Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    B2 Error - cannot load Video BIOS - when using DIMM.2 Slot

    Howdy,

    I called ASUS tech support and they were rather confused, so I figured I would ask in the forum.

    I have an existing NVME (Samsung 960 Pro) in slot one, under the heat sink.

    I have a secondary NVME (Samsung 950 Pro) I would like to use. I have installed the M.2 drive in both of the slots on the DIMM.2 to the same result.

    I have two 1080Ti (ASUS Strix) installed as the video cards in the machine.

    When the DIMM.2 slot is installed, the machine fails to POST and reports the error:
    B2 - Failed to load Video BIOS

    Removing the DIMM.2 slot allows the machine to boot and be fully operational.

    Removing one of the video cards nets the same result.

    Has anyone successfully used the DIMM.2 slot to add an additional NVME to their system? Is there a secondary config option that is necessary in order to enable this functionality on the board?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    I have 2x NVMe and 2x 1080ti, but my NVMe's are both in the DIMM.2 slot and the 1080Ti's are in the top & bottom slot respectively. IIRC, some of the PCIe slots share resources with the NVMe slots - it's possible you may have a conflict with what slots you're using.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array legendarypoet PC Specs
    legendarypoet PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Zenith Extreme
    ProcessorAMD Threadripper 1950X
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance RGB 128GB (8 x 16GB) DDR4-3200
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC2 Hybrid
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC2 Hybrid
    Monitor3x LG 34UC88
    Storage #13x Samsung 960 PRO 512GB
    Storage #26x Seagate 8TB 7.2k RPM
    CPU CoolerEnermax LiqTech TR4 360
    CaseCorsair 760T (Black)
    Power SupplyCorsair RMx 1000i
    Keyboard Art Lebedev Optimus Maximus
    Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    legendarypoet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    I have every SATA port populated. the M.2, both DIMM.2, an x4 10G NIC, 2x 1080s in SLI. I don't think it's a resource issue.

    Have you tried an empty DIMM.2? Maybe it's just bad. I

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    132

    Quote Originally Posted by [azathot] View Post
    Howdy,

    I called ASUS tech support and they were rather confused, so I figured I would ask in the forum.

    I have an existing NVME (Samsung 960 Pro) in slot one, under the heat sink.

    I have a secondary NVME (Samsung 950 Pro) I would like to use. I have installed the M.2 drive in both of the slots on the DIMM.2 to the same result.

    I have two 1080Ti (ASUS Strix) installed as the video cards in the machine.

    When the DIMM.2 slot is installed, the machine fails to POST and reports the error:
    B2 - Failed to load Video BIOS

    Removing the DIMM.2 slot allows the machine to boot and be fully operational.

    Removing one of the video cards nets the same result.

    Has anyone successfully used the DIMM.2 slot to add an additional NVME to their system? Is there a secondary config option that is necessary in order to enable this functionality on the board?

    Thanks!
    Have you updated your BIOS?
    The one released after the initial solved this very problem with dual graphic cards and DIMM.2

    You can have DIMM.2 installed with the graphics cards and update using BIOS Flashback to the latest (Beta UEFI 9910 found here in the forum, or 0503 on the drivers page)

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    32

    I have all 3 NVME slots filled and have no issues. I have not tried two video cards yet, but my final system will have dual video cards. As others have said, the NVME card shares some PCIE lanes with the PCIE slots. Have you tried removing the second video card and/or moving it to another PCIE slot?

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Updating the BIOS to 0601 Worked

    Thanks everyone for the great suggestions. Updating the BIOS to 0601 fixed the issue with the DIMM.2 slot. I'm able to use my additional NVME drives now. Thanks!

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Well, I'll try to leave a message here in order not to create another similar thread.

    I've just built a new system based on ASUS ROG x399 Zenith Extreme and Threadripper 1950x. AFTER flash-updating my BIOS to 0902 12/21/2017 I started experiencing the very similar problem, every 2nd POST failed with b2 error - cannot load video BIOS or initializing legacy ROM. Removing DIMM.2 card helped, but I am planning to use it later.

    Fortunately, my system is on an Intel Optane 900p installed in the 4th PCIe slot (x4/x4) and I still have a m.2 slot under the chipset heatsink which I can use for another NVMe SSD.

    I have only one graphics card (ATI Radeon Pro WX3100). I use PCIe 2.0 x4 for Aquantia 10Gb card and x1 for additional SATA controller. I am also planning to install a LSI MegaRaid 8i controller.

    Which BIOS should I use to make my system more stable?

    By the way, I could not overclock my 64Gb memory kit (Corsair LPX 3000 cl15) to 3000MHz. It is stable only up to 2800MHz. The kit is listed as recommended/tested for the Zenith Extreme. I'm not sure whether it's a memory issue or motherboard/BIOS problem.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    102
    Posts
    982

    Quote Originally Posted by Skillividden View Post
    By the way, I could not overclock my 64Gb memory kit (Corsair LPX 3000 cl15) to 3000MHz. It is stable only up to 2800MHz. The kit is listed as recommended/tested for the Zenith Extreme. I'm not sure whether it's a memory issue or motherboard/BIOS problem.
    That is likely to be non Samsung B die, TR IMC favours that. The kit is likely to be dual sided/rank, which lowers MHz above official to be gained. I reckon your best off opening a new thread on this topic/finding one to post in, as we'd end up off topic due to title of this topic.
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R5 3600 - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero Wifi - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3800MHz C16 - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Yes, it's definitely not Samsung b-die. But for me, 2800MHz instead of 3000 is not really a problem, at last not a major issue. As I wrote I have almost the same issue with error b2 and dimm.2 slot.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    102
    Posts
    982

    Quote Originally Posted by Skillividden View Post
    Yes, it's definitely not Samsung b-die. But for me, 2800MHz instead of 3000 is not really a problem, at last not a major issue.
    Ok .

    Quote Originally Posted by Skillividden View Post
    As I wrote I have almost the same issue with error b2 and dimm.2 slot.
    Sorry nothing I can share on this .
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R5 3600 - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero Wifi - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3800MHz C16 - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •