Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array ddmeltzer8 PC Specs
    ddmeltzer8 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)-
    MotherboardAsus prime B-250 plus
    Processori5 7500 kaby lake
    Memory (part number)2x8GB HyperX fury
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX 1060 6GB
    Graphics Card #3-
    Graphics Card #4-
    Sound Card-
    MonitorAOC Q2577PWQ (60 Hz)
    Storage #1Intel SSD M.2 540s Series 480GB
    Storage #22x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerFractal Celsius S24
    CaseFractal define C windowed
    Power SupplyCorsair TX550M
    Keyboard Corsair K70 Lux
    Mouse Roccat Kone Pure Owl-eye
    Headset Sennheiser HD 555
    Mouse Pad Corsair
    Headset/Speakers Harman Kardon HK 395
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterZyXEL VMG 8924
    Accessory #1 Asus PCE-AC55bt networks card
    Accessory #2 -
    Accessory #3 -
    ddmeltzer8's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    69

    router needs modem??? (Resolved)

    Hello,awesome forum.
    I just bought an ASUS AC55U - 4G LTE Modem Router but I cant get it working...
    And somehow I came to suspect that I might actually need to connect a modem to it.Instead of just using a SIM card as I thought.The reason that I believe this is the error is a picture in the manual.(it actually came with a manual I can touch-very cool!)
    I will be happy for all the help I can get since I dont know what what else to do and it cost me a nice chunk of money...

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array ElectroStingz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    27

    Hello,

    This one with a Sim card slot does not require a modem for 4G/3G operation.
    What type of sim card are you using, a data sim or mobile phone PAYG sim?

    Upon inserting the sim card, powering on, connected directly using a LAN port did the ASUS setup run when you tried to access a webpage or manually go to the router's address (192.168....)?

    And you can also update the firmware manually if it is not using the latest version.

  3. #3
    Administrator Array MasterC@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    96
    Posts
    1,492

    Hi ddmeltzer8,

    The AC55U has a built in 4G modem, if you would like to connect it to a cable modem, that is okay too.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	AC55U.JPG 
Views:	0 
Size:	48.9 KB 
ID:	67147
    The ASUS support team will be a better option for any further questions you may have. To contact support for ASUS networking products, please call 1-812-282-2787. Or email the ASUS support team at: networking_support@asus.com

    To help provide ROG forum members a better place to discuss and find answers easier, this section was created specifically for ROG routers.

    Thank you.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array ddmeltzer8 PC Specs
    ddmeltzer8 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)-
    MotherboardAsus prime B-250 plus
    Processori5 7500 kaby lake
    Memory (part number)2x8GB HyperX fury
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX 1060 6GB
    Graphics Card #3-
    Graphics Card #4-
    Sound Card-
    MonitorAOC Q2577PWQ (60 Hz)
    Storage #1Intel SSD M.2 540s Series 480GB
    Storage #22x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerFractal Celsius S24
    CaseFractal define C windowed
    Power SupplyCorsair TX550M
    Keyboard Corsair K70 Lux
    Mouse Roccat Kone Pure Owl-eye
    Headset Sennheiser HD 555
    Mouse Pad Corsair
    Headset/Speakers Harman Kardon HK 395
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterZyXEL VMG 8924
    Accessory #1 Asus PCE-AC55bt networks card
    Accessory #2 -
    Accessory #3 -
    ddmeltzer8's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    69

    Quote Originally Posted by ElectroStingz View Post
    Hello,

    This one with a Sim card slot does not require a modem for 4G/3G operation.
    What type of sim card are you using, a data sim or mobile phone PAYG sim?

    Upon inserting the sim card, powering on, connected directly using a LAN port did the ASUS setup run when you tried to access a webpage or manually go to the router's address (192.168....)?

    And you can also update the firmware manually if it is not using the latest version.
    Thanks for getting back to me!
    The SIM I`m using is a sim card I`ve used on another mobile router.And it works fine there.But maybe I need a "data" card.
    I couldnt get it to connect to anything,all I got was a default page saying that the ethernet cable wasnt connected-which it was.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array ddmeltzer8 PC Specs
    ddmeltzer8 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)-
    MotherboardAsus prime B-250 plus
    Processori5 7500 kaby lake
    Memory (part number)2x8GB HyperX fury
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX 1060 6GB
    Graphics Card #3-
    Graphics Card #4-
    Sound Card-
    MonitorAOC Q2577PWQ (60 Hz)
    Storage #1Intel SSD M.2 540s Series 480GB
    Storage #22x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerFractal Celsius S24
    CaseFractal define C windowed
    Power SupplyCorsair TX550M
    Keyboard Corsair K70 Lux
    Mouse Roccat Kone Pure Owl-eye
    Headset Sennheiser HD 555
    Mouse Pad Corsair
    Headset/Speakers Harman Kardon HK 395
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterZyXEL VMG 8924
    Accessory #1 Asus PCE-AC55bt networks card
    Accessory #2 -
    Accessory #3 -
    ddmeltzer8's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    69

    Quote Originally Posted by MasterC@ASUS View Post
    Hi ddmeltzer8,

    The AC55U has a built in 4G modem, if you would like to connect it to a cable modem, that is okay too.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	AC55U.JPG 
Views:	0 
Size:	48.9 KB 
ID:	67147
    The ASUS support team will be a better option for any further questions you may have. To contact support for ASUS networking products, please call 1-812-282-2787. Or email the ASUS support team at: networking_support@asus.com

    To help provide ROG forum members a better place to discuss and find answers easier, this section was created specifically for ROG routers.

    Thank you.
    The whole thread was shifted here by another moderator.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array ddmeltzer8 PC Specs
    ddmeltzer8 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)-
    MotherboardAsus prime B-250 plus
    Processori5 7500 kaby lake
    Memory (part number)2x8GB HyperX fury
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX 1060 6GB
    Graphics Card #3-
    Graphics Card #4-
    Sound Card-
    MonitorAOC Q2577PWQ (60 Hz)
    Storage #1Intel SSD M.2 540s Series 480GB
    Storage #22x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerFractal Celsius S24
    CaseFractal define C windowed
    Power SupplyCorsair TX550M
    Keyboard Corsair K70 Lux
    Mouse Roccat Kone Pure Owl-eye
    Headset Sennheiser HD 555
    Mouse Pad Corsair
    Headset/Speakers Harman Kardon HK 395
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterZyXEL VMG 8924
    Accessory #1 Asus PCE-AC55bt networks card
    Accessory #2 -
    Accessory #3 -
    ddmeltzer8's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    69

    Quote Originally Posted by ElectroStingz View Post
    Hello,

    This one with a Sim card slot does not require a modem for 4G/3G operation.
    What type of sim card are you using, a data sim or mobile phone PAYG sim?

    Upon inserting the sim card, powering on, connected directly using a LAN port did the ASUS setup run when you tried to access a webpage or manually go to the router's address (192.168....)?

    And you can also update the firmware manually if it is not using the latest version.
    It sent me to 192.168.1.1 and I got a message that the ethernet cable wasnt inserted right,even if it was.
    I`m getting a new sim card in 2-3 days and will get back to u when I have tested it.
    Thanks.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array ElectroStingz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    27

    I'll keep an eye for your progress.
    Some of the 4G routers the sim card makes a difference, for example in the UK we have a provider EE, their 4G data sims work ok.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array ddmeltzer8 PC Specs
    ddmeltzer8 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)-
    MotherboardAsus prime B-250 plus
    Processori5 7500 kaby lake
    Memory (part number)2x8GB HyperX fury
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX 1060 6GB
    Graphics Card #3-
    Graphics Card #4-
    Sound Card-
    MonitorAOC Q2577PWQ (60 Hz)
    Storage #1Intel SSD M.2 540s Series 480GB
    Storage #22x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerFractal Celsius S24
    CaseFractal define C windowed
    Power SupplyCorsair TX550M
    Keyboard Corsair K70 Lux
    Mouse Roccat Kone Pure Owl-eye
    Headset Sennheiser HD 555
    Mouse Pad Corsair
    Headset/Speakers Harman Kardon HK 395
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterZyXEL VMG 8924
    Accessory #1 Asus PCE-AC55bt networks card
    Accessory #2 -
    Accessory #3 -
    ddmeltzer8's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    69

    Quote Originally Posted by ElectroStingz View Post
    I'll keep an eye for your progress.
    Some of the 4G routers the sim card makes a difference, for example in the UK we have a provider EE, their 4G data sims work ok.
    Thanks for helping.

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array ddmeltzer8 PC Specs
    ddmeltzer8 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)-
    MotherboardAsus prime B-250 plus
    Processori5 7500 kaby lake
    Memory (part number)2x8GB HyperX fury
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX 1060 6GB
    Graphics Card #3-
    Graphics Card #4-
    Sound Card-
    MonitorAOC Q2577PWQ (60 Hz)
    Storage #1Intel SSD M.2 540s Series 480GB
    Storage #22x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerFractal Celsius S24
    CaseFractal define C windowed
    Power SupplyCorsair TX550M
    Keyboard Corsair K70 Lux
    Mouse Roccat Kone Pure Owl-eye
    Headset Sennheiser HD 555
    Mouse Pad Corsair
    Headset/Speakers Harman Kardon HK 395
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterZyXEL VMG 8924
    Accessory #1 Asus PCE-AC55bt networks card
    Accessory #2 -
    Accessory #3 -
    ddmeltzer8's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    69

    Quote Originally Posted by ElectroStingz View Post
    I'll keep an eye for your progress.
    Some of the 4G routers the sim card makes a difference, for example in the UK we have a provider EE, their 4G data sims work ok.
    Hi.I have just received a new card and everything is working as it should!
    Thqanks for helpin me.
    Stay classy.

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array ddmeltzer8 PC Specs
    ddmeltzer8 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)-
    MotherboardAsus prime B-250 plus
    Processori5 7500 kaby lake
    Memory (part number)2x8GB HyperX fury
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX 1060 6GB
    Graphics Card #3-
    Graphics Card #4-
    Sound Card-
    MonitorAOC Q2577PWQ (60 Hz)
    Storage #1Intel SSD M.2 540s Series 480GB
    Storage #22x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerFractal Celsius S24
    CaseFractal define C windowed
    Power SupplyCorsair TX550M
    Keyboard Corsair K70 Lux
    Mouse Roccat Kone Pure Owl-eye
    Headset Sennheiser HD 555
    Mouse Pad Corsair
    Headset/Speakers Harman Kardon HK 395
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterZyXEL VMG 8924
    Accessory #1 Asus PCE-AC55bt networks card
    Accessory #2 -
    Accessory #3 -
    ddmeltzer8's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    69

    Quote Originally Posted by MasterC@ASUS View Post
    Hi ddmeltzer8,

    The AC55U has a built in 4G modem, if you would like to connect it to a cable modem, that is okay too.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	AC55U.JPG 
Views:	0 
Size:	48.9 KB 
ID:	67147
    The ASUS support team will be a better option for any further questions you may have. To contact support for ASUS networking products, please call 1-812-282-2787. Or email the ASUS support team at: networking_support@asus.com

    To help provide ROG forum members a better place to discuss and find answers easier, this section was created specifically for ROG routers.

    Thank you.
    This thread is now ready for deletion.
    Thanks.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •