cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can't get 5.1 Surround out of my Maximus IX Hero

bfollowell
Level 9
OK, I'll freely admit that I have no experience with onboard sound. I've had a discrete sound card in every computer I've build since 1993. I say that to clarify that I'm probably doing something really stupid or missing something really obvious.

Anyway, even though I have all five of my audio cables correctly and firmly connected to my motherboard, all I seem to be able to get is Stereo, 2.0 sound. I don't even see a spot where I can change speaker configurations from 2.0 to 4.1 to 5.1, etc., let alone test the different configurations like I'm used to seeing in the Creative sound control app and like I've seen in videos for earlier versions of the Realtek software.

Like I typically do, I didn't even open the driver disc that came with my board. I'd already downloaded all of the appropriate drivers from the hardware manufacturer sites and installed the latest drivers from there. The only things that I seem to have, control panel-wise for the ROG SupremeFX Realtek S1220, is Sonic Studio III and Sonic Radar III. Am I missing something? I've been wandering around in Sonic Studio III looking for what I need, but, at least for me, there just isn't anything there. It really seems as if this control panel is missing half of what I need or that I'm just missing the correct control panel software altogether.

Any ideas?

Thanks.
13 REPLIES 13

Chino
Level 15

bfollowell
Level 9
There is no SupremeFX Control Panel, at least that I can find anywhere. It wasn't installed when I installed the latest Realtek audio driver from the Asus support page. All I have, audio related, are Sonic Studio 3 and Sonic Radar 3, and neither of those have any sort of speaker configuration options.