Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 20 of 20
  1. #11
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by Bill@ASUS View Post
    Hello nemesyssoft
    Please try refresh the firmware of the device, you can download the files in our official website
    https://www.asus.com/us/Headphones-H...Desk_Download/
    Thank you
    Ok, but I'll have to reboot in Windows. Why don't you guys have a firmware loader for OS X?

  2. #12
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by Bill@ASUS View Post
    Hello nemesyssoft
    Please try refresh the firmware of the device, you can download the files in our official website
    https://www.asus.com/us/Headphones-H...Desk_Download/
    Thank you
    I did refresh the firmware with the one at the link you indicated, version 1.5 with firmware version 208, IIRC. No change. It's particularly bad with the distortion when watching a movie with a lot of loud sounds. For example, I was watching the movie Avatar when the huge tree on the Pandora moon starts crumbling. The distortion became audible almost immediately. So, it seems that distortion is somewhat in relation with the volume of the sound being played. If no sound playing, I hear no distortion for as long as there is no sound. As soon as there is sound and depending on the volume, the distortion starts to be audible.

    What are you planning to do? I specifically purchased this headset because your website mentioned Mac compatibility. Don't you have Macs to test those headsets? Since the headset works under Windows, then this rules out the headset being defective so there is something wrong in the USB info sent to the Mac OS, or something along this line.

    I'm anxiously waiting for your reply.*

  3. #13
    ASUS HQ Service Rep Array Bill@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    433

    Hello nemesyssoft
    We found the same issue as yours on a Macbook when playing music on iTunes
    we'll address this issue to our team and fix it as soon as possible
    In the mean time, can you provide the following information? This would boost our process of solving this issue.
     iTunes Version
     Any additional configuration information would help

    Thank you for your understanding and support

  4. #14
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    3060 homero

    Quote Originally Posted by Bill@ASUS View Post
    Hello nemesyssoft
    We found the same issue as yours on a Macbook when playing music on iTunes
    we'll address this issue to our team and fix it as soon as possible
    In the mean time, can you provide the following information? This would boost our process of solving this issue.
     iTunes Version
     Any additional configuration information would help

    Thank you for your understanding and support
    Awesome! That's the best news I've heard today!

    Right now, I'm using iTunes 12.6.2.20. It may or may not be part of the latest Mac OS X "High Sierra" 10.13 (17A360a).

    Other than that, I don't have any special configuration.

    Here is the link to the latest system diagnostic I ran on my MacBook Pro. Hopefully, it can be useful to you:

    https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B_...5iRERaX0dad1k*

  5. #15
    ASUS HQ Service Rep Array Bill@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    433

    Hello nemesyssoft
    I can't access the system diagnostic on your Google Drive
    It returned with a "Not found, error 404" message. Can you check your link again for me?
    Thank you

  6. #16
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by Bill@ASUS View Post
    Hello nemesyssoft
    I can't access the system diagnostic on your Google Drive
    It returned with a "Not found, error 404" message. Can you check your link again for me?
    Thank you
    Try that link?

    https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B_K...w?usp=sharing*

  7. #17
    ASUS HQ Service Rep Array Bill@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    433

    Hello nemesyssoft
    We have simulated the test environment base on the information provided and here is the result:

    01.Mac OS 10.13 is the beta version and the official version is 10.12.6. We found the same issue on beta version. There might be problems in the beta.
    02.Based on the description you provided earlier, if Strix 7.1 works fine in Windows OS, it means hardware/firmware is okay.
    we have confirmed that the root cause of this problem is not the headset, please consult Apple for solution.
    Thank you

  8. #18
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by Bill@ASUS View Post
    Hello nemesyssoft
    We have simulated the test environment base on the information provided and here is the result:

    01.Mac OS 10.13 is the beta version and the official version is 10.12.6. We found the same issue on beta version. There might be problems in the beta.
    02.Based on the description you provided earlier, if Strix 7.1 works fine in Windows OS, it means hardware/firmware is okay.
    we have confirmed that the root cause of this problem is not the headset, please consult Apple for solution.
    Thank you
    Ok. That's a bit of a shame that you're dropping the ball like this. I understand your logic but I think that you, as a company, would have much more leverage with Apple in bringing compatibility with a unique product to Apple computers. I will log a bug report with Apple since I'm a registered developer but my bug report is not going to have as much priority as if you had contacted Apple to resolve this issue.

    I am disappointed.*

  9. #19
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Problem with the Strix 7.1 on Mac

    Quote Originally Posted by Bill@ASUS View Post
    Hello nemesyssoft
    We have simulated the test environment base on the information provided and here is the result:

    01.Mac OS 10.13 is the beta version and the official version is 10.12.6. We found the same issue on beta version. There might be problems in the beta.
    02.Based on the description you provided earlier, if Strix 7.1 works fine in Windows OS, it means hardware/firmware is okay.
    we have confirmed that the root cause of this problem is not the headset, please consult Apple for solution.
    Thank you
    I think it's a problem with the software, I've discovered that if the audio output is changed while the noise is experienced, when you go back to the headphone output the noise disappears.*I hope not to lose faith in asus, since I am a follower of the brand.

  10. #20
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by KaurFeyn View Post
    I think it's a problem with the software, I've discovered that if the audio output is changed while the noise is experienced, when you go back to the headphone output the noise disappears.*I hope not to lose faith in asus, since I am a follower of the brand.
    I think I did try that in the past but I will try again, thanks.

    Yes, I specifically purchased this headset for its real 7.1 feature. That'd be a shame if it didn't work with macOS.

    By the way, I did open a bug with Apple and they finally agreed it was a known issue. I hope it will get fixed. It was not in the latest update to High Sierra.*

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •