Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 39
  1. #11
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by Superbowl View Post
    Hi Everyone.

    I have very similar equipment as the OP, and I had the exact same problem with 702. I have the i7-7820X and X299-A and 32 GB Kingston Predator HyperX DDR4- 3000 (4x8GB). I had no problems with BIOS 503. I upgraded to 702, and had constant Whea_uncorrectable_error (0x00000124) that led to the blue screen of death in Windows 10. I was lucky enough to flash back to 503, and everything is very stable once again. I think since "improved Kingston DRAM compatibility issue on intel X-series" was listed on 503 notes that it is definitely a RAM problem most likely for Kingston RAM in 702. I most likely will just stick with 503. It works fine. 702 was a mess for me.


    It's the same situation as me. (My RAM model is F4-3200C16Q-16GTZB)
    I'm using version 0503 now and I have no problem.
    I hope this problem will be improved in the next Update.
    Last edited by multippp; 08-27-2017 at 12:21 PM.

  2. #12
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Superbowl PC Specs
    Superbowl PC Specs
    MotherboardPrime X-299A
    Processori7-7820X
    Memory (part number)32 GB Kingston HyperX KHX3000C15D4/8GX
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB
    MonitorLG 4K Monitor
    Storage #1Samsung 512GB 960 Pro Nvme M.2
    Storage #2Western Digital SATA 7200 6 TB
    Power Supply1000W EVGA® SuperNOVA 80 Plus Certified PSU

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    75

    Quote Originally Posted by multippp View Post
    It's the same situation as me. (My RAM model is F4-3200C16Q-16GTZB)
    I'm using version 0503 now and I have no problem.
    I hope this problem will be improved in the next Update.
    Yes, it is very strange, but most people seems to have more stability with 702, but mine, like yours, would not work with 702. I tried XMP on and off and it simply would not work with 702. I am also back on 503, and working fine. ASUS needs to look into it. It seems like the type of RAM you have affects whether a certain BIOS will work or not.

  3. #13
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    If you guys need the 0702 BIOS for a specific features that it offers, there's a simple solution. What you can do is copy the second and third timings from the 0503 BIOS and input them manually in the 0702 BIOS.

  4. #14
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    If you guys need the 0702 BIOS for a specific features that it offers, there's a simple solution. What you can do is copy the second and third timings from the 0503 BIOS and input them manually in the 0702 BIOS.
    I've tried the tip you gave me now.
    Unfortunately, it failed.
    I can not even boot from memory voltage 1.35v.
    It was possible to boot from Voltage Auto. But it was very high at 1.46v.
    Of course, the 0503 Ver. was able to boot with a voltage of 1.35v(XMP)
    I had to lower the ram clock to boot to a voltage of 1.35v. I eventually installed it again with version 0503.
    Last edited by multippp; 08-29-2017 at 03:35 AM.

  5. #15
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Hi all,

    I must say I'm experiencing similar issues with version 0702.
    On Windows I have the same BSOD error: Whea_uncorrectable_error (0x00000124). Turning back to 0503 fixes these BSODs as well.
    However, I'm experiencing another issue: I can't install Ubuntu because of an ACPI error. This is not fixed by flashing back to 0503.

    Anyone experiencing the same problems? Any solutions?
    Some have suggested turning off hyper threading, but as a software development PC it would be a big deal to miss it.

    My setup:
    - I7 7820x
    - Asus Prime X299-A
    - 32GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000Mhz (4x8GB)
    - Nvidia GTX 1070
    - Samsung 960 Pro NVMe SSD

    Thanks in advance.
    Last edited by pieterjanvh; 09-11-2017 at 05:06 PM.

  6. #16
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Superbowl PC Specs
    Superbowl PC Specs
    MotherboardPrime X-299A
    Processori7-7820X
    Memory (part number)32 GB Kingston HyperX KHX3000C15D4/8GX
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB
    MonitorLG 4K Monitor
    Storage #1Samsung 512GB 960 Pro Nvme M.2
    Storage #2Western Digital SATA 7200 6 TB
    Power Supply1000W EVGA® SuperNOVA 80 Plus Certified PSU

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    75

    I have almost the identical setup as you except for RAM is Kensington HyperX 3000 and GPU is 1060 instead of 1070 and I experience the same Whea_uncorrectable_error (0x00000124) errors with 702. I was lucky enough to go back to 503 which makes my system stable again.

    Quote Originally Posted by pieterjanvh View Post
    Hi all,

    I must say I'm experiencing similar issues with version 0702.
    On Windows I have the same BSOD error: Whea_uncorrectable_error (0x00000124). Turning back to 0503 fixes these BSODs as well.
    However, I'm experiencing another issue: I can't install Ubuntu because of an ACPI error. This is not fixed by flashing back to 0503.

    Anyone experiencing the same problems? Any solutions?
    Some have suggested turning off hyper threading, but as a software development PC it would be a big deal to miss it.

    My setup:
    - I7 7820x
    - Asus Prime X299-A
    - 32GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000Mhz (4x8GB)
    - Nvidia GTX 1070
    - Samsung 960 Pro NVMe SSD

    Thanks in advance.

  7. #17
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by Superbowl View Post
    I have almost the identical setup as you except for RAM is Kensington HyperX 3000 and GPU is 1060 instead of 1070 and I experience the same Whea_uncorrectable_error (0x00000124) errors with 702. I was lucky enough to go back to 503 which makes my system stable again.
    Yes, that seems to have fixed the BSODs. Not the ACPI errors on installing Ubuntu 16.04 though...
    Hopefully they release a more stable BIOS for these X299 motherboards shortly.

  8. #18
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Perhaps it's not a RAM issue. It may be related to the CPU cache side.
    I manually entered the 0702 BIOS in the same way as the value set in 0503, but the same error occurred.
    Even the HCI Memtest PRO test passed 500%.
    This may be a very complex problem.

  9. #19
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    Perhaps I'm misunderstanding Microsoft's information, but it says BSoD 0x124 indicates:
    - A corrected machine check exception occurred
    - A corrected platform error occurred
    - An uncorrectable PCI Express error occurred

    It also says:
    "This bug check is typically related to physical hardware failures. It can be heat related, defective hardware, memory or even a processor that is beginning to fail or has failed. If over-clocking has been enabled, try disabling it. Confirm that any cooling systems such as fans are functional. Run system diagnostics to confirm that the system memory is not defective. It is less likely, but possible that a driver is causing the hardware to fail with this bug check."

    Did BIOS 0702 change anything related to PCIe? Or did the user configure anything related to PCIe differently (from old BIOS settings) after upflashing to BIOS 0702? Is it possible that a failing or borderline component (CPU, RAM, PCIe GPU card, etc) would work "perfectly" (at rated, non-overclocked settings) with one BIOS version but generate fault conditions with another BIOS version?

    Was *anything else* changed around the same time as the BIOS update? Windows Updates, new NVIDIA driver version, anything?
    Last edited by Korth; 09-12-2017 at 07:14 AM.
    "All opinions are not equal. Some are a very great deal more robust, sophisticated and well supported in logic and argument than others." - Douglas Adams

    [/Korth]

  10. #20
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    I did not configure PCIe differently. 100% is the same.
    I did not even run Windows Update and the driver version of Nvidia is the same. Same day, same hardware, same software tested.
    Because this error occurs intermittently, it is hard to find the cause.
    However, there is a high probability that an error will occur immediately after the program is executed or terminated.
    Some users of Coolenjoy.net are using the 0503 or 0402 version because they experienced the same error as me in version 0702.
    Last edited by multippp; 09-12-2017 at 07:34 AM.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •