Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Red Light in Dimm 2

    Hi. My Maximus IX Apex Z270 has red light in dimm 2.

    I dont like this red color, because red color can men a failure.

    I have disabled Aura in motherboard, but red color continues.

    What can i do?


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1.jpg 
Views:	58 
Size:	61.7 KB 
ID:	66799

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2.jpg 
Views:	56 
Size:	69.5 KB 
ID:	66800

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    more data

    My pc works correctly, but i dont like red color in Dimm 2.

    Actually there is Samsung 960 m.2 256gb. I also used a Samsung 960 Pro and red color continues.

    I tried both sides of Dimm 2, and red color continues.

    What can i do?

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    Cover the LED with a bit of tape/plastic. I used a small LEGO piece for this in my rig, lol.
    "All opinions are not equal. Some are a very great deal more robust, sophisticated and well supported in logic and argument than others." - Douglas Adams

    [/Korth]

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array lufiron PC Specs
    lufiron PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus IX Apex
    Processordelidded 7700k @ 5ghz 1.35v
    Memory (part number)gskill 2x16 3200 cas 14
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1080ti @ 2 ghz
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG279
    Storage #1960 pro
    Storage #2960 pro
    CPU Coolernoctua D15S
    CaseCooler Master 5 freeform
    Power SupplySeasonic 850w prime titanium
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Logitech G502

    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    28
    Posts
    53

    Have you tried this?
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Untitled.png 
Views:	63 
Size:	19.9 KB 
ID:	66807

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    HORIZON access

    Thank you Lufiron. I try your option, but light continues.

    Korth good idea.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array Skunkfoo PC Specs
    Skunkfoo PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Rampage VI Extreme
    Processori9 7940x
    Memory (part number)64 GB G.Skill 3733 RGB
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Monitor3x ASUS PG278QR
    CPU CoolerEK Monoblock
    CaseThermaltake Tower 900 Snow
    Power SupplyThermaltake Toughpower iRGB Plus 1250W
    Keyboard ASUS ROG Claymore
    Mouse ASUS ROG Galdius II
    Headset Apple Airpods
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterASUS ROG

    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    74

    Same issue on Rampage VI Extreme

    I hate that light on the dimm.2. On the R6E there are 2 jumpers for LED on the dimm.2 card that clearly say L_LIGHT and R_LIGHT. Unfortunately switching the jumpers don't do anything and the LED light remains.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Those LEDs are terrible, so bad that I've contemplated desoldering the LEDs but I don't want to damage the DIMM.2 card or possibly short out and take my NVME's with it.

    I desoldered the red LEDs on my SB Recon3D; it was one the best things I ever did.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •