP) - Corsair AX1200i Platinum Power Supply

  8. #8
    Try more Array tommiboi PC Specs
    tommiboi PC Specs
    MotherboardSabertooth Mark 1 Z170
    Processor6600K Delidded
    Memory (part number)Gskill 3200
    Graphics Card #1Asus STRIX GTX 980 TI EKWB watercooled
    MonitorAsus PG279Q , Benq XL2411T
    Storage #1Samsung 850 evo SSD 250
    Storage #2M.2 nvme Samsung 960 500 ( 2x in raid 0 )
    CPU CoolerEK Predator 360(rebuild with 280 extra rad)
    CaseBequiet pro 900 Orange
    Power SupplyBequiet Pure Power 9 700W
    Keyboard Corsair rapid fire (RBG)
    Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
    Headset Logitech G933
    Mouse Pad Razer Vespula
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z4
    OS Windows 10 pro
    Accessory #1 Watch
    Accessory #2 Bracelet
    Accessory #3 1 earing

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    171

    in xtu you can add voltage to your display as well. Click the Gog wheel and add w/e you like.

    if you had problems with high temp before with an other cooler. Could be you have bad mounts. But could also be the you havce bad IHS mount. that means you have RMA it. You could do a delid... but intel is very foggy about warranty on those things.

    is your voltage on adaptive ? and try running the test without XMP. Dont reaaly understand why your mobo sais 1.513v on your memory settings.
    Try more, Try harder, Try and previal

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array siliconart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    136

    I drained the system and took off the CPU waterblock.

    Here is the Block

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	waterlock thermal paste.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	428.4 KB 
ID:	66831

    Here is the CPU

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	cpu thermalpaste.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	610.5 KB 
ID:	66832

    to me it looks like the block didnt make enough contack to the CPU, henc the thermal issues.
    What do you guys think?
    - Intel Core i7 4770K OC @ 4.3 - MAXIMUS VII HERO - Gskill TridentX 16GB (2x8) DDR3 2400Mhz - 2x Asus Geforce GTX980ti DirectCU II OC 6G in SL I- Samsung 840 PRO SERIES 256GB - WD 4TB Caviar Black 7200rpm - Corsair Hydro Series H100i (Fans upgraded to: Air Series SP120 HP) - Corsair AX1200i Platinum Power Supply

  10. #10
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,432

    It's kind of hard to tell but when you install the waterblock again make sure it's snug to the cpu. You have plenty of thermal compound so that isn't the problem.

    Your 2nd post 2nd pic with you applying the thermal compound, are those plastic washers under the mounting pegs optional or are they required? You could maybe try removing those washers, that may give you better contact.

Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •