Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    I must be doing something wrong.

    Still on bios 1501 I'm still not able to run @ 3200mhz. I shouldn't have to jump through loops to get it to work. Someone said somewhere that having too much contact pressure on your cpu with a cpu cooler could cause some strange things to happen. Can someone vouch for this? With bios 1403 there was improvement because before I was only able to run at 2666 but now I'm able to run at 3000mhz. Anyways just trying to figure out if other people are still having this issue. If so ASUS should stop trying to sell people on the fact that this board can run at 3200mhz if it is hit or miss depending on the RAM you have. I'm even using memory on the QVL
    Last edited by Upgrade01; 08-23-2017 at 01:32 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array andyliu PC Specs
    andyliu PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 3700X
    Memory (part number)(32GB) 2*F4-3200C14D-16GFX
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 980 FTW
    Storage #1Samsung Evo 850 500GB
    Storage #2Mushkin Enhanced ECO3 480GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105
    CaseCooler Master H500M
    Power SupplyThermaltake TOUGHPOWER 750W
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC3100 + PCE-AC88

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    169

    few things you can try, and the first thing I will try is to run 1 ram at a time to see if the ram is the issue.
    It will also help to list your hardware spec. Maybe ppl with similar hardware can easily point out what you can try to achieve the memory O.C.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    36

    Someone else also said that there's a santa claus. You should get my point from that.

    If you have RAM, which is on QVL and rated 3200 - you definately should run it at rated speed. Tried to put timings manually? What about voltages?

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    79

    What RAM are you using? Different RAM requires different settings.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Thank you for the suggestions. The RAM I'm currently running is CMD16GX4M2B3200C16 (Link: https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...82E16820233913). I have tried just about everything timings, voltage, DOCP, etc. I think it is just a platform thing ATM. I might just need to give it more time. Also, is any buddy else running 1501? My temp software seems to be reporting temps 5-10*c higher than usual. one more thing concerning temps. My temps seem to get to a certain point lets say 40*C it will drop 1 degree per second, then it will jump back up to 40*C for no reason and repeat the process. Any ideas?

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Using the 16GB vengeance LPX kit with slightly tighter timings than marked in that product description (16-16-16-39) and I'm running at 3200.
    1501, Ryzen 1700 OC'd to 3800 (a bit high on voltage at 1.35, went for stability over temperature), Corsair H100i V2 AIO, Samsung 960 EVO nVME drive.

    I used TyphoonBurner to get the timings for the RAM from the XMP profile on the RAM and manually entered them. Worked from 1401 and later, I picked up my motherboard right at that update so I don't know about earlier versions. The timings in the 3200mhz XMP profile for the LPX kits is pretty close to the Dominator kits, which really ought to be tighter, not looser, in my opinion. There are a couple programs around that can read the XMP profiles on the ram, try setting everything manually to those exact settings. Yeah, it's crap you have to do it manually, but it IS overclocking the RAM, really, and XMP is an Intel thing.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array davemon50 PC Specs
    davemon50 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY-DH72 (17") and Asus G752VT-DH74 (17")
    MotherboardAsus ROG LGA2011-v3 Rampage V Edition 10, x99 EATX
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6950X Extreme 10-core 25MB Cache 3.0 GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX Red DDR4 DRAM 64GB-4x16 3333 (CMK64GX4M4B3333C16R)
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Graphics Card #2Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Sound CardAsus SupremeFX Hi-Fi Audio DAC
    Monitor(2) Dell UltraSharp U2515H 25-inch monitors
    Storage #1(4) SSD's - Samsung 960 & 970 1TB M.2, Intel 535 480G, Intel 510 250G
    Storage #2(3) HDD's - Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB 3.5-in SATA III 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H80
    CaseCorsair Obsidian Series 650D Black, ATX, Mid Tower
    Power SupplyCorsair Digital AXi-Series AX1200i (1200W) 80+ Platinum Rating
    Keyboard Logitech Wireless K360
    Mouse Logitech Wireless MX Anywhere 2
    Headset HyperX Cloud II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
    davemon50's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    49
    Posts
    1,055

    Have you tried running at 3000 MHz? Probably stable there on default XMP.
    Davemon50

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array syldon PC Specs
    syldon PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus crosshair VII
    Processor2700X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z 32GB DDR4 F4-4000C18Q-32GTZKW running at 3466 14-14-14-28
    Graphics Card #1MSI 1080
    Graphics Card #2MSI 1080
    Sound Cardon board
    MonitorAsus PB287Q X 2
    Storage #1480gb M2 samsung m961
    Storage #21tb 850 evo and 2tb 850 evo
    CPU Coolercorsair hydro 110i
    Casegeneric
    Power Supplytitanium 1600w platinum
    Keyboard corsair strafe
    Mouse logitech g700
    Headset logitech g930
    Mouse Pad corsair duo
    OS Windows 10 po
    Network RouterVirgin media super hub 2
    Accessory #1 https://imgur.com/KRQSu70
    syldon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    198

    Quote Originally Posted by Cspradlin View Post
    Using the 16GB vengeance LPX kit with slightly tighter timings than marked in that product description (16-16-16-39) and I'm running at 3200.
    1501, Ryzen 1700 OC'd to 3800 (a bit high on voltage at 1.35, went for stability over temperature), Corsair H100i V2 AIO, Samsung 960 EVO nVME drive.

    I used TyphoonBurner to get the timings for the RAM from the XMP profile on the RAM and manually entered them. Worked from 1401 and later, I picked up my motherboard right at that update so I don't know about earlier versions. The timings in the 3200mhz XMP profile for the LPX kits is pretty close to the Dominator kits, which really ought to be tighter, not looser, in my opinion. There are a couple programs around that can read the XMP profiles on the ram, try setting everything manually to those exact settings. Yeah, it's crap you have to do it manually, but it IS overclocking the RAM, really, and XMP is an Intel thing.
    Use this link to install stilt's current settings tool. It is an easy way to pass out a record of all your timings.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •