Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    PG279Q Won't Go Above 85Hz

    Hey Everyone,

    After this display working perfectly fine for the past year, it has suddenly developed an issue. After moving my computer and monitor back to school, I can no longer display anything above 85hz. Sometimes I'll turn on the computer and I'll only have the option of 23 or 24hz, which I'm unable to get out of for days at a time. Other days, it'll boot up into 85hz, but won't go anything higher than that. I'm using DisplayPort obviously, but HDMI works totally fine, and outputs at 60hz like it should.
    I've tried:
    1. Power Cycling the monitor
    2. Power cycling the computer (a lot)
    3. Reinstalling Drivers
    4. Changing the DisplayPort Cable
    5. Resetting the Monitor Settings
    6. Trying a different GPU (1080ti)
    7. Changing power settings in windows
    8. Changing resolution to see if different hz settings appeared (they didn't)

    I've probably tried more than that, but I can't remember. Has anyone else had these issues? Or does anyone else have ideas? It's very odd that this has just started occurring out of the blue. Any help would be appreciated!

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array AlexTheRepublican PC Specs
    AlexTheRepublican PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G55VW-DH71
    MotherboardROG STRIX Z270H GAMING
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-7700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX Black 16GB DDR4 2133MHz CL13 Dual Channel Kit
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GeForce GTX 1070 STRIX GAMING 8GB DDR5 256-bit
    Storage #1WD Blue 1TB SATA-III 7200 RPM 64MB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H80i v2
    CaseCorsair Carbide SPEC-Alpha black-silver
    Power SupplyCorsair RMx Series RM550x, 80+ Gold 550W
    Keyboard Logitech G413
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset Logitech G913
    Mouse Pad ROG Whetstone
    Headset/Speakers Sony SRS-X2 (AUX)
    OS Windows 10 64-bit
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC1200G+
    AlexTheRepublican's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    107

    This is a weird issue which is above my knowledge to resolve. Have you made any progress?

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array davemon50 PC Specs
    davemon50 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY-DH72 (17") and Asus G752VT-DH74 (17")
    MotherboardAsus ROG LGA2011-v3 Rampage V Edition 10, x99 EATX
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6950X Extreme 10-core 25MB Cache 3.0 GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX Red DDR4 DRAM 64GB-4x16 3333 (CMK64GX4M4B3333C16R)
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Graphics Card #2Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Sound CardAsus SupremeFX Hi-Fi Audio DAC
    Monitor(2) Dell UltraSharp U2515H 25-inch monitors
    Storage #1(4) SSD's - Samsung 960 & 970 1TB M.2, Intel 535 480G, Intel 510 250G
    Storage #2(3) HDD's - Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB 3.5-in SATA III 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H80
    CaseCorsair Obsidian Series 650D Black, ATX, Mid Tower
    Power SupplyCorsair Digital AXi-Series AX1200i (1200W) 80+ Platinum Rating
    Keyboard Logitech Wireless K360
    Mouse Logitech Wireless MX Anywhere 2
    Headset HyperX Cloud II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
    davemon50's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    48
    Posts
    1,126

    I would've guessed DP cable or power settings (your #4 and #7), looks like you've tried those.

    Regarding Windows power settings can you describe what you've tried, and what version Windows? And are there any power settings for your video driver? Please mention your advanced Windows power settings.

    Could be the monitor is just going bad.
    Davemon50

  4. #4
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,857

    Can you please list your full specs.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    It was the monitor. I had a chance to test it on another one and everything works fine.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •