Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 33
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    ....

    Hi,

    Why is that on every Laptop from ASUS (not just the ROG series) that doesnt ship with Win8 preinstalled,
    but for example came with Windows 7, Linux oder DOS
    is missing the following Setup options

    Fastboot ( under Boot Tab )
    CSM (under Boot Tab)
    Secure Boot ( under Security Tab)

    They are hidden by manufacturer?

    How to bypass the hiding?

    I have a machine that didnt came with Win 8 but i have a Win 8 license and want to be able to use those advanced features.
    Last edited by okatomy; 09-01-2013 at 11:33 PM.

  2. #2
    imMortal Kombatant Array Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage IV Formula
    ProcessorIntel i7 3930K
    Memory (part number)8GB Corsair XMS3 1600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Radeon 7970 3GD5
    Sound CardROG Xonar Phoebus
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster SA300
    Storage #1Corsair Neutron 128GB
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair A50 Pro Air Cooler
    CaseBitFenix Merc Alpha
    Power SupplyThermaltake Litepower 700W
    Keyboard Alienware TactX Keyboard
    Mouse Tesoro Gandiva H1L
    OS Win7 Ultimate x64
    Myk SilentShadow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    5,241

    Those features I do believe are only available for Windows 8/UEFI BIOS, unless I am wrong, someone will tell me so.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    G75 has always UEFI Bios for example no matter if it shipped with Win 7 and Win 8

    But those options are only visible to Laptops originally shipped with win 8.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array GottiBoi55's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    22
    Posts
    1,117

    Quote Originally Posted by okatomy View Post
    G75 has always UEFI Bios for example no matter if it shipped with Win 7 and Win 8

    But those options are only visible to Laptops originally shipped with win 8.

    What BIOS Version you have installed?

    I believe BIOS V223 for the VW, and V206 for the VX have the options in mention!

    Edit: Sorry for confustion, only pre-installed Win8 models has the option.

    Last edited by GottiBoi55; 10-20-2013 at 01:49 AM.
    GottiBoi55
    Asus
    G750JZ-DS71 Windows 10 Pro (x64)
    Intel® Core™ i7 4700HQ (2.40GHz)
    Samsung
    24GB Memory DDR3 1600 MHz SDRAM
    SanDisk
    M.2 SSD 2x128GB in Raid 0 / WD-HGST-1TB HDD 7500-RPM
    NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 880M 4 GB GDDR5 VRAM
    Second Monitor: Shar
    p Aquos 32"

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    BIOS 223 on a G75VW that originally shipped with windows 7

    do you have those options on yours ? was yours shipped with win 7 oder 8?

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array rewben PC Specs
    rewben PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G55VW-3D
    MotherboardASROCK Z97 EXTREME 6
    ProcessorINTEL 4790K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL RIPJAWZ 2400MHZ (F3-19200CL10Q-32GBZHD)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    Graphics Card #2ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorDELL U2713HM
    Storage #1SAMSUNG SM843 480GB X2
    Storage #2WD GREEN 3TB X2
    CPU CoolerSWIFTECH H240-X
    CaseNZXT H440
    Power SupplyTHERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER XT PLATINUM 1275W
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 RGB
    Mouse STEELSERIES KINZU V3
    Headset STEELSERIES 9H
    Mouse Pad STEELSERIES QCK+
    Headset/Speakers LOGITECH Z506
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO AU
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    178
    Posts
    2,229

    @okatomy, such options only appear in laptops with w8 preloaded.

    why do you need those bios options for? that's one funny way MS blocking average users to access other OS's in the name of security. it does nothing useful in the real world (unless, of course, the implementation allows all other OS's to be equally protected).

    i have a w7-preinstalled laptop. i am glad it doesn't have these funny options.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    i know but i feel like im an advanced user and i want to enable / disable whatever options i need.

    it feels more like ASUS is currently blocking me from using the options i want too.

    its not just about secure boot, Fastboot and CSM are hidden too.

    one more reason is that you get a permanent watermark once you upgrade to windows 8.1

    this guy has an ASUS laptop too. it seems to be an ASUS problem.

    http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/w...3-16ffc1d8c30c

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array rewben PC Specs
    rewben PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G55VW-3D
    MotherboardASROCK Z97 EXTREME 6
    ProcessorINTEL 4790K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL RIPJAWZ 2400MHZ (F3-19200CL10Q-32GBZHD)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    Graphics Card #2ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorDELL U2713HM
    Storage #1SAMSUNG SM843 480GB X2
    Storage #2WD GREEN 3TB X2
    CPU CoolerSWIFTECH H240-X
    CaseNZXT H440
    Power SupplyTHERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER XT PLATINUM 1275W
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 RGB
    Mouse STEELSERIES KINZU V3
    Headset STEELSERIES 9H
    Mouse Pad STEELSERIES QCK+
    Headset/Speakers LOGITECH Z506
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO AU
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    178
    Posts
    2,229

    ok the thing is, the secureboot and related options only appear in machines with w8 preloaded. CSM is not needed because we can install whatever we want. as for fastboot, well, i am ok without it. (my g55 boots faster than my aw m17x r4).

    uh? where exactly is the watermark showned? i hope it doesn't affect the performance of the laptop.

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    26

    This watermark "Secureboot isn't configured correctly"
    Disappears when Secureboot is enabled in bios, but we don't have the option to enable this in bios!
    I don't think it will affect the performance!

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array Zygomorphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    176
    Posts
    4,761

    Quote Originally Posted by rewben View Post
    @okatomy, such options only appear in laptops with w8 preloaded.

    why do you need those bios options for? that's one funny way MS blocking average users to access other OS's in the name of security. it does nothing useful in the real world (unless, of course, the implementation allows all other OS's to be equally protected).

    i have a w7-preinstalled laptop. i am glad it doesn't have these funny options.
    @rewben, it only appears with Win 8 preloaded, because Win 8 is designed around EFI, whereas Windows 7 can handle it (but doesn't always like it).

    Yes. Microsoft is blocking in the name of "security", but the security that they are referring to is their own profit margins. I for one would not run Windows if I am totally concerned about security, for a whole host of reasons. I don't know if any of you remember, but Microsoft originally wasn't going to allow SecureBoot to be disabled on x86. They backed down on this when Canonical (Ubuntu), Red Hat (Fedora), and several other companies threatened a lawsuit on anti-competition. Microsoft knew they would lose, so they backed off a bit.
    I am disturbed because I cannot break my system...found out there were others trying to cope! We have a support group on here, if your system will not break, please join!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=16
    We now have 178 people whose systems will not break! Yippee!
    LINUX Users, we have a group!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=23

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •