Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    132

    Lag in Windows 10 and applications/games with SLI (Solved?)

    Crosspost from http://www.overclock.net/t/1636566/a...#post_26304152
    Myself and another user with ROG Zenith Extreme experienced a lot of lag/stutter when using SLI with nVidia graphic cards, equipped in the PCIE 3 x16 slots.

    This seems to appear when Windows is using HPET. (I don't know if there is an option to disable it in BIOS)

    Solution:
    Quote Originally Posted by cheddle
    Open CMD as an administrator

    run:
    bcdedit /enum

    if you see 'useplatformclock' set to true then run thats your problem

    I ran:
    bcdedit /set useplatformclock false

    bcdedit /deletevalue useplatformclock

    you might get away with just running
    bcdedit /deletevalue useplatformclock
    After I performed the changes above and rebooted, lag was gone when trying CS:GO. Pending more tests.

  2. #2
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    I know one person had to do this on X299, too. No HPET option in UEFI, since this is handled by the OS.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array legendarypoet PC Specs
    legendarypoet PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Zenith Extreme
    ProcessorAMD Threadripper 1950X
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance RGB 128GB (8 x 16GB) DDR4-3200
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC2 Hybrid
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC2 Hybrid
    Monitor3x LG 34UC88
    Storage #13x Samsung 960 PRO 512GB
    Storage #26x Seagate 8TB 7.2k RPM
    CPU CoolerEnermax LiqTech TR4 360
    CaseCorsair 760T (Black)
    Power SupplyCorsair RMx 1000i
    Keyboard Art Lebedev Optimus Maximus
    Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    legendarypoet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    Oh man! I didn't realize others were having this problem! I was just about to reload windows thinking the install was bad or something!
    I will try this when I get home!

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array legendarypoet PC Specs
    legendarypoet PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Zenith Extreme
    ProcessorAMD Threadripper 1950X
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance RGB 128GB (8 x 16GB) DDR4-3200
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC2 Hybrid
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC2 Hybrid
    Monitor3x LG 34UC88
    Storage #13x Samsung 960 PRO 512GB
    Storage #26x Seagate 8TB 7.2k RPM
    CPU CoolerEnermax LiqTech TR4 360
    CaseCorsair 760T (Black)
    Power SupplyCorsair RMx 1000i
    Keyboard Art Lebedev Optimus Maximus
    Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    legendarypoet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    Wow. I did this over RDP, and even so I can tell it's night and day difference. Thanks so much for posting this.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    132

    Can confitm disabling HPET fixed SLI issues that I was having.

    Battlefield 1 on Ultra 2560*1440 went from 30-50FPS to 90-120FPS on my rig. (dual Gigabyte GeForce 980 G1 Gaming)
    10 minutes on a map and max temp on CPU was 61 degrees celcius. (Corsair H100i v2)

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array legendarypoet PC Specs
    legendarypoet PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Zenith Extreme
    ProcessorAMD Threadripper 1950X
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance RGB 128GB (8 x 16GB) DDR4-3200
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC2 Hybrid
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC2 Hybrid
    Monitor3x LG 34UC88
    Storage #13x Samsung 960 PRO 512GB
    Storage #26x Seagate 8TB 7.2k RPM
    CPU CoolerEnermax LiqTech TR4 360
    CaseCorsair 760T (Black)
    Power SupplyCorsair RMx 1000i
    Keyboard Art Lebedev Optimus Maximus
    Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    legendarypoet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    Reporting back. Everything is perfect now in games. Thanks again!

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    132

    HPET is activated when ASUS AISuite 3 is installed:
    http://www.overclock.net/t/1636566/a...#post_26307022

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array mdzcpa PC Specs
    mdzcpa PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Hero XI
    Processor9900k @ 5.1Ghz All Core 1.315v AVX -2
    Memory (part number)Gskill GTZ 4133 C17 32GB (4x8GB)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 2080 TI OC
    Sound CardOn Board
    MonitorROG PG348Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro M.2 512GB for OS & APPS
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro M.2 1TB for GAMES
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360
    CasePhanteks Evolv X
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime 1000W Titanium
    Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB
    Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
    Headset Corsaur VOID Pro
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300 Wide Desk Mat
    OS WIN 10 Pro
    Network RouterLinksys VELOP
    Accessory #1 ROG 751JY Laptop for Moobile Gaming
    Accessory #2 Koolance EXC-800 Chiller
    Accessory #3 25+ years of overclocking

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    79
    Posts
    916

    Does this issue only occur with X399 or X299? Running bcdedit /enum shows no addition of 'useplatformclock' on my Z270 (Hero IX) with AI Suite installed.

    Scratch that. I think I've found plenty of information about AMD overclocking needing HPET activated in order to work. Perhaps AI Suite installs the entry only on AMD platforms.
    Last edited by mdzcpa; 08-27-2017 at 02:13 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •