Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 24 of 24
  1. #21
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    140

    Have you tested what happens at 3200 or 3333 with 4 first Timings and voltage from the original XMP profile? 18-19-19-39 1.35V?

    I think the first timing is most difficult to tighten down.
    Maybe try flip timings around?

    18-18-18-38
    18-18-17-37
    18-17-17-37
    17-17-17-37
    17-17-16-36
    17-16-16-36

    Most likely there is someone with way better suggestions than me on this for timings to try^^

    Try set eventual and boot DRAM voltage to same, 1.35 or 1.385.
    Might need a little more SOC voltage for 3333, I would still try fine tune SOC voltage on both in small steps.

    Noticed setting to 1.38 DRAM voltage have rare voltage drop on CD memory channel for me.
    bumped it to 1.385 DRAM and it seems to stick to 1.351 so far.

    Be sure to have DRAM Current Capability set to 130% and DRAM Phase Control to Extreme.
    Might want to look at CPU and SOC Current Capability too, might help increase stability.
    Current Capability only increase overhead before it fails, it does not change anything except that.
    Of course it leaves less room for mistakes like setting wrong voltage to high.

    If anything overclocked or memory related fails/ be sure to Clear CMOS and "load optimized default",
    this will help to get a fresh start even thou you have to redo your settings.
    Last edited by Mikan02; 09-27-2017 at 08:26 PM.

  2. #22
    New ROGer Array St4v0 PC Specs
    St4v0 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus X399 ROG Zenith Extreme
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X @ 4Ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z 32GB (4x8GB) DDR4 PC4-3200C18 4000MHz
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA TITAN X Pascal
    Sound CardAsus Xonar Essence STX II
    MonitorDell UP3216Q 4K
    Storage #1960 PRO 1TB M.2 2280 PCI-E 3.0 X4 NVME
    Storage #2960 PRO 1TB M.2 2280 PCI-E 3.0 X4 NVME
    CPU CoolerEK Watercooled x2/480 Rads
    CaseObsidian 900D Super Tower Case
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i Digital ATX 80 Plus Titanium
    Keyboard Corsair Gaming K70
    Mouse Zowie EC1-A
    Headset Sennheiser PC 360
    Mouse Pad Steelseries
    Headset/Speakers Q Acoustics MEDIA 4
    OS Windows 10 pro

    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    43

    I'm more interested in curing the coldboot bug completely and I don't see how adjusting any voltages are the key to this when it boots up just fine from off at the mains.

  3. #23
    New ROGer Array St4v0 PC Specs
    St4v0 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus X399 ROG Zenith Extreme
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X @ 4Ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z 32GB (4x8GB) DDR4 PC4-3200C18 4000MHz
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA TITAN X Pascal
    Sound CardAsus Xonar Essence STX II
    MonitorDell UP3216Q 4K
    Storage #1960 PRO 1TB M.2 2280 PCI-E 3.0 X4 NVME
    Storage #2960 PRO 1TB M.2 2280 PCI-E 3.0 X4 NVME
    CPU CoolerEK Watercooled x2/480 Rads
    CaseObsidian 900D Super Tower Case
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i Digital ATX 80 Plus Titanium
    Keyboard Corsair Gaming K70
    Mouse Zowie EC1-A
    Headset Sennheiser PC 360
    Mouse Pad Steelseries
    Headset/Speakers Q Acoustics MEDIA 4
    OS Windows 10 pro

    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    43

    Wink

    It seems you were more right than I realized Mikan02 ,Thank you.
    Through some indirect overclocking and testing with how far I could take it past 3200Mhz,when it eventually failed at roughly 3700Mhz I had the Vram preboot and main ram voltage both at 1.4v.
    with using this higher voltage it tried repeatedly to train and reboot (4-5 times if i remember correctly) until it eventually gave up and and came back with a bios failed boot message.
    This got me thinking about the previous cold boot problems and leaving the voltage at 1.4v on both preboot and main vram I knocked it back down to 3200Mhz and tested.
    with shutting the system down it simply booted straight up with a single press on the power button (normally required two presses with lower voltage and even then it would fail after 3 seconds with the lower voltage 1.35v on ram main voltage)
    So far voltage definitely does seem to be key when it comes to the cold boot problem.
    Hopefully this might help others that are having the cold boot issues with large ram sets and set them on the right track.

  4. #24
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    [B]
    boys boys*

    ON RYZEN ONLY USE DUAL CHANNEL NOT 2*SINGLE

    ON THREADRIPPR ONLY USE QUAD CHANNEL NOT 2*DUAL


    inside ram,(hardware ,IC and pcb )single,dual,quad not same ,completly diffrante ,, many people think = dual =2*single channel ram or quad =4* dual ram



    you must use only ram, write on box QUAD for threadripper (dual for ryzen)

    if you put wrong ram your system cant start , even if start , hiccops rip in windows, harm your cpu

    in amd thteadripper ,change your ram to this
    gskill ri4*8 3200=250$
    or
    gskil ripjaws4 4*4 2400=150$

    http://www.amazon.com/G-Skill-Ripjaw.../dp/B00N1OZDPO

    for ryzen use only ram write on box DUAL CHANNEL
    gskill RGB trident z 3200 2*8 =180$
    geil evo x 3200 2*8 =120$


    not , only use 2400 or 3200 (best frequency stable) not 3000mhz[
    /B]

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •