Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Rampage V Edition 10 NIC's AT vs V

    I have owned this from release AND JUST now noticed this. I knew it had built in wifi and GBe NIC. BUT NOT 2 ENTIRELY DIFFERENT Network adapters. I figured they were more of a fail over design. Like in you can quickly swap nics no drivers needed if one had an issue. The reason I am bringing this up is because I cant seem to find one article on google about the x99 Wellsburg specs explaining why the path and hardware design deference, And what it means for real world use.

    Heres what I have from intel ARK comparing them

    1218-V & 1211-AT. First glance I assume the suffixes are some product revision markers that intel make to hardware, -AT vs -V. Because they both start with a 121. I assumed the newer being the 18. Keep looking at the ARK and the AT is older but more expensive. I finally see the main spec change.... down the page the -AT NIC takes PCIe v2.1 (2.5GT/s) route. And the 1218-V seems to go direct to CPU/PCH?? Also GBE Vs GBps? Only can run at full GB ONLY? Currently I have been running the -V for the longest time. Never used the AT.... No issues, But what is this -AT PCIE nic truly for? And why 2.1? What happened to 3.0? WHY DOES IT EVEN EXIST LOL

    TLDR: What the heck do the differences in pathways mean for real world use for the 2 nics on the board? what one do you use and why?!
    (See intel ark for comparison of hardware)



    Thanks for reading!

    Update...wiki of all places had the x99 diagram. Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Diagram.JPG 
Views:	38 
Size:	55.5 KB 
ID:	67265


    SOOO if anything the -V is faster? Thinking just data in and data out here, not a engineer. But It has to hit the PCIE controller inside the 6850k AND pass through PCH. Please take me to school on how this stuff works
    Last edited by Qoto159; 09-09-2017 at 03:38 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    Intel Ethernet Controller I211-AT - ARK - Datasheet
    Intel Ethernet Connection I218-V - ARK - Datasheet

    Both parts are connected to the Intel Integrated 10/100/1000 MAC, which is connected to the X99 (DH82031PCH). The PCH and CPU are connected with 4xDMI2.0 (20Gbps) which is used for all motherboard hardware which isn't connected directly to CPU (network, storage, USB, etc). The I211-AT uses 1xPCIe2.1 (2.5GT/s) and the I218-V uses SM Bus 2.0 (~2.5GT/s).

    The PCIe2.1 used by the I211-AT is "hardwired" and cannot be used for other PCIe2.1 devices. X99 motherboards lacking I211-AT might use this PCIe2.1 lane for a slot or for something else (such as a WiFi adapter).

    The I211-AT is more robust. It can be linked (by the mobo manufacturer) to the IME, TPM, or other Intel platform technologies. It also has GPIO pins which can be linked to auxilliary networking hardware.

    They have similar basic 10/100/1000 GbE capabilities and performances and are basically interchangeable for most consumers; both have the same Tx/Rx queues, packet buffers, timing and power management, ECC, etc. The I211-AT could be faster and better and more secure when combined with certain other embedded hardwares which ASUS did not install on these mobos. The bandwidths of these ports can be combined when both are used together in a "teaming" approach, or they can simultaneously be connected to different physical devices/networks.
    "All opinions are not equal. Some are a very great deal more robust, sophisticated and well supported in logic and argument than others." - Douglas Adams

    [/Korth]

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Thank you!! So none has any major advantage over the other because they are forced through the same MAC. It seems the AT is more enterprise focused and has more features but, the ROG team did not want to QA/Implement it on this mobo. So it brings it pretty much equal to the V in most daily uses. The interconnect SM BUS 2.5 Vs pcie 2.5 also seems like a wash for speed for daily use. I have a SLI 1080 setup (which I OC) and a m.2 960 pro. My 6850k I want to keep stable at its sweet spot at 4.3 @1.26. I highly doubt making the change over to the AT is going to improve anything noticeable like 3dmark scores or IBT GFlop outputs. (182 currently) and only complicate things with driver cleanups and reinstall's. Unless you think its going to add less workload and bring up my scores? If its a wont help with that... Meh ill just stay with the -V. If I had a second WAN I could see myself teaming these up. But just the 1 for now.

    In recap....
    Benching and Overclocking my 6850k arround 4.2-4.5 3dmark, IBT and Realbench. Would I see any uptick in scores having this different path of connection? If so what is the driver you recommend for the AT to have its full capability's? And Should I disable the LAN 1 -v in the bios after uninstall? Or just disable it it devmgr?

    Thank you again for being so in depth and giving me the full story!

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Quote Originally Posted by Qoto159 View Post
    In recap.... [/COLOR]Benching and Overclocking my 6850k arround 4.2-4.5 3dmark, IBT and Realbench. Would I see any uptick in scores having this different path of connection? If so what is the driver you recommend for the AT to have its full capability's? And Should I disable the LAN 1 -v in the bios after uninstall? Or just disable it it devmgr?
    I doubt you will see better scores by swapping LAN ports.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    I doubt you will see better scores by swapping LAN ports.
    OK normally I wouldn't ask such a common sense question but being different architectures, and communication paths. I thought I would check. Based on my gathering of the above info I'll be sticking with port 1 and keep on keeping on. Wouldn't even be able to utilize the features for my basic Modem>router>GB Switch>2 laptops and the RE10. Or care about the Gamers first software. I keep it minimal.


    *zoolander voice* points at second nic... WHAT IS THIS*

    Thank you all for input and translating the Intel engineering level stuff down to function and practical use!!

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    You could just try using each of the two ports on separate benchmark runs, lol. Performances should basically be identical, ignoring the usual insignificant variances which occur from run to run (variances which themselves can be ignored by averaging results over multiple runs). But if one turns out to be faster, for whatever reason, then it's the faster part.

    I think the only reason both ports are present is because Intel designed HEDT X99 to be much the same thing as enterprise C610/C612/etc, Intel's way of ensuring maximal drop-in compatibility with existing enterprise network hardware and software. It's easy enough for ASUS to include everything Intel designed into the platform without needing to worry about figuring out or supporting non-Intel parts (like Atheros Killer NICs, etc), so X99 gets two network ports which are functionally interchangeable even though they are technically mismatched.
    "All opinions are not equal. Some are a very great deal more robust, sophisticated and well supported in logic and argument than others." - Douglas Adams

    [/Korth]

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Quote Originally Posted by Qoto159 View Post
    OK normally I wouldn't ask such a common sense question but being different architectures, and communication paths. I thought I would check. Based on my gathering of the above info I'll be sticking with port 1 and keep on keeping on. Wouldn't even be able to utilize the features for my basic Modem>router>GB Switch>2 laptops and the RE10. Or care about the Gamers first software. I keep it minimal.


    *zoolander voice* points at second nic... WHAT IS THIS*

    Thank you all for input and translating the Intel engineering level stuff down to function and practical use!!
    I understand where you're coming from. If you're looking to get that perfect score, you can disable all the unnecessary devices in the BIOS.

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    OK guys, quick note... Both drivers seemed to be identical on how they perform. BUT the uefi driver viewing the nic under the bios is like v3.5.06, (filler number) and the - V is v0.0.56. Actual number

    Now that we have performance out of the way. Uefi side... Clearly the AT has a much more newer uefi hardware driver. Will that make any difference? I will upload pics in a few. On mobile

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	15051931318031105748338.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	228.8 KB 
ID:	67302

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	15051932210061322266925.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	208.3 KB 
ID:	67303


    Sorry for the double bump. Phone browser is weird with uploads... But yeah. Quite contrast in uefi drivers. Hmmm

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •