cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Maximus IX Formula and M.2 SSD installation help

escobar
Level 7
Hi all, first post!

I'm new to this whole M.2 thing, not very pro at these kinda technical stuffs. A little info, I have 3 SSDs, 2 HDD. So, couple of days ago went down SLS and randomly bought a M.2 SSD, should have just get a Samsung, anyway, hopefully I address the essential parts.

Everything was intact, I didnt unplug all cables connected to all my drives, opened the cover of the mobo M.2 and install the M.2 SSD (I know theres 2 slot, 1 is covered by a cover the other is right outside I tried both and none works), after doing so, I was unable to boot to windows, I noticed a white dash blinking around the top left of the screen and it boot me back to the BIOS. My question to this do I need to unplug every SSD and HDD before installing? I'm not sure what do I need to set in my BIOS? I did read some guide online but for the most part I was immediately at a state of WTF mode, lol.

I'm only using my M.2 SSD as another storage not gonna install my OS on it permanently, since it's already on 1 of my SSD drive which begs the question cause Ive read guides online stating that I gotta create a bootable USB or DVD to install OS on it and to disconnect everything first so it allow the mobo to recognise it? But what is the purpose for installing another OS on the M.2 SSD and then connecting everything back when my only intention is using it as another storage for games, etc not OS, I don't need 2 OS on 2 drives.

I really couldn't recall what I messed around in the BIOS configuration yesterday, only barely remember the part selecting Auto. x2. x4 and there is 1 more I couldn't recall. Again, hopefully someone with the same mobo or experience can literally guide me step by step, I mean step by step, totally new to the M.2 stuff. I just woke up and thats all I can think of now, let me know if I still need to provide anymore info. Thanks all!