Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 20 of 20
  1. #11
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,831

    On installing, report back if experiencing instability. You will likely need to tune the system manually, moreover, there are no guarantees that 4Ghz is possible on all CPU.

  2. #12
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Update - After replacing the Gskill memory with Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (2x8GB) DDR4 4000 (PC4-32000) C19 for Intel 200 - PC memory CMK16GX4M2E4000C19R I've yet to experience a total lock up even after running Memtest overnight.

    I did have an unusual error after installing the new faster memory and setting the XMP mode. I started getting the LED Q-Code "BD" which eventually forced me into safe mode upon booting. After the following advice in this older post - https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...uot-No-restart I adjusted some of the voltage dropping the memory slightly below 4000 mhz which allowed me to boot with out any QCodes. I wonder if the original issue could have been resolved with some tuning, although without the Q code I might not have figured it out.

  3. #13

  4. #14
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array LiveOrDie PC Specs
    LiveOrDie PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS RAMPAGE VI EXTREME OMEGA
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 7980XE Custom IHS @ 4.6Ghz 1.23v
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB F4-3000C14D 64GB
    Graphics Card #1AORUS GeForce RTX™ 2080 Ti XTREME WATERFORCE WB 11G
    MonitorLG 4k 43inch
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro NVME 512gb
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Evo 1TB x 2
    CPU CoolerEK-Velocity , EK-CoolStream PE 360, XSPC TX240 Ultrathin, EK X-RES 140 Revo D5 RGB PWM
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 500D SE ATX-E Modded
    Power SupplyCooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset Razer Tiamat 2.2 v2
    OS Windows 10 x64
    Network RouterNetGear
    LiveOrDie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    41
    Posts
    1,680

    I know this is a old thread but, after removing my OC due to my monoblock not being able to cool my CPU enough, I've been getting lockups to making me think my system was more stable overclocked lol.

  5. #15
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,831

    Cooling has a big impact on this platform. You might want to try more VCCIN, as too little can cause these types of system hangs.

  6. #16
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array LiveOrDie PC Specs
    LiveOrDie PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS RAMPAGE VI EXTREME OMEGA
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 7980XE Custom IHS @ 4.6Ghz 1.23v
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB F4-3000C14D 64GB
    Graphics Card #1AORUS GeForce RTX™ 2080 Ti XTREME WATERFORCE WB 11G
    MonitorLG 4k 43inch
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro NVME 512gb
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Evo 1TB x 2
    CPU CoolerEK-Velocity , EK-CoolStream PE 360, XSPC TX240 Ultrathin, EK X-RES 140 Revo D5 RGB PWM
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 500D SE ATX-E Modded
    Power SupplyCooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset Razer Tiamat 2.2 v2
    OS Windows 10 x64
    Network RouterNetGear
    LiveOrDie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    41
    Posts
    1,680

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone@ASUS View Post
    Cooling has a big impact on this platform. You might want to try more VCCIN, as too little can cause these types of system hangs.
    Thanks for the reply, does LLC effect the VCCIN because I've never needed to change it for my overclock before but I did have LLC on level 6.

  7. #17
    ROG Enthusiast Array Geekslayer PC Specs
    Geekslayer PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    Processori9-7940x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Platinum 3000 64GB
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080 Ultra
    Graphics Card #2EVGA RTX 2080 Ultra
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorAsus
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro NVMe
    Storage #2(4) 860 EVO SATA III - Raid 0 - 4TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair 150i Pro
    CaseAir 540
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000 P2
    Keyboard Microsoft
    Mouse Microsoft
    OS Windows 10 x64 - 1809
    Network RouterAsus 5300 RT

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    Quote Originally Posted by LiveOrDie View Post
    Thanks for the reply, does LLC effect the VCCIN because I've never needed to change it for my overclock before but I did have LLC on level 6.

    If you manually set the VCCIN to lets say 1.9 and you're not using LLC, that 1.9 could drop to 1.79 under load. A higher level of LLC (lets say)
    5 or 6 may prevent that 1.9 to drop below 1.85 under load. Where a setting of 7 or higher might increase it.

    these numbers are examples only, don't use them on your cpu

  8. #18
    ROG Enthusiast Array Geekslayer PC Specs
    Geekslayer PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    Processori9-7940x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Platinum 3000 64GB
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080 Ultra
    Graphics Card #2EVGA RTX 2080 Ultra
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorAsus
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro NVMe
    Storage #2(4) 860 EVO SATA III - Raid 0 - 4TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair 150i Pro
    CaseAir 540
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000 P2
    Keyboard Microsoft
    Mouse Microsoft
    OS Windows 10 x64 - 1809
    Network RouterAsus 5300 RT

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    Quote Originally Posted by LiveOrDie View Post
    Thanks for the reply, does LLC effect the VCCIN because I've never needed to change it for my overclock before but I did have LLC on level 6.
    I have a 7940x with all cores at 4.3, I have my VCCIN at 1.95/ LLC 6 and under load it's ends up around around 1.87. If it drops
    below 1.83, i'll get a blue screen while playing one of my games. My SA Voltage is around .910 as well. I wouldn't want to go over 2.0
    with my VCCIN though.

  9. #19
    ROG Enthusiast Array Geekslayer PC Specs
    Geekslayer PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    Processori9-7940x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Platinum 3000 64GB
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080 Ultra
    Graphics Card #2EVGA RTX 2080 Ultra
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorAsus
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro NVMe
    Storage #2(4) 860 EVO SATA III - Raid 0 - 4TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair 150i Pro
    CaseAir 540
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000 P2
    Keyboard Microsoft
    Mouse Microsoft
    OS Windows 10 x64 - 1809
    Network RouterAsus 5300 RT

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    Quote Originally Posted by Geekslayer View Post
    I have a 7940x with all cores at 4.3, I have my VCCIN at 1.95/ LLC 6 and under load it's ends up around around 1.87. If it drops
    below 1.83, i'll get a blue screen while playing one of my games. My SA Voltage is around .910 as well. I wouldn't want to go over 2.0
    with my VCCIN though.
    My LLC is at 3 not 6, sorry.

  10. #20
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array LiveOrDie PC Specs
    LiveOrDie PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS RAMPAGE VI EXTREME OMEGA
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 7980XE Custom IHS @ 4.6Ghz 1.23v
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB F4-3000C14D 64GB
    Graphics Card #1AORUS GeForce RTX™ 2080 Ti XTREME WATERFORCE WB 11G
    MonitorLG 4k 43inch
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro NVME 512gb
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Evo 1TB x 2
    CPU CoolerEK-Velocity , EK-CoolStream PE 360, XSPC TX240 Ultrathin, EK X-RES 140 Revo D5 RGB PWM
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 500D SE ATX-E Modded
    Power SupplyCooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset Razer Tiamat 2.2 v2
    OS Windows 10 x64
    Network RouterNetGear
    LiveOrDie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    41
    Posts
    1,680

    Quote Originally Posted by Geekslayer View Post
    My LLC is at 3 not 6, sorry.
    Yeah maybe I should just set LLC to 6 for stock and see how it goes, it's good to have some droop in case it spikes, I only seem to get lockups when cooking my projects in unreal engine and it's doesn't happen all the time ether.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •