Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    X299-E Random Lockups

    Hi Everyone,

    I've been experiencing random lockups (with no BSOD) every few days since building my new machine a few weeks ago. When the system locks all the fans and lights remain active but the HD light is no longer blinking and the screen is frozen. This seems to happen during game play or when surfing the web. The only way to get the machine back is to do hard reset with the power button.

    Some of the troubleshooting done so far:

    -Update BIOS to the latest 0702 version
    -Installed latest Chipset Drivers Version 10.1.1.44
    -Updated Firmware on 960 EVO and installed the latest NVEe Driver
    -Updated latest nVidia drivers
    -Checked Windows logs and found no unusual behavior prior to lockups

    Other Info - System is liquid cooled running 31c idle and 50-55c on load
    I'm running the XPS profile to achieve 3200mhz on the memory, CPU is still stock.

    I'm going to try swapping out another power supply, but do not have another board or CPU to test at the moment. Any suggestions or help would be greatly appreciated.


    System Specs
    Mobo - Asus Rog Strix X299-E
    CPU - Intel Core i7-7800X Processor (No OC)
    Video - EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 TI FTW3 iCX Hydro Copper GAMING, 11G-P4-6699-KR, 11GB
    PS - EVGA SuperNOVA 850 P2, 80+ PLATINUM 850W
    OS Drive - Samsung 960 EVO Series - 250GB PCIe NVMe - M.2 (Windows 10x64)
    Memory - G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin 3600MHz (PC4 28800)
    Cooling EK-Supremacy EVO / EK-XRES 140 Revo D5 PWM pump with 2 240M Radiators

  2. #2

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array Mavtop PC Specs
    Mavtop PC Specs
    MotherboardIncoming R6Extreme
    Processor7980XE
    Memory (part number)Corsair Platinum 64gb 3200mhz
    Graphics Card #11080ti w EKWB
    Graphics Card #21080ti w EKWB
    Sound CardSound Blaster ZXR
    MonitorAsus Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 2tb x 2 in RAID 0 (hopefully bootable)
    Storage #2HGST He10, 10 TB HDD
    CPU CoolerEK Custom water cooling Loop w XSPC rads
    CaseDigital Storm Aventum III
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum RGB
    Mouse Corsair M45/Glaive
    Headset Razer Tiamat 7.1/Corsair Wireless
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800 RGB
    Headset/Speakers Corsair RGB Wireless
    OS Windows 10 PRO
    Network RouterASUS AC5300
    Accessory #1 EVODESK 72inch standing desk
    Accessory #2 Oculus Rift, Vive, Pimax 8K X incoming

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    63

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    Have you tried running your system at stock defaults?
    From the read it looks like he is running stock on CPU, and XMP for the ram.

    Try running ram bone stock speed of 2666MHz to see if still having the dead locks (what I call the lockups when there is no BSOD)

    I would also run a memtest on the ram, just to be sure it isn't a problem there.

    Good luck!

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Thank you for the suggestions. I'm going to disable the XMP profile as well as run memtest then report back.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    That's a good idea. Clear your CMOS for good measure. Also make sure you're using HCI Memtest because it's the most effective for DDR4 testing.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array Deus Maximus PC Specs
    Deus Maximus PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS ROG Strix Scar II GL504GS
    MotherboardASUS ROG Strix X299-E Gaming
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 7820X
    Memory (part number)2x KHX3000C15/16GX
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix GeForce GTX 1080 (A8G)
    Sound CardASUS SupremeFX
    MonitorASUS PG348Q
    Storage #12x 2TB Seagate HDD's, 1x 256GB Samsung 950 Pro, 1x512GB Samsung 960 Pro
    CPU CoolerNZXT X62
    CaseNZXT Noctis 450 ROG Edition
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova P2 850W
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
    Headset Logitech G933 Artemis Spectrum
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterUnifi Security Gateway
    Accessory #1 Saitek X52
    Accessory #2 Xbox One Wireless Controller
    Accessory #3 Steam Wireless Controller
    Deus Maximus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    I've just recently built a system with the X299-E Gaming, initially using an old Toughpower semi-modular 1200W PSU, and eventually switching over to an EVGA 850W P2. The CPU is a 7820X, and the RAM is two sticks of 16GB Kingston HyperX Predator DDR4 3000. Like yourself, I'm running with the XMP profile enabled, but the CPU is currently running stock.

    I built the system 4 days ago, and changed power supplies two days ago. Yesterday, I had one hard lock of the system, which required me to power off and on the system. Nothing in the event log so far to indicate what happened, and nothing of note really occured when the system froze. It wasn't under load at all, and the temperatures weren't an issue.

    I'm going to leave the system as is for a while, and see if it comes back again. I'd be interested to know if switching off XMP helped for you.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Moloch's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    91

    I had similar issues with my R4E build. Random glitches/lock-ups that were hard to trace to a specific source

    In my case, it was the RAM. Specifically, one of the secondary timings. Though I don't recall which one, one of them had to relaxed quite a bit (maybe tRFC?)

    From what I have heard, XMP only sets the primary timings, not secondary or tertiary

    You could check out this post from raja about RAM timings on the Crosshair V:
    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...ll=1#post15981
    Last edited by Moloch; 08-26-2017 at 05:53 AM.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array Deus Maximus PC Specs
    Deus Maximus PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS ROG Strix Scar II GL504GS
    MotherboardASUS ROG Strix X299-E Gaming
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 7820X
    Memory (part number)2x KHX3000C15/16GX
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix GeForce GTX 1080 (A8G)
    Sound CardASUS SupremeFX
    MonitorASUS PG348Q
    Storage #12x 2TB Seagate HDD's, 1x 256GB Samsung 950 Pro, 1x512GB Samsung 960 Pro
    CPU CoolerNZXT X62
    CaseNZXT Noctis 450 ROG Edition
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova P2 850W
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
    Headset Logitech G933 Artemis Spectrum
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterUnifi Security Gateway
    Accessory #1 Saitek X52
    Accessory #2 Xbox One Wireless Controller
    Accessory #3 Steam Wireless Controller
    Deus Maximus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Well, I've managed to find something that would cause the system to run unstable enough for an application crash or complete system freeze. Funnily enough, it's Batman Arkham Knight.

    So, setting every graphic setting as high it could go, enabling all of the nVIDIA Gameworks settings and running at 3440x1440 at 100Hz with GSync enabled, I could either force it to cause an application crash or total system lockup when running the XMP profile of my RAM. Interestingly enough, setting it back to stock would enable the game to run glitch free. I'm about to set things back to XMP to see it isn't just coincidence.

    I haven't run Arkham Knight before I swapped out the old Thermaltake 1200W to the new shiny EVGA 850W P2, but I didn't experience any issues running 3DMark and a couple of other games when using XMP with the Toughpower.

    I did have an issue trying to run the USB3 hub my monitor provides when using the Toughpower (it'd always report that a USB device failed, regardless of what port I'd use), but I no longer have that issue when I use the EVGA. As for USB devices, I have a Logitech gaming keyboard and mouse, 720P webcam, Steam controller dongle, Xbox One controller dongle, Logitech wireless headset dongle, sometimes a Saitek X52 HOTAS (only plugged in when I use it), the monitor's USB3 hub, and an internal USB hub as I have front port USB 2.0 ports and an NZXT cooler, but only one USB2 header on the motherboard.

    So... in summary:

    Random lockups seem to be related to XMP, and running stock seems to fix stability. I'm about to reboot and verify that.

    System seemed more stable when running XMP and a different power supply. Again, I'll need to verify that. The power supply used could be a red herring.

    Other than the wattage outputted, the main difference between the two power supplies is the EVGA has a single beefy +12V rail (70.8A, 849.6W) and the older 1200W Toughpower has multiple +12V rails (20A on the first +12V, 36.0A on the second +12V, 30A on the +3.3V, 600W combined for the lot, and the same for the second set).

    Edit: Okay, can confirm that setting the XMP profile causes Batman Arkham Knight to crash. What little of it that runs also seems to indicate that there's some performance loss as well.

    I'll run a few other things to see if anything else causes issues as well. If I get a chance to, I might also see how it goes when using the old Toughpower later this week or next weekend.
    Last edited by Deus Maximus; 08-27-2017 at 01:23 PM. Reason: Confirmation

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    The best way to see if your problem is caused by memory instability is by testing the memory with HCI Memtest or Google Stressapptest for Linux.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Sorry it's been a few days, I had to leave town for business. Last night I ran HCI Memtest on the available memory. Each time I ran the tests, the system would lock up anywhere from 2-20 minutes. Since I recently purchased the Gskill memory on Amazon, I was able to get a full refund. I decided to go with Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 4000. As soon as I get these installed I will run some stress tests and report back.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •