Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    19
    Posts
    71

    G752VL with Samsung EVO 960 not recognized by Magician

    Okay, I know that Magician is not really critical to have. I simply wanted to test my NVMe a bit and in particular see what version of firmware is on it so I could tell if I need to update the firmware.

    The drive is recognized by Windows 10 on my G752VL with no problem. Yes, I initialized it with a GUID partition type not MBR. I was able to quick format and the drive appears normally to the system.

    Still though after rebooting and power cycling Magician doesn't see it at all.

    I dropped into BIOS which also sees the drive (obviously) and it is not shown among the SATA devices as expected.

    I'm wondering if having my SATA interface set to RAID in BIOS is causing the trouble. Will the system still boot from the spinning drive if I change the mode to AHCI?

    One strange thing happened upon first install. I installed the drive, closed up the machine and restarted it. It started coming up, displayed the ROG logo for a moment and then did a hard shutdown. After that everything was normal. Odd.

    I should note, this is a retail - sealed - 960 EVO 500GB from Best Buy.



    PS - My apologies if this topic is covered. Every time I tried to use the forum search bar, it disappeared! Anybody else seen that?
    Last edited by ST9752; 09-14-2017 at 01:48 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Julskey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    388

    You must be in AHCI mode to use Samsung magician to see the drive properly. As Justinthyme already said, no benefits from using Samsung magician aside from upgrading firmware on the drive. If you are now in SATA mode and want to change to AHCI mode, simply go to system config and click boot to safemode on boot tab. Restart laptop. Immediately before windows restarts, go to bios and change raid to AHCI. save and exit. Laptop boots to safe mode. go to system config and untick boot to safe mode. apply changes and restart normally. Never tried 960 but this worked with 950 pro.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    19
    Posts
    71

    Yeah, that's really all I wanted to use Magician for was to check/update the drive firmware.

    Thanks. Will give it a shot.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Clintlgm PC Specs
    Clintlgm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY DH72
    MotherboardAsus Z97 Pro WiFi and /Z97 Pro A
    ProcessorI7 4790K
    Storage #1512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    Storage #21 TB Samsun 850 Pro
    CaseCool Master Haf
    OS Win 8.1 Pro and Win 10 Pro
    Clintlgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    105
    Posts
    4,121

    Be sure you create an Drive Image of your OS Drive before you do anything. Insure what ever program you use to make this Image, I like Macrium Reflect Free others should work. What ever be sure to boot up with the recovery media and can see your backed up Image. Then you can play around with your BIOS and OS Drive Insure you note what the original setting are in your BIOS before changing things just in case you need to go back to stock settings.
    G752VY-DH72 Win 10 Pro
    512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    1 TB Samsung 850 pro 2.5 format
    980m GTX 4 GB
    32GB DDR 4 Standard RAM

    Z97 PRO WiFi I7 4790K
    Windows 10 Pro
    Z97 -A
    Windows 10 Pro

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    19
    Posts
    71

    Good advice indeed and what I already have done. When it comes to things like boot changes, migration, etc. I don't do anything without a full system image and it's usually Macrium. I have used Acronis in the past as well.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Darnassus PC Specs
    Darnassus PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VS -=-=- G750JX
    MotherboardASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. G752VS (U3E1) -=-=- ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. G750JX (SOCKET 0)
    Processori7 6700HQ @ 2.60GHz -=-=- i7-4700HQ CPU @ 2.40GHz - 3.40GHz
    Memory (part number)2x16gb (M471A2K43BB1-CRC) -=-=- 2x8gb (HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB)
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1070 (8GB) -=-=- GTX 770M (3GB)
    Sound CardRealtek High Definition Audio / NVIDIA High Definition Audio
    MonitorGSync IPS 75HZ -=-=- Chi Mei 60Hz (Overclocked to 85Hz)
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 960 EVO 250GB x2 -=-=- LITEONIT LCS-256M6S
    Storage #2HGST HTS721010A9E630 -=-=- ST1000LM024 HN-M101MBB
    CPU CoolerStock -=-=- Stock
    CaseStock -=-=- Stock
    Power SupplyStock -=-=- Stock
    Keyboard Stock -=-=- Stock
    Mouse Razer Naga Epic 1st Generation
    Headset SPH 2500
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus
    OS Winblows 10 Pro -=-=- Winblows 8.1 Pro
    Network RouterCG3000v2
    Darnassus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    61
    Posts
    1,644

    .. try not to mess around with NVMe on this generation. Since they don't natively support them, it's a nightmare when things go wrong.

    I had reinstalled Win10 once and after it seemed like the Controller died.. NVMe wouldn't show up ever during boot, and when you inserted it and checked via Disk Manager, it'd say it has 16,384gb, yes gigabytes.. (how wondrous would that be?) with 1gb available.

    Weird stuff.

    Just my experience as a warning.. :c
    Gosh Blue Lady.. ❤

    JOIN THE ASUS T-SHOOT DISCORD <-- Clicky!

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    19
    Posts
    71

    Running AHCI no problem

    The machine isn't much use to me without using the NVMe drive as the boot drive so I'll figure it out. I know others around here have, but it's not necessarily fun. :-)

    What do you mean "not natively supported"?

    I had no trouble switching from RAID to AHCI in BIOS and now at least Magician can see the drive and check the firmware version.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    19
    Posts
    71

    I finished the whole process just using Samsung Data Migration. It was cake! Here is my description for those considering the EVO 960 drive.

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...0-SSD-Too-easy!

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Darnassus PC Specs
    Darnassus PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VS -=-=- G750JX
    MotherboardASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. G752VS (U3E1) -=-=- ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. G750JX (SOCKET 0)
    Processori7 6700HQ @ 2.60GHz -=-=- i7-4700HQ CPU @ 2.40GHz - 3.40GHz
    Memory (part number)2x16gb (M471A2K43BB1-CRC) -=-=- 2x8gb (HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB)
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1070 (8GB) -=-=- GTX 770M (3GB)
    Sound CardRealtek High Definition Audio / NVIDIA High Definition Audio
    MonitorGSync IPS 75HZ -=-=- Chi Mei 60Hz (Overclocked to 85Hz)
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 960 EVO 250GB x2 -=-=- LITEONIT LCS-256M6S
    Storage #2HGST HTS721010A9E630 -=-=- ST1000LM024 HN-M101MBB
    CPU CoolerStock -=-=- Stock
    CaseStock -=-=- Stock
    Power SupplyStock -=-=- Stock
    Keyboard Stock -=-=- Stock
    Mouse Razer Naga Epic 1st Generation
    Headset SPH 2500
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus
    OS Winblows 10 Pro -=-=- Winblows 8.1 Pro
    Network RouterCG3000v2
    Darnassus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    61
    Posts
    1,644

    Quote Originally Posted by ST9752 View Post
    I finished the whole process just using Samsung Data Migration. It was cake! Here is my description for those considering the EVO 960 drive.

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...0-SSD-Too-easy!
    Meaning, it doesn't show up as an ordinary drive without manually loading an INTEL IRST Driver through Windows install.
    Gosh Blue Lady.. ❤

    JOIN THE ASUS T-SHOOT DISCORD <-- Clicky!

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    19
    Posts
    71

    What am I missing here? I didn't have to use the IRST drivers. I simply switched to AHCI mode in BIOS and used Data Migration. I loaded no drivers at all and everything works smoothly. Certainly seems natively supported.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •