Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 77
  1. #21
    ROG Enthusiast Array Frostie36 PC Specs
    Frostie36 PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VII Hero X470 WiFi
    ProcessorRyzen 2700x
    Graphics Card #1Evga 1080TI FE
    Sound CardCreative X-Fi pcie
    MonitorAsus VG278QR
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Pro 256mb
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U12S SE AM4
    CaseHAF 932 Advance
    Power SupplySilverstone Strider 1000w
    Keyboard Logitech g15 v2
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset/Speakers Creative Headphones
    OS Windows 10 Pro X64
    Network RouterNetgear WNDR4500

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    26

    Quote Originally Posted by NemesisChild View Post
    I'm having absolutely no issues with this bios whatsoever.

    I'm thinking as long as you don't cut off power to the board or use S4+S5, you should be fine.
    Funny enough but this is actually the first bios I've used in god knows how long, all the way back 2202 I think which has booted up just fine after the power is disconnected for whatever reason, usually I'd face either a 25,55 or even 00 qcode time and time again before eventually it would boot!

    Haven't got erp enabled yet, might test it to see if I get the same issue as others have been reporting.

  2. #22
    ROG Enthusiast Array scaramonga PC Specs
    scaramonga PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus VIII Hero Alpha
    ProcessorIntel i7 6700k @ 4.8GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill TridentZ 3200 16Gb (8x2) DDR4
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX1080 FE - EK-FC 1080 H20
    Sound CardOnboard SFX
    MonitorASUS RoG Swift PG348Q - 3440x1440 21:9
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 512Gb NVMe SSD
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 512Gb SSD + Samsung 850 EVO 1Tb SSD
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy EVO Nickel CPU Waterblock
    CaseNXZT Switch 810
    Power SupplyCorsair 860i AX - Noiseblocker fan modded
    Keyboard A to Z + some numbers and symbols
    Mouse Logitech G903
    Headset Sennheiser 598's SE
    Mouse Pad Roccat TAITO 3mm medium
    Headset/Speakers Creative T40 II
    OS Windows 10 Enterprise LTSB 2016 x64
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC68U on FTTC - Merlin F/W
    Accessory #1 Alphacool Ut60 Triple RAD
    Accessory #2 XSPC Drive Bay Res
    Accessory #3 EK D5 Vario

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Quote Originally Posted by zebulon2 View Post
    I have the on/off/on problem with 3504 and have it even on a reset bios system, whereas this did not happen with 34xx. Do you really think this is a fiddle of my imagination? Before accusing people of scaremongering, realise that this could be a specific combination of settings and hardware. If you search on/off/on and ASUS on the internet, you will see this is not the first time it has been reported, for various boards and BIOSes. So this is great you have had a good experience, but this is not the case for everyone, and there is no need to suspect they are onto something nefarious. Especially when ASUS support themselves have confirmed the issue...
    Then your using inferior hardware with this board, and I'd suggest spending a little more cash on upgrading these components, instead of coming in here and blaming the BIOS on a board that does cost quite a bit of money, and is not used to cheap **** being thrown into it.

    This board is for the 'big boys' (always has been), who know what they are doing, and not for those who are deep in up to their neck, as you appear to be.

    Go get a Gigabyte or summit else, if you want an easy life, instead of spreading utter nonsense.
    Last edited by scaramonga; 09-10-2017 at 04:55 AM.

  3. #23
    New ROGer Array zebulon2 PC Specs
    zebulon2 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus VIII Gene
    ProcessorIntel 6700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (2x8GB) DDR4 DRAM 3000MHz C15 (CMK16GX4M2B3000C15R)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX970 SC (04G-P4-1972-KR)
    Storage #1Samsung SM961 256MB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 PRO 512MB + HDDs Hitachi/Seagate
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U9S
    Power SupplyCorsair RM850i
    OS Arch Linux 64bit

    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    25

    Quote Originally Posted by scaramonga View Post
    Then your using inferior hardware with this board, and I'd suggest spending a little more cash on upgrading these components, instead of coming in here and blaming the BIOS on a board that does cost quite a bit of money, and is not used to cheap **** being thrown into it.

    This board is for the 'big boys' (always has been), who know what they are doing, and not for those who are deep in up to their neck, as you appear to be.

    Go get a Gigabyte or summit else, if you want an easy life, instead of spreading utter nonsense.
    Listen i do not know what is wrong with you, but you should take a deep breath, read again the forums rules and etiquette, and stop being abusive and condescending. I am very happy for you that you are not affected by a bug which is acknowledged by ASUS themselves, so please leave this thread it does not concern you whatsoever. Thanks.

  4. #24
    New ROGer Array zebulon2 PC Specs
    zebulon2 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus VIII Gene
    ProcessorIntel 6700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (2x8GB) DDR4 DRAM 3000MHz C15 (CMK16GX4M2B3000C15R)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX970 SC (04G-P4-1972-KR)
    Storage #1Samsung SM961 256MB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 PRO 512MB + HDDs Hitachi/Seagate
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U9S
    Power SupplyCorsair RM850i
    OS Arch Linux 64bit

    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    25

    Coming back to the main subject, I am affected by the on/off/on boot from cold (unpowered machine).

    My Specs:
    Mainboard ASUS Maximus VIII Gene
    CPU: Intel 6700K
    RAM: Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (2x8GB) DDR4 DRAM 3000MHz C15
    GPU: EVGA GTX970
    SSD: Samsung SM961 256MB + Samsung 850 PRO 512MB
    HDD: Hitachi/Seagate
    PSU: Corsair RM850i
    Main OS is ArchLinux, but this is irrelevant I suppose.

    The problem has appeared with bios 3501 and happens with 3504.

    Settings: all stock, with XMP auto. However, the issue also happens from a reset bios. Reset was done using the reset switch.

    Please note that apart from the "on/off/on from unplugged" issue, the system works perfectly well, with same level of performance than before.
    Last edited by zebulon2; 09-11-2017 at 02:24 PM.

  5. #25
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    I updated to this new UEFI a couple weeks ago, updated using EZ Flash. All is working perfectly! Great release!

  6. #26
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array AKBAAR PC Specs
    AKBAAR PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus Impact VIII
    ProcessorIntel i7-6700k @ 4.6Ghz
    Memory (part number)TridentZ 3200C14 - 32GTZ 32GB
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X
    MonitorDELL U3014
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Pro SSd
    Storage #2Samsung 840 Pro SSd
    CPU CoolerCorsair H80i GT
    CaseCorsair 250D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX760i
    Keyboard Corsair k70-rgb
    Mouse SteelSeries Rival 100
    OS Windows 10 Pro X64
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC5300

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    251

    All is working perfectly! Great release!

  7. #27
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    8
    Posts
    206

    Bios fixed?

    Strange things are happening with Bios 3504. When I first updated to Bios 3504 I did have shuttoff/on issues when enabling S4/5 in ERp Ready. Went back to Bios 3401 as Asus recommended in a mail sent to me. Yesterday I went back to 3504 again, and guess what? No problem with S4/5. Everything work just fine.
    Very Strange, but as for now bios 3504 has no issues here.

  8. #28
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    XMP profile not working well. RAM modules is working at 1.45v (G Skill F4-3000C15-8GVR). How do I change the voltage to 1.3464v, BIOS shows 1.36v. Processor (6700k) idle at 45ºC when ambiente temp is 20ºC, but cores idle at 28ºC in same room temp (20ºc).

  9. #29
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array HeroVIII PC Specs
    HeroVIII PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus VIII Hero - BIOS 3802
    Processori5 6600K, 3,9 GHZ
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z 3.200 MHz CL16 2x8GB (F4-3200C16D-16GTZ)
    Graphics Card #1Asus STRIX 1070 Ti Advanced
    Sound CardSabre SS9023P SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorSamsung SMART TV 55" 4K
    Storage #1Samsung SM 961 NVMe 256GB OS
    Storage #2Seagate Barracuda 4TB. ASUS HYPER M.2 X4 MINI CARD with Samsung SM 951 NVMe 256GB Game
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U12S
    CaseCorsair 450 D, NZXT Sleeved LED Kit White
    Power SupplyCorsair RM850x ( 2018 ), FURUTECH Evolution Power II, with FURUTECH F1 50 R NCF, F1 E 50 R NCF
    Keyboard Rapoo E2000P
    Mouse Rapoo Optical Mouse
    Headset Sennheiser HD 595, Sony MDR 1 AB
    Headset/Speakers Onkyo TX-NR5009, 7.1 B&W 603 s3 Series and ASW 750
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64Bits UEFI 1809
    Network RouterMitrastar
    Accessory #1 ASUS ROG FRONT BASE - FW 48
    Accessory #2 ASUS PCE-AC56, ASUS DRW-24F1MT
    Accessory #3 Microsoft Xbox One Controller + Wireless Adapter for Windows 10

    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    97

    Quote Originally Posted by emsir View Post
    Strange things are happening with Bios 3504. When I first updated to Bios 3504 I did have shuttoff/on issues when enabling S4/5 in ERp Ready. Went back to Bios 3401 as Asus recommended in a mail sent to me. Yesterday I went back to 3504 again, and guess what? No problem with S4/5. Everything work just fine.
    Very Strange, but as for now bios 3504 has no issues here.
    Well it's curious, I took note of your message communicated by Asus and how I comment returned to 3401 and everything correct; Could it be that they resubmitted the file and have corrected some upload error file to the web or something similar ?.
    Anyway for my part I will wait to see how it unfolds the subject.

  10. #30
    New ROGer Array zebulon2 PC Specs
    zebulon2 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus VIII Gene
    ProcessorIntel 6700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (2x8GB) DDR4 DRAM 3000MHz C15 (CMK16GX4M2B3000C15R)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX970 SC (04G-P4-1972-KR)
    Storage #1Samsung SM961 256MB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 PRO 512MB + HDDs Hitachi/Seagate
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U9S
    Power SupplyCorsair RM850i
    OS Arch Linux 64bit

    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    25

    Quote Originally Posted by HeroVIII View Post
    Well it's curious, I took note of your message communicated by Asus and how I comment returned to 3401 and everything correct; Could it be that they resubmitted the file and have corrected some upload error file to the web or something similar ?.
    Anyway for my part I will wait to see how it unfolds the subject.
    I did not have the time to check, but it is quite easy to verify using checksums. I will try to do this (as I kept the original file) and report back here.
    Now another explanation would be that some settings are not completely reset when doing a BIOS upgrade and reset, but that would be peculiar. Are saved profiles erased when resetting the bios? there are quite a number of reports of issues with this BIOS as seen in the other thread https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...released/page4 and even the off/on/off bug has been described in various contexts (although the S4+S5 setting seems to be the most important one).

Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •